Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Toy House Attack

by floorman - Jam Entry

About the game:
===============

Toy House Attack is a game where you must save Santa's workshop from the evil Snowmen! They have dug through holes in the floor to stop the toys being made! You must stop them at all costs!


How to win:
-----------

You win the game by filling all the holes with the crate! The crate will spawn different after each hole you fill, so look out for it!

If you let the Snowmen get too close, they will decapitate you...


Controls:
---------

WASD to move.
Left click to shoot your gun.
Escape to pause the game.
Push the crate to move it.
Press E to activate a turret.


Our team:
---------

Programming:
- Zack Dutton
- Dan Moody

Art:
- Christopher Darby
- Luke Wilkins

Animation:
- Ted Turnbull

Sound:
- Jacob Cooper
- Rob Glen


Hopefully you'll have fun playing. =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#270Graphics(Jam)3.74
#403Humor(Jam)2.76
#537Theme(Jam)3.52
#549Overall(Jam)3.16
#570Audio(Jam)2.49
#577Fun(Jam)2.95
#828Mood(Jam)2.55

Comments

race122 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28am

Great game! really fun!

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Graphics and animations were very good and the concept is interesting. There doesn't seem to be enough boxes however and the gun is a bit too powerful (unlimited ammo, infinite range). Very good start, with some gameplay changes it could be even better.

spazzarama says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47am

Scary looking snowmen! Nice concept. Nice animations on the snowmen.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04am

You wanted snowman, aren't you ;) Really fun game.

pbgben says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07am

Frozen ghostmen :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08am

The best looking game I've seen today (as far) great job. You can cheat easily.

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Nice work on the models. But the scene is a bit crowded and it's hard to work out where stuff is. Pushing crates around is a bit clunky.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

The game is really cool, love the graphics!!!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24am

Great game really fun, I got a pretty high score

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

Fun and inventive. Just a little graphics glitch with the graphics flickering. Did not let that affect my rating though :)

Kwask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:10am

It was fun to run around and shoot the snowmen, but I wasn't able to push the crates around, at least on the web player. If I tried to push them, I just moved through them. I also think you could've done with playing the snowman audio clip once a wave or less, it was a bit spammy as it was :P

Greg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

Pushing boxes accurately is really hard, which combined with the slow response controls gave me a hard time.
The art is really nice, sounds are in place.

I feel that with better control over the character movement/box pushing, the game could be improved a lot.

Good job overall guys!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Good concept, and the visuals are well done. Those droopy, melting snowmen are animated nicely. I could never get a box positioned before getting overwhelmed. The player might move a little bit fast. Fun simple game.

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46am

Good job.

Rnd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46am

great animation, but still need more improvement in gameplay

Krz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:10am

The benefits of pushing the crates around didn't seem worth it. I had fun blasting the snowmen anyway though, a lot more fun to focus on that to get a decent score. The turrets were a nice feature also. Good graphics and concept, nice work guys.

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17am

Well done guys, it's really great! Glad I could give a hand with the audio.

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:45am

Well dones guys. Loved it. Moving the box was a dick, but it was very enjoyable. :D

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

The environment looks cool, it's pretty detailed, that's good. After a few seconds of playing I saw that you and the snowmen are able to walk across the tables. This didn't feel really well, since it looks like there is no collision. Then I saw the snowmen being held back by walls and realised, "ooooh, they move OVER the table", and that's pretty cool!

The gameplay is pretty simple, a few power-ups would have been great. Would have made the game more interactive. The snowman sound is great, love it, as well as the way the dig up from the ground. :)

asbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Awesome Game

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

The crate pushing mechanic wasn't great, but if you look past that, it's like one of the old classic zombie shooters with snowmen. (so hey, you got the snowman theme in there too.) It was pretty fun to play for a while but got boring quickly, and the environment was fairly limited. There was a total of one sound effect and no music. Fixing the crate pushing could have made this a lot more fun (some sort of lock-on to the side of crates, TLoZ:OoT style would do)

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I freaking love it! haha this is hilarious! xD Awesome job! :D

RedPanda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:01am

Was really hard for me, but I liked it a lot :D Great graphics, oh and: "I like, warm hearts!"

hbocao says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10am

The art is pretty good and the gameplay smooth!

spirulence says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Great concept. Tough! Nicely done graphics all around.

paperweight says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice game couple of bugs but nothing major :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Good graphics, gameplay is a bit slow.

NPException says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:55am

Had good fun playing this, but the box-pushing physics are very wonky. :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Really nice game and some serious character animations done for a jam! I really like you could hold and shoot, but it was a bit hard to see the shots, and maybe they should have been themed to fit with the snowmen. But that's really a minor detail.

What made me give up was that the box shoving felt unnecessarily difficult. I would have opted for a much wider box collider that only collided with the boxes one were supposed to push around.

Other than that, a really good game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35am

Waaaaar! Neat and really interesting for those who wants to struggle with snowmen. Sound needed. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

madmaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Good pacing and difficulty

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:32am

Loved the graphics. One of the best games to sneak snowmen in that I've played so far.

Could use some balance tweaks as it's really difficult - maybe have the snowmen come in waves of increasing difficulty to give the player some time to ramp up?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]