Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Octogonal Switcher

by Jogy34 - Compo Entry

Octogonal Switcher:
Controls:
- A/D Move Left/Right
- W Jump
- Mouse Click - Launch Projectile towards mouse

Your entire goal is to turn on the lights inside the octagon by touching them. Gravity goes towards the wall of the octagon of the section of the octagon that you are in. Enemies (and powerups) rain down from a vortex in the center. You can fire a projectile that will kill and bounce off of the enemies as well as turn the lights on if it hits them.

This game defaults to full screen but after the first time you launch it a properties file is generated that you can turn full screen off it you want to. If you are in full screen pres escape to be able to exit out of the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#357Innovation3.40
#618Theme3.56
#668Audio2.51
#687Humor2.32
#837Mood2.60
#921Overall2.83
#996Graphics2.39
#1034Fun2.45

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:08am

I can't launch the game on a Mac OSX, although jar files should run normally on them.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:20am

Wow this is pretty cool. It took me a bit to understand what was even going on. The gameplay is very trippy watching the player walk along the walls as local gravity shifts. I found myself tilting my head as I played to try to better understand my reference frame.

Orange says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40pm

One major problem with the game is I felt like the room should have rotated when the player walked to another part of the Octagon.

At first I had no idea what was going on. I had to read the description to understand, and even then it was a little hard to see my character at first.

It's an interesting game. I would work on making sure the player KNOWS where his character is at the start of the game. A simple "you are here" or something along that lines, would make the first 15 seconds a whole lot easier.

Good effort! I like the idea so don't give up on it!

martindilling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:41pm

A little to small graphics, but I really like the idea :P

Beerman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Oh God, why am I upside down! This is messing with my brain, man.
Very cool idea.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Really nice overall mechanic, but too quirky for me to get a good understanding of how the game should be played. Good concept and innovative game screen!

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06am

Lonely mac user :(

OttersDen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

It is a very unique game. I might be very bad at but, but I could only finish lighting up the little thingies in the bottom 3 sections. No way I could ever get to the top section. :P

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10am

I have played a lot of time this thing. Is a really good twist on the basic platformer.
This needs instructions, though. A little bit more of information. I lost about half an hour trying to understand the basic mechanics of it.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12am

Visuals and sound are strange and almost offensive and I think it's hilarious. Gameplay is a bit lacking.

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15am

I loved the musicI loved the music

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19am

The core mechanic is interesting and walking on the ceiling becomes trippy, but the game is more frustrating than fun. It is almost impossible to see the player character, especially when the game starts. Enemies are plentiful and impossible to ignore, plus the game lacks feedback that the player is being hurt. I never knew when the projectile was ready to fire and there was too much movement on the screen to track the bullet in flight. The size of the player and platforms makes the awkward jumping even more frustrating.

I think starting with a smaller level, and larger sprites, and work your way up to the tiny characters would give the player a greater sense of accomplishment as they get used to the game.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30am

The idea is really cool. The controls are a little floaty but nice game.

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:42am

Cool idea, but makes my head hurt badly!

Fnkee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

No doubt the hardest game I've tried so far. It's really challenging, getting through the whole loop, yet in a fun way. I'm having major troubles controlling the player when I get to the other sides of the octagon, but I guess that's part of the fun. Good job on this!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Would've been awesome if I knew where my player is from the start... Not after a minute of looking at the center of the spiral :(

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:56am

Pretty good. Do be careful with your color choices, though; some text and visuals are hard to read.

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:08am

Pretty unique gameplay, nice! The color changes are a bit distracting though. I do like the gravity changes in different sections, gives you a bit of a hard time climbing towards the lights, since you need to keep your rotation in mind. :)

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Good Work ^^

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Took some time to understand what's going on but when i finally understood it was a fun and unique game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The idea was pretty neat, having to wrap my head around platforming sideways is an interesting experience. The game isn't exactly a looker though, to put it politely, and honestly it kind of detracts from the experience a bit, its all a bit messy visually. It's a good effort though!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Cool idea.

Odefus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:51pm

My brain couldn't quite handle the controls when upside down. It is an interesting mechanic though. Not sure if I have any ideas on how to improve it. The sprites are far too tiny. Took me a while to even find my character.

ripatti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:03am

Firstly tried to touch all switches but only later understood that I just can fire them. It's very hard to jump over so small platforms with nonstandard gravity vector! Finished one level on not so hard settings but then felt myself dizzy...

rjhunter says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:30am

Wow, my brain melted from that.

I had to turn the difficulty way down to even have a chance. So much going on at once! I'm just glad I don't suffer from epileptic seizures.

I like the idea that another commenter mentioned -- building up from smaller and simpler levels with bigger sprites to make sure the player has the hang of it, working their way up to the tiny-pixelled madness that we see today.

(Platform note: On Mac OS X, the game loaded and ran but the keys didn't work in fullscreen, only the mouse. I had to use Command-Option-Shift-Escape to force quit. The keys worked fine outside of fullscreen.)

jovoc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:57am

I had a lot of trouble telling what was going on. It nearly gave me a seizure.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I liked the physics!

elvaq says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Definitely wish I had checked the instructions before trying but hey that's on me :)
Cool, original idea. Seems like you had an ambitious design at the start of the jam, and there's a lot of stuff going on there! The difficulty menu is a great example of the different stuff going on.
However I did find the moment to moment gameplay a little frustrating. Jumping just isn't satisfying and at times the sheer amount of stuff going on could be overwhelming.

Again, cool concept and there were a lot of interesting systems but maybe more time could have been spent on the fine details of the player experience.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]