Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nihility

by ChronusZ - Compo Entry

[IMPORTANT - Some people seem to have a bug that prevents them from moving. The tighter controls version MAY fix this. - IMPORTANT]

Nihility is a narrative platformer about an entity trapped inside of a computer screen, searching for its identity. The story is told through a succession of haiku.

Controls -
Move: A & D
Jump: W/Up/Space
Crouch: S/Down/Shift
Interact: E/Z

I added a "tighter controls" version after the deadline ended. If you're struggling to get through the story because of the controls, try that version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#231Mood3.32
#338Audio3.07
#555Graphics3.10
#626Theme3.55
#698Innovation2.94
#919Humor1.65
#943Overall2.81
#1151Fun2.13

Comments

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09am

I really wanted to play more of this, but I was actively fighting with the controls, which I wasn't sure was meant to be happening..

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

@Chris Delta

In what way do you mean?

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57am

I can't move...

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00am

The controls seem very broken, walking is tediously slow, and after the first interaction the only way to move horizontally was to jump (which also became stuck on). It's a shame, it looks like there's some depth.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05am

The slowness is intentional. The game is built around text that I want people to mull over for a bit rather than just jumping ahead and ignoring the plot.

It's weird that you say you can't move after the first interaction, though. It works fine on my end.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

I appreciate the slow story-telling, but also have reservations about the controls like those before me pointed out. I found jumping to be pretty difficult and not natural. Unfortunately, that pulls you out of the deep, meaningful experience I presume you want to achieve.

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

I can't walk at all - the only way I can move is by holding down a direction and Space, and even then the jumps only sometimes move me sideways. I got to the first "I", read the haiku, and eventually got over to the second "I", but hitting E there does nothing and it's not prompting me to do anything else. I'm pretty much stuck. :(

geartech0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

I love everything about this game. This is a unique way to accomplish the entire game on one screen. Amazing. I am in awe. I love the story, abosolutley amazing. The music was amazing. The only complaint i have is that after the wheel thing killed the character, i came to a black screen, but trust me, im showing this to my friends. You hit this right on. I understand that their are problems below with moving and stuff. aside from those, i think the game was perfect. tenouttaten

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

love the mood and graphics, couldn't quite get some things to work but, I really like this game! well done :)

DXsmiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03am

I really wanted to enjoy this, but I found the controls too painful, and there were many bugs. The themes explored were interesting, although the setting (i.e. the windows desktop) was questionable. However, the writing was very good.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44am

Can't run this on my linux desktop as I'm getting NullPointerException.. Interesting lines from stack trace (seems like you're setting window title incorrectly):
java.lang.NullPointerException
...
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setTitle(Display.java:541)
...
at game.src.main.Main.<init>(Main.java:48)
at game.src.main.Main.main(Main.java:171)

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

+1 for the jumping requirement. May have to do w/ ground friction, maybe?

Zolkren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13pm

The game's controls are broken, the game looks reaaly cool to play.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I like the concept but I did find the controls a bit odd - particularly how you move faster horizontal while jumping. Maybe that was intentional but it felt weird and unresponsive (even in the tighter-controls version, which I tried after playing through the compo version). Also, without spoiling the ending, I'm curious if that was intentional - if so I think you still need to provide some cue that the game is well and truly over and give some method of restarting. Graphics and sound are nice. Mood is suitable and the quotes are an interesting way to mask gameplay hints. I wasn't sure if those were quotes from other people or just things you came up with, but either way they were a nice touch.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26am

I downloaded the windows exe, but when I try to run it nothing happens. Is it getting an error and closing itself? Not sure what is going o :(

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51am

Nice concept. Like the graphics. And nice audio. Unfortunately, I found the platforming to be pretty frustrating due to the controls. The response is pretty tight but the character skates around a lot which means that even if you hit that platform perfectly, chances are high you will simply slide right back off it and tumble down into the enemy.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Good Work ^^

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:43am

Awesome use of the theme! Art is decent, fits the mood well. Sound doesn't really match the mood of the art and music but it works well enough. Very interesting. Good work!

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:46am

I can't play, for some reason. It opens then closes without showing anything.

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:05pm

You should fix this movement problems

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:05pm

This is great concept! And super windows style!

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Interesting computer desktop abstract game. Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]