Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

TeazleParty

by Ace - Compo Entry

( Important note, this game requires the VC++ 2013 redist to run. You can find it here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 )

Linux builds will be coming soon, just need to debug them first.

Fight your friends (or strangers over the internet) in a series of minigames laid out on a tic-tac-toe / naughts and crosses like board, where you have to beat your opponents score to take a tile.
A win is a line across the board in any of the cardinal directions or diagonally.

I'll have to apologize for the state of the UI, completely forgot to get a GUI toolkit so had to do it all manually instead. But I feel like the gameplay at least ended up well working.

The default controls are:

WASD - Movement
Space - Special action (Jump, fire, etc)

Enter - Chat

They can be rebound through the options menu, though it's a bit finicky and will probably fail to bind anything but WASD/arrow keys. Joystick binds work flawlessly though, just don't have an easy slider for things like deadzone and sensitivity.

(Also, I might've forgotten to actually put the title in-game. But it's still titled TeazleParty, which is a reference that I hope someone will get)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Theme4.23
#210Innovation3.65
#366Overall3.38
#607Graphics3.00
#620Mood2.87
#658Humor2.35
#717Fun2.92
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Quite fitting into the theme, maybe some sfx and more variety in the mini games would have made a better game overall.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Congratulation for finishing this Game ! \o/
I'm really fond of your graphics !

I found nobody to play with, wich is a shame but my main problem is the lack of sound. Mostly Sign/Feedback sound. Maybe try to focus on that, next time.

It was a great twist of the theme, wich is rally cool :D

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

The idea is very interesting. More mini games could have been an option as well as starting a game with a key (like space) not with the mouse.

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I've never seen so much game on a single screen. Well done!

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Fun, although I only tried the hotseat game. Some minigames were a bit unclear, and some audio feedback would have helped a great deal. Overall good game, enjoyed it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I liked what you did with the theme! With more mini games and some people to play with, it could be real fun :)

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:07am

Very novel concept! I liked the zooming in on the games and that they were somewhat different. I was only playing was one player, so the multiplayer aspects may have been lost on me. Nice job :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:35pm

This game is actually really cool, could use faster controls for the space ship. . .but other than that monir complaint your game is great :)

BretHudson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:42am

The base concept here works really well with the theme and has a bit of potential. Unfortunately I don't have any friends in the area right now to play with, so I wasn't too interested in playing for long. I'd love to see a more polished post-jam version of this with more variety, to play at parties and such. Could be a big hit!

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Very smart idea. I really like it. Has a lot of potential!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:07pm

As is often the case with indie multiplayer games lack of players is a letdown.
It has potential though.

Ace says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:23am

Been thinking of trying to arrange a date/time through IRC where we might get several people to play a game.

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Clever game! Wish I found someone to play with. Really liked the idea and the way you pulled it off.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]