Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Seam of the Vultures

by ohsqueezy - Compo Entry

Like in Qix, capture the screen without touching enemies.

* Windows: unzip and run the OPEN-GAME exe
* Source: if you have Pygame, run OPEN-GAME

----------------------------

Use spacebar to mark territory. Hold spacebar to expand the territory beam. If you die without lasting 99 seconds, your score drops to zero, so avoid the triangles! If you last the whole round, the amount you captured gets recorded on the high scores list.

----------------------------

This started out as a story about helping a skeleton find its organs, and it wasn't going to be on one screen. I started thinking about Qix, Jezzball and games where you reveal pictures, and I realized using one screen is already the conventional style for this kind of game.

BUGS/THINGS I WANT TO CHANGE:

- checkered background is ugly
- ships should be invincible after getting hit
- extra hearts should be available
- ships sometimes get ambushed at start
- pressing buttons repeatedly after ending causes bugs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Innovation4.12
#152Theme4.00
#208Mood3.36
#237Fun3.46
#254Overall3.52
#405Audio2.96
#545Graphics3.11
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Interesting game with great concept:)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31pm

That was really good. Took quite a few plays to get anything on the board (52.8). It's much harder than it first seems to stay alive for 99 seconds.

rallebauz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Cool game with nice visual effects.

Downtown says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:51pm

This is awesome, and I thought the visuals were great, the abstraction works very well with the abstract gameplay. It's hard and I didnt read the instructions properly to start with which didn't help but well done.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

Cool design. Well balanced and challenging for such a simple concept. I had trouble just staying alive for 99 seconds, much less worrying about claiming territory. I wound up with 63% when I finally managed it. Pretty satisfying.

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Great game! Challenging and very well built!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Good job!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26pm

This was a cool concept, and I liked the graphics and sound as well. I had fun, nice work!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54am

Very neat, only real complaint was that i wasn't able to read the instructions all that well in the beginning, what ever Nice Game :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice concept! Very cool, good job!

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

Thanks for the descriptive review of our game xD, not sure why we used capitals in the music file names... normally I'm pretty against it. I'll try your game when I have a chance.

marvalgames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very nice. Clean simple look. Have to read the instructions first. It's not that simple :) Having never played this type of game before I became intrigued by the concept and about to go another round or 2 !

Hempuli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28am

A very interesting concept! The lines looked nice and the gameplay felt refreshingly different. I wasn't sure what the percent above my health meant, and once an enemy spawned on top of me, but otherwise things worked really well!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Really cool idea. It was sometimes impossible to avoid the enemies but still really fun.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Neat entry, nice job!

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Good concept!

Renaldo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:12pm

A great game with cool visuals!
At first, I was confused about what counts as a hit and where were my life points, but, after some trial and error, I got it.
Also, the gameplay would fit two players perfectly well. Good job!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I don't know why, but I really like this art style / color palette. The gameplay is neat (although I was totally lost until I read the instructions. Whoops!) I found it a bit frustrating, though, when I was about to capture a large area and the waves that I'm constrained to move closer together. That part felt too random.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]