Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Color Spectrum Runner

by MrWindy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When three 2D worlds combine, it is up to you to guide a square through this endless obstacle course by jumping from one colored world to the next.

~This game has a new gameplay mechanic not seen in other endless runner games

--Web Browser Notes--
-Chrome, the graphics of the game is a bit low
-Safari, you can't hear the sounds
-I'm not sure how it performs in other web browsers

I might work on this game some more and make it my next iOS app, depending on play tester feed back.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#439Fun3.18
#625Innovation3.07
#775Audio2.25
#788Overall2.97
#812Humor1.95
#845Theme2.79
#1068Mood2.17
#1074Graphics2.21

Comments

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Nice spin on the endless runner design!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57am

Not bad. I could totally see this as a good mobile game.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58am

This is a very fun concept. Sometimes it is impossible to switch lanes fast enough though. Fun entry!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:41am

Fun game. The levels are tough but doable.

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

Cool design! The game ran a bit slow for me for some reason but that might be because of my own computer but the game was enjoyable. It is a good idea for an endless runner type game and has many possibilities if you decided to go further with this game in the future. Also, kind of reminded me of Thomas Was Alone. Nice work!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

My highscore was 32! Cool runner game. Very challenging and fun to play :)

orukinawa says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

Simple but fun :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Wow this was fun, my best was 49

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:02am

Nice little game. I got to 70 and things got hectic. :P

Kiwiboi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Great concept, solid entry. Improved graphics,audio and maybe adjusted jumping between colors, I would definitely believe in this as a mobile game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]