Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lobachevskii

by myachin - Compo Entry

Shooter in Lobachevskii geometry.
(Flashdevelop, Haxe+OpenFL, Photoshop)

ARROWS + [X]
FX: [P] [L]

Hello!

My first idea was a huge world on one screen without scrolling. I wanted to make adventure/rpg in big world but on one screen with lens effect. Fortunately I'm mathematician) So i looked for some beautiful map from space to screen.

Originally spaceship was just test for geometry-engine. But 50% of LD-time I spent for geometry calculations. It was really hard and i'm lucky. So I decided: no adventure/rpg) Then I generated big space image for lens and wrote lens-algorythm. Then I made tutorial for this space and basic gameplay. I haven't time for music, sounds, level-design, deep gameplay etc. But this is really model of Lobachevskii 2d-space. And I proudly presents Lobachevskii-game for you) And I hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#24Innovation4.28
#29Theme4.40
#132Overall3.70
#152Mood3.47
#230Graphics3.65
#363Fun3.30

Comments

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

I don't know if it's due to my setup (specifically f.lux), but the dark blue is hard to see on the black background.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

very cool use of physics, but the game lacks a Pause button.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Cool concept. Thanks for having an in-game tutorial, more games need that.

Recon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Didn't you make it before the compo?

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Brilliant! I like the artwork too, kept me coming back for more. Your game gave a fresh look on the age old genre! Say.. you must be pretty good at math ;)

Kroq9Gar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Really fun game, tad disappointed there's no music (although I realise how hard that was due to my own attempts for my entry - cool graphics, interesting idea, really well executed! Well done!

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I wish there was a score so I could see how (not) well I was doing. My heuristic: hold up + right + fire. Maybe have a penalty for doing this?

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:08pm

The orange ones are really mean!

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Wow nice, I like those physics based games.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Hi there. As previous guy said, turn down the room lights... Looks great, nice 'space background'. Geometry very interesting deformation. Shame no sound, but I get that you're not rating for that... Like how you integrated the control explanations and tutorial levels. Bookmarked for a relook and source read later. Good job!

myachin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25pm

) Recon, see timelapse.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Cool! I really love the non-euclidean geometry. Nice to see that someone made a game with it.

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice physics touch it's was fun :)

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice use of math :)

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Really cool take on the theme, I feel like the gameplay could be a little smoother, but the concept is great!

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25am

I believe there's a Tom Lehrer song called Lobachevskii... A neat looking game, but kind of a slow tutorial.

kts_kettek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

Nice, always glad to see unique tech!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

cool concept, but not very interesting to play as it is

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03am

Loved the concept!

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23am

Really liked this game. I really liked how you gradually introduced new concepts.

tobyp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33am

Wow, just wow. I love the Lobachevskii space, and a space shooter was pretty much the optimal thing you could have put in it. Both the Path and Lens were super helpful, and the timing at which you introduced things, and the gradual progression from simple to complicated tasks was perfect. I'll leave off a star on fun because it's more interesting than fun, and two for mood because "awed" is not really a mood (though the tone of the narration was nice, felt like a kind mentor)

codebakemono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07pm

amazing, this is definetly one of the top games I’ve tried out today!
very smooth esthetics and a great idea for the theme.
cool, simple and effective, I especialy like the color choices :)
ps. if you are interested to see our prototype that revolves around begging money on street by constructing robot to impress people here is the link, cheers!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=20999

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Very unique and pretty cool look. Wish there was a high score I got in a pretty good move/shoot rhythm there.

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Pretty cool. Sound and music would have helped a lot though. The fast enemies were a bit TOO fast for me. :)
Don't know what else to say. I'm a bit of a math-guy myself so I find this interesting. Thumbs up!

Tosic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Lobachevskii said that two parallel lines will cross, right, basically true in his 2d universe that tries to be 3d, i guess (I dont know - we dont study him at school), anyway this game is innovative to the max, keep it up :D

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice effects ;).

myachin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:05am

Tosic, "Lobachevskii said that two parallel lines will cross" - no, no and no!!!))

See:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperbolic_geometry

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The concept is interesting but the execution is missing something. I like the scale change. Not sure what to use the lens for?

If I go outside on the edge of the universe it throws me back a little inside pointing at the center. For some reason I was expecting that it will come out on the other side. May be because I have a notion that most things in universe are either spherical or ellipse.

Also, weird choice if key selection. My one hand is on arrow keys and other hand on 'X' key. Now I need a third hand to press P or L :p.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:20am

Phenomenal! The physics is perfect; manuevering in the fisheye feels easy but looks awesome. Great idea and very weel executed. Bravo.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:48pm

privet

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Seryoga, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]