Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Xmas Pinch

by davisan - Jam Entry

A little and quick time-space puzzle platformer. The house is on fire and you, as a cute snowgentleman, must activate the fire alarm to save everyone!

Controls (you can configure them in game):
- Move: WADS or Arrows.
- Jump: Space
- Others controls: z,x,c,v
- Pause: Esc

Credits:
Davi Santos: game design, programming, art, music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Innovation(Jam)4.06
#213Fun(Jam)3.44
#225Overall(Jam)3.56
#240Theme(Jam)3.85
#296Audio(Jam)3.22
#309Graphics(Jam)3.67
#342Mood(Jam)3.27
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41am

Couldn't play, gave this error: 404: Not Found!

davisan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55am

It's ready now! :D

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24am

To stupid to play puzzles :P
ficou maneirissimo seu boneco de neve :D

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

10/10
Great Game, and I finished it!
Very good, nice christmas mood, GREAT gameplay, fun fun fun!
COngratulations!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Interesting physics for a little game and nice Xmas mood. A good entry. Thank you ++

Knowledge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Cool little game, but theme used too literally.

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Nice little puzzle game. Reminds me of FEZ but in all the directions! Cool music, too. Felt very Christmas-y.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Legal a ideá, só achei meio confuso ter todos os eixos liberados, certo momento acaba sendo mais tentativa e erro do que raciocínio.

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Wow! Great game! Very interesting concept. You covered every rotation possible. The time travel mechanic is quite cool too.

Small yet full of potential. Good job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:44am

Awesome! I tried to envision the platforms as a 3D structure but still mind boggling. The FEZ and Braid mechanics are really well implemented at least from the player's point of view.
Great work especially considering how bland the LD theme is this time :)

Si1ver says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Nicelittle puzzle with unusual interpritation of the theme!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

nice game

Shivur says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Beautiful game!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

I just spent 15 minutes of my life jumping around and rotating a bunch of wooden blocks to try and activate the alarm because the room was on fire. Why the dumb snowman couldn't just install a smoke detector like a sensible homeowner is beyond me, but I'm glad I played this game anyway.

Valeour says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Very amusing and clever. Got very frustrating at times, but was pretty fun nonetheless. :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Great platformer game! xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]