Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snoika Man 2014

by Larzan - Compo Entry

I was pretty busy this weekend but i wanted to make at least sooooomething, so i glued this together:

It is Snoikaman, a remake of the great perestroika game, but this time as a metaphor about the world we live in, riddled by the man-made greenhouse effect that is ignored by so many.

Use CURSOR key to get from A-glu to B-glu (bottom left to top right) by jumping over the melting ice.
Collect sweets for bonus points.
And no, the greenhouse effect is not made up, ask your friendly polar bear next door why he moved in...

And YES THERE IS A SNOWMAN ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#330Theme3.78
#335Humor2.84
#535Fun3.10
#619Innovation3.05
#823Mood2.62
#860Overall2.90
#915Graphics2.54

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Hi there. Like the idea, shame no sound. Got stuck a long way from home several times, not sure where this sits on the frustration vs. difficulty curve.

jthistle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Nice idea :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice game, but could of been a bit smoother and some sound would be nice. OBAY THE SNOWMAN

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Nice entry, very simple, works flawless good job.
No music and the game being way to easy lets this entry down, however lots of potential shown here keep up the good works.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

good idea, it needed sounds indeed, a bit fun.
I think the game needs dying penalty or somthing, a special Item that you can collect every 30 secs or so that fives you high score. but the idea itself is fun. which is matter more than anything in LD. good job

berareu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice game! It's very unpredictable so it's kinda hard to plan a path towards the b-glu. It was frustrating after a while but I guess that was the intention! Nice work :)

GGraca says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I like the fact that the player can decide when it's worth finishing

Check this one:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44716

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Very good one. Simple but fun, which I think is the most importante. Loved it.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Thanks for opening my eyes! We need to stop Global Warming, or else Snoika Man will drown!

Larzan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58pm

;)

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Pretty fun and the controls work really well. There's not a whole lot of variety but I did enjoy playing it (even though I wound up with negative points half the time). The sprites are cute too.

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:23am

funny!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:24pm

It is simple. It doesn't have impressive graphics. And yet... it is a great game. Smooth gameplay, quite tense and twitchy and addictive. And great ending, of course!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:19pm

It's hard to tell if you died, since there isn't a pause to indicate so. This game is pretty darn hard to get positive score. More visual feedback would be useful, such as a splash to indicate the platform has sunk completely.

mahu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Kind nice.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:44pm

The dying is annoying, but otherwise pretty good!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:20pm

rough, but fun and humorous

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:29pm

While there's not much to play, I must say that this simple idea works very well. I was thinking that an arctic fox could be more fun character to control. There could be seals or polar bears to avoid too. And you would try to find dry land.

Too bad there's just one type of level so no much variety, but either way... this was a nice entry with a good idea. Just needs more content.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Could improve on graphics and add sound, but still a fun game :)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice concept and pretty fun to walk around the melting ice chunks to reach the Buglu. :)

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I've got fun, to play it.

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:11pm

The concept is quite cool. I wish it was a bit more polished with sounds and animations.
Congratz for the compo.

Lynx says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:01am

Interesting concept, the ending with negative points makes me feel sad though and kind of depressed that I'm not good enough but that may just add to the mood of the severity of melting polar caps.

I found one annoyance that if I was dashing real quick and ended up dying I would spawn back at start and accidentally dash off into water again in the direction I was last pressing.

Maybe make it so when you respawn, it pauses the players movements for a split second to give the player chance to stop pressing keys and see he died and get ready to try again

Nice concept though, it was quite fun and frantic

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Liked your game! Just as a side note wanted to drop by and thank you for your nice comments on my game, even though it was such an unfinished mess! Let us both work harder next time around. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]