Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by SeriouslyCrunchy - Jam Entry

I didn't have enough time for the main compo due to work constraints, so for my first Ludum Dare I challenged myself to see what I could make in the 9 hours I had available over the 3 days of the 72 hour jam.

This was a fully solo project done in Construct 2 and sadly I didn't have time to add in any sound effects or any real animations, so if I was to add to the game that's what I'd do first.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#182Theme(Jam)3.58
#448Humor(Jam)2.26
#466Innovation(Jam)2.89
#548Fun(Jam)2.74
#618Audio(Jam)1.94
#630Mood(Jam)2.58
#646Overall(Jam)2.79
#735Graphics(Jam)2.18

Comments

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Very good, and pretty impressive considering the time constraint.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48am

nice,very challenging game

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

Such a large game! I loved how different the minigames were, and the difficulty was really spot-on. I wish some of the planets didn't require you to spend a certain time on them due to the time limit (the lava planet is especially troublesome since it's an instant loss of at least 50 seconds).

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:54am

(Sorry, forgot to vote)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

That mini game is really hard!

KayZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

So many different games. Nice work.

Vidd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Fits the theme, that's for sure. I was surprised at the minigame breadth given the time constraints.

With some extra time, I'm sure it could be really great.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Wasn't sure how much of a game there was here, but then I got off the first planet and was really impressed! Great work for a short amount of time

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Nice game!! The mini games were a lot of fun. I especially liked their difficulty. Well done!!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:04am

Congratulations with your first Ludum Dare! ^^

For 9 hours, this one is pretty solid.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:08am

Good minigames. Great job. Really enjoyable.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:11am

Impressive for 9 hours. It was entertaining, but at some times felt more frustrating than challenging. As you noted, it could definitely use some polish.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:04am

Hi there. Nice to see another Construct2 outing! Got as far as avoid the microbes level where too dependent on reaction times for me. Shame no sound, but understandable. Very good for 9 hrs effort!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Nice job, considering the limited amount of time that you had to make the game. I liked the level of challenge, and the variety of different tasks to complete. Hopefully, you'll be able to use the full time next Ludum Dare.

Kyatric says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:57am

Nice take on the theme.
Perhaps it was a bit too ambitious (considering the extra restrained amount of time you had) to put so many mini-games together and having less would have allowed you to polish them a bit more.

Congratulations nonetheless on making a game during this week-end !

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:12am

I like the different mini games idea and it's a lot of content for only 9 hours! Good work for your first entry!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:07am

Pretty hard, but impressive work for only 9 hours and those are fun minigames. The overall time constraint was a little annoying, would've loved to play through the game without it. Only managed to beat three of the minigames in time, yeah, I'm bad at this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]