Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Zombies 'N Spies

by Wezley - Compo Entry

Zombies 'N Spies is a stealth and survival game in one.

You are deployed into a biotech lab without a weapon and must sneak past the guards and disable the generators to open the security rooms and get ammo.

As you're doing this the outside world is becoming infected with a virus that was created in the lab, your efforts to stop outbreak were too late. The zombies are on their way, so once you get your ammo you must take out the guards, and rebuild the fortifications on the outside doors to keep the zombies out until evacuation comes.

Can you survive?

Controls:
WASD - Move
Mouse - Aim
HOLD Left Mouse Button - Shoot

Tools Used:
Unity3D
Paint.NET

Note: This game originally had music, but I decided to enact a "Bring Your Own Music" policy, because I figured many of you would love to listen to your own music without it being interrupted by my music/sounds. The next versions of the game will have sound and music with buttons to disable them, but for this competition BYOM

Thanks for the support guys! I love the comments and a moddb for this game will be up within the coming week with iOS, Android, and Windows Phone ports following.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#420Humor2.70
#802Theme3.40
#811Fun2.82
#817Overall2.94
#823Mood2.62
#854Graphics2.63
#886Innovation2.63

Comments

March says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I regret I am not Rambo or Chuck Norris :D

Nice game, maybe too much text at the begining.
I had a lot of fun playing it.

Wezley says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Thank you March! I know that text at the beginning may be a bit lengthy, but eh, you can always click through it fast, and it needs to explain the mechanics of the game well enough so the player doesn't get lost! Thank you for your feedback! Future versions will not have that long of a tutorial! :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:28am

At first I didn't get the controls thought the mouse was for shooting only not also for walking direction. However the game is very fun to play as soon as you understand the rules. But I am also not Rambo :D

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

I like the concept!

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

Is it me or are the movement controls weird? I like the flashlight cones though and the lighting in general!

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:37am

Yeah the controls do need some improvements. I blame those on the stress and sleep depravity. Thank you guys for your criticism! I will definitely be using it all to make the game much better!

misto423 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

Pretty good concept. Definitely needs polish though. It was annoying to see the 'Press E to disable generator' even after it was disabled. Made me think for a bit that it wasn't working till the smoke started coming out. The AI was kinda glitchy, saw them running into and getting stuck on walls. Also never saw them shooting, seemed as soon as I was spotted I was dead.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Bit rough around the edges, but that's to be expected. Pretty solid entry, played for a while. The AI is infuriating aha!

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02am

I didn't like the movement. I would have much preferred a system where the controls were aligned upwards. Other than that, nice mechanics!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

This is a really ambitious entry. Its hard to play but amusing none the less. Good show.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

Thank you guys!
internetspaulicy, go big or go home right? :)
Thanks for the comments I really love the criticism, and knowing where I need to improve!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Interesting game :D love it

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

solid game except for the movement controls. it would be much better if they weren't based on mouse position. Also it would be nice if the dialog at the start only played once.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

well done, good concept, would see the movie.

Couldn't give you 5 on theme, as Zombies were not 'in' the screen until later.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

Initially confusing controls, but fun to play.

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41am

Control is weird.
Concept is great

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

I actually liked the controls... xD

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:57pm

I too regret not being Rambo or Chuck Norris. :)

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Fun idea! Liked the flashlights of the zombies. Controls were difficult. Would have preferred WSAD to move character independent of mouse location. Shooting could stay with the mouse pointer though.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Hi there. I died, a lot. Amazing amount of content in there for 48h, good job! Shame no sounds (though to be fair I didn't get to guns, so maybe sounds happen...)

tedling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

One thing: I would've liked controls, where moving and aiming are not linked. Nonetheless, I enjoyed it :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very nice concept, but it needs a lot more polish. The AI randomly turns around or stands dead still looking at a wall. With a bit more work this can be awesome!

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice Game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04pm

This is one nice game, I liked the controls, although moving took a while for me to get used to, pretty hard too ^^ i like it

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Mouse aim AND tank controls D:
Pretty much the only complaint though. Well done.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

This was cool, though I didn't know how to shoot? Mouse button didn't work for me. Nice game though, good fun for sure.

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Interesting concept. Too bad it has no sound, that would have improved it a lot! Also I would have preferred screen related movement controls instead of tank controls.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:14pm

A very unique game! I had some issues with the controls, I could not find a comfortable sense of them, and I wish there was a bit more fluidity to the gameplay, but I enjoyed it.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Thank you guys! I'll be setting up a Moddb shortly with a new version there with everything everyone suggested! This game is my baby and I want every to love it :D I love the comments!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

No sound.
Graphics are really muddy and hard to differentiate at times. (like the floor being really dark and my player being really dark)
Awkward movement for a topdown game.
600000 tutorial messages.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Controls are a little wonky, but otherwise a neat game. Great work!

concalf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

i didn't get the controls either on my first run but after that it was fun :)

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

The game was fun and funny, but the controls were hard to deal with and I couldn't shoot for some reason, or open the door.

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Loved the text bubbles. Movement took a little getting used to. If you're planning more levels, you may want to make the escape sequence more exciting/shorter, as a lot of it was running around repairing or just waiting in a room.

WiErD0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Man, I can't believe I'm not Chuck Norris! Shoot! Great game though, my only critisism is that I find the whole firing a gun a bit wonky and slow, I thought I was suppose to click like a semi-auto one...

X54321 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

It was decent. I have to say, though, that the game needs a little more feedback. Like, have something flash when you repair a barrier, stuff like that, so the player knows if he/she's doing anything.

GSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Awesome game but I just hid in the security room and didn't shoot any zombies. Didn't need to. Other than that, good game!

Dyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Too much text every restart
but quite fun

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32pm

too much text when you die, could be optional.. but the game is good.. congrats

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I wishI were Chuck Norris

Anachron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Nice work! It's obvious you put a lot of work into the game mechanics and it shows. Funny all the people complaining about having to read like, maybe a paperback's page worth of writing. "When I was your age, video games were called books!" grrrrrr

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Thank you so much Anachron! :)
Thank you everyone else as well!

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

Lighting cones are great. Controls felt strange, I guess maybe because I was expecting to hit S and go down instead of backwards? To each his own, I guess. Game was pretty difficult. I didn't get that far. But I liked it. Neat concept, too.

Coming off of a week of Far Cry 4 binging, I also appreciated the guard banter.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14am

Nice game I like the game play, and it is really fun. Good job

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice game, controls are little confusing at start, but then when you adjust to them it is very fun

eerongal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

Neat little game. The controls were a bit confusing at first for a top-down style game. Also, for some reason, i couldnt see the text for "press E to ..." on the LD embedded page. Worked fine when i went to the web link, though.

Omer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Cool game! I haven't got my mouse right now and the trackpad on this laptop doesn't seem to work while I've got any keys pressed, so my experience was soured a bit, but I appreciate the effort you put into the game. I loved the content and game play alike.

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Why don't the guys protecting the base fix the doors?

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

Xenolupus, because they created the zombie virus so the zombies are made to not attack them! xD

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Liked this a lot. The beam effects from the flashlights are great.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04am

Just haddddd to keep playing!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57am

Controls are a little rough, but it's an interesting espionage game. nice work!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

Nice concept. Nothing innovative, but well done, but the controls are terrible. It should be moving with arrows in directions of the arrows and only looking around with mouse.
This system is not good. Strefing sides fliped for me once so it was even worse.
Aside from controls, nicely done.

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:44am

Haha, there's a game very similar to this one, with zombies in it too!

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:24am

Very good use of the spech bubbles in game

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25am

The control is a little weird. But Great work!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40am

Eh. Good concept, decent execution.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05am

Very fun game, Great job.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Cool game, but (too) much information at the beginning and the controls felt a bit weird.
Overall a good entry!

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Nice one.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Nice game! I got a bit confused about disabling the generators at first, since it kept prompting me to press e to disable it after I did it- But apart from that- A very well done game, I enjoyed playing it!

marvalgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice work.
Little bit wonky controls but the concept and visuals more than make up for it. Game which I look forward to a more complete version!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice game but no need for a lengthy description on how to play. I disliked the controls only because moving left and right is faster than moving forward. After killing all the guards/zombies I had nothing to do either.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Really silly but fun entry, I am very much not Chuck Norris and died. Many times.

Nice job. ;)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:58pm

nice, love the stealth genre

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice game and nice idea :D

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Clever game. The Evac time should be shorter as it becomes monotonous after a while

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I love the guard's thoughts :) Hilarious game

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very tough but nice game!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Decent game. The dialogue was amusing, but I found that you could win just by waiting.

besieger1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Very fun and enjoyable game, very interesting consept

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Nice concept! I've been broke down few generators :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:05pm

sorry forget to rate game)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Cool gameplay idea and implementation of the theme.
The controls need some practice.

Well done!

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:31am

Interesting concept - controls were a little confusing!

bitapps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37am

really zombie and spies? great criativity.

Wezley says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:43am

Because it's so easy to come up with a great game within minutes after the announcement of the theme ^^

Mixer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29am

Sweet game! I like stealth. Text should have only been shown once though. Really great game. Awesome lights.

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45am

This game is fun. I love stealth, objective and shooters and this does it all. Along with good lighting and effects. Good game!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:21am

Cool game, shooting wasn't working. Try to avoid using the word "boob" in this compo.

sirikan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:06am

Nice stealth game :)

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:19am

The movement feels weird, i think it would have been much more instinctive with classical wasd controls.
Nice entry though. Good job ! :)

Teesquared says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Took a bit to get used to the controls but then it worked. Difficulty was high for me but I kept retrying. Good combination of different game styles.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Cool game with nice graphics. The level was cool with the different objectives and all. However I did not like how I controlled the character. Was real confusing that W was always towards the mouse instead of always up.

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I agree it's a lot of text to read before starting the game. The mechanics are nice, but the game is a bit hard. I guess stealth games are hard to balance (I did something similar, check it out).

Some enemy pathfinding would have been nice (then the game would even be harder, so maybe then you would have to add something that the player can actually run away successfully).

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Fun game, really like the stealth mechanics.

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Cool game, a bit long tutorial. Good lightning!!

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Overall a fun game, but I agree with the others that the controls are weird. I would like the scheme, but I think that left and right should bi switched. Now when you press left, the player walks right and vice versa.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01pm

lots of content. like the guards talking XD. overall pretty good. the timer shouldnt start until u finish reading

spas says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Really good, I would have preferred that W,S,A and D moved the character relative to the screen. But overall I was impressed.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:17am

The controls were a little against the grain but the game was good.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:15pm

maybe too hard to control. But in general it looks fine

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:02pm

felt like i am a participant of the virtual The Walking Dead. great job!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice difficulty, need some sound and a better IA ;)
Great job however !

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Cool

Aniscool9 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:06am

itz a nice one.....keep up :)

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice game, although it is true that a less dumb AI would do better. I personally would enjoy a shorter evacuation wait time, less enemies and less bullets.

The thing I would love the most would be the ability to freely shot for the skill shot instead of having to click on the target. And enabling a key for shooting instead of clicking would help precision, but I am aware that is just me. It was an ambitious and fun game overall, congratulations! :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice one ... i got killed quickly first time but in a couple of tries, I became RAMBOOOOO JAJA :D
High rated on fun
Take a look at our game http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=45161

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:08pm

nice use alarm lights...
remembered me ... my first worst game...i made ... without knowing how to use lights...

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:12pm

The control is very bad.

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Those are some weird dialogues you have there :)

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I am also not Chuck Norris or Rambo. The only thing that drove me crazy was the control scheme. Pressing up to move down when I was facing that way felt odd. Other than that, nice work.

Sharky says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Nice game. Your text box tutorial needs to be a larger box to cut down on the number of boxes, and the controls need to become more fluid, they are too clunky and hard to use ATM

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:15am

Pretty fun game.

Warpgames says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:07am

The mechanics are a bit confusing. Also a bit buggy. But overall decent game.

Searge says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nice idea, but the controls were strange. Would've been easier to understand if aiming with the mouse would not affect the walk direction.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice game ^^
I feel a weird control... I lose a lot because of commands :/
But the idea is really good!
Impressive for a LD game.

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Fun little survival game, albeit with quirky controls. The controls and the mass of interaction points make the game a bit overhelming in the beginning.
streamline the tutorial and the controls a bit and the game would handle much more comfortable. The mood is alright, but would really shine with an eery background theme.
Not to be forgotten: Nice writing with the death messages!

Otopkin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:21pm

It was pretty fun, considering that I'm not a fan of stealth games (except the ones where I have a shotgun with unlimited ammo).

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:01am

Controls have some problems.... first time when I played, I glitched through a wall though :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I am Chuck Norris and when I started the game it said I had already won. hahaha!

mrhill says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:17pm

the controls are awkward, it seems to be made for 3d.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Took a while to get used to the controls. For me it might be better if you could keep going in the direction you're facing, beyond the pointer (if that makes sense). Fortunately the game itself was enough fun to spend the time to get used to it. Also the guard's mutterings were really funny. Good job!

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Well known mechanic. Too much text in the splash screen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]