Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Survive the doodle!

by DigitalQR - Compo Entry

A simple game whereby you see how high of a score you can get by surviving against the creations of the pencil.

Time-lapse:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=stQR3BtkOk4&feature=youtu.be

Controls:
WASD-Directional

Tools used:
-Eclipse
-Paint & GIMP 2.0
-Audacity

Libraries:
-(LWJGL based library) QRDare (https://github.com/DigitalQR/QRDare)

Unfortunately, due to a variety of reasons, this 48 hour compo turned out to be more like an 8 hour, for me; I hadn't prepared or managed my time nearly as well as I should have, which led to me having to scrap my original idea, as I knew I couldn't get it to a decent state in the time I had.

This is my first Ludum Dare and I have already taken many lessons from this and I look forward to taking part in following compos :)

p.s. I'm a rather large newbie, when it comes to game development, so I'd really appreciated any criticism, so I know where to correct.

p.p.s
You MUST extract the content of the zip, in order to run it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Innovation3.74
#252Theme3.87
#294Mood3.25
#304Humor2.90
#446Graphics3.26
#468Fun3.17
#605Audio2.62
#631Overall3.13
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Download links do not work for me.

DigitalQR says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26am

I've just changed the links;, so hopefully, they work now

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Works now, corrected my accidental rating. Nice idea, I think the circles should fall straight down and then start moving player side of the screen. Just needs more polishing and more doodle types.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This is a VERY creative entry! Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare entry! For the time constraints, you did a really good job.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Wow, love the idea and the style! For 8h it's actually pretty impressive. Would like to see a more complete version with some more doodles!

As for improvements: The movement is a bit too quick and twitchy I think and the game gets too fast at around 70 points (at least for me). Other than that, great job!

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Nice concept. I'd like to see it taken further and polished!

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Addictive little game! Good fun and pretty imaginitive :D

I avoided the spikes and boulders, naturally, however did learn the hard wa that the stars were NOT meant for collecting!

Very good little game :)

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Good simple game, really fun to play. I like it very much!

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Cool game:) Had to rewrite you shaders, to be able to run it on gl3.1, but other than that really enjoyed it!

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56am

Really cool concept. For the first one, it's really awesome. Really like the drawing animations.
(Really don't like the mad sheekels :) )
Good job! Thanks!

whilefun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Cannot run the game :(

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: LD31/control/MainControl : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: LD31.control.MainControl. Program will exit.

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice idea! The jumping is a bit too fast, cannot dodge anything with this.

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:20am

very cool game but a little pain in the ass to get it working

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:37pm

The game doesn't install or play

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:45am

Cannot run the game :( I wanted to play !

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Sadly the game will not run for me. Downloaded, run jar. A window opens for a split second then disappears.

Your game looks pretty neat, though.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:38pm

texture2D is removed when using ForwardCompatibility, Windows error.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]