Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman Sumo

by AtkinsSJ - Compo Entry

Snowman Sumo is... a sumo-wrestling game about snowmen. (I never said I was good at naming things...)

Roll around to grow your snowman, then smash into your opponent to knock them into the water. Play against a friend, from the comfort of your web browser. Supports game-controllers and keyboard.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#63Humor3.69
#148Fun3.61
#161Audio3.43
#210Theme3.91
#333Mood3.19
#423Overall3.32
#545Graphics3.11
#610Innovation3.06

Comments

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05am

I really liked the sound effects! This would be a lot more fun if I had someone else here to try it out with me.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Hi there. Really nice sounds, reminded me of the Insheeption south park episode... anyway... The game is like an early one from Mario Party, nice slipping mechanics. Good job.

belva1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

hahahah we can make a duo listen the music in my game hahah

Baknik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Mario Party! Thanks for the nostalgia trip.

belva1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

hahahah we can make a duo listen the music in my game hahah

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28pm

The sound effects are amazing. Have nobody here to play local coop with, but I can see that the game is quite fun just like that. XD

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Boosh. Boosh!

I like the idea that moving increases your mass. Simple resource management layered upon absurdity :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Nice and funny game. The sound effects are awesome ahahah

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34am

Haha I played this with my wife and she now hates me because I became so good at it :) Love the graphics, simple gameplay... Loved the music at first but kinda got bored after a while :)

reverso13 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Great game! the idea es very similar to my game, give it a try :P http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=12353

Tortoise says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice game and the sfx were funny. Reminded me of a mini-game from marioparty but the slide-y-ness made it hard to control.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Sound effects!

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04pm

An AI option would be nice. Sound effects were good.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Best sound effects ever :D

Teesquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Had a blast with my dad it was fun to see how big we could make the snowmans before we fell off.

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Ahahaha! Snowmans sumo ))
Great concept!

Gread72 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I like the sound sfx and music ... fun

Insality says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:31pm

ahaha, awesome sounds and music :]
and this snowman effects, great

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great game idea. Yeah, like someone said, it's a bit like bumper balls in Mario Party except you switched it up with the rolling mechanic, which makes it a lot more interesting, scaling the size.

I also spent far too long trying to make them perfectly smash each other so they'd blow up simultaneously. At one point realised I'd spend the past 5 minutes rolling back and forth, increasing its size and then removing the exact same size again, bit of an optical illusion, felt like it was continually getting smaller but I pretty much reached the minimum size rofl.

But yeah, great effort, nice one. Go England and all that too.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great idea, it would have been even better to have a best-of-N, but that was hard within the time limit. Great work on the rolling animation!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:33pm

What a music! Sploosh! What an awesome, fun and innovative game.
Very fun to play with friends. You can create snowballs that are bigger than the screen and would be impossible according to physics. That idea that you can create huge snowmans is awesome. Sounds are creative(I laughed sooo hard when I heard "Sploosh!"). The music isn't actually bad, so that's good!
Maybe a little more polishing, I've found some bugs.
I wish I could say more, but I don't know what to say!
Definetly an awesome game, great work!

recursor says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Played this with my daughter and we had a lot of fun with it. I like how the snowmen get larger the more you roll around. It adds a bit of strategy to the game.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:41am

It is very hard to turn around a combat, because if the other one is bigger of has the upper hand you're already screwed.

The sound effects were lovely, the music really stuck in our heads.

We tried for the sake of it to see how big we could get the snowmen to be, the experience did not let us down.

Good job!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Thank you everyone for your kind words and ratings. This is the best-scoring LD game I've ever made. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]