Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Magumi

by Kato - Jam Entry

WASD to walk, SPACE to advance dialogue enter the Spirit World if you dare, LEFTCLICK in a direction to attack.

By Liz Lara (@tobamese) and Zac North (@kato).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#128Humor(Jam)3.24
#217Graphics(Jam)3.80
#390Mood(Jam)3.07
#460Theme(Jam)3.00
#505Audio(Jam)2.69
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#579Innovation(Jam)2.69
#693Fun(Jam)2.37
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

I wish there were either a way to skip the intro, or a way to restart when you die. I couldn't seem to damage any of the evil badguys :(

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:58am

ninjascript, you're right, that is a great idea and will definitely be implemented if the game is expanded in the future.

You can damage the bad guys pretty easily by concentrating your punches, but winning the battle...>:D

Tritax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Seems like it could be fun, but I gotta agree with ninjascript. I wasn't quite sure what was going on and died. Then I had to sit through the intro again (and again). A way to skip through it after you've read it once would be great.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19am

Not bad overall, It was a little confusing at first what to do, I didn't know I had to collect the key to unlock
The asteroids add a nice challenge, but I find myself waiting around too much for the right moment to connect

Animan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21am

Very awesome start (love the intro and the overall polish in the beginning), but the combat was kinda "bleh". The lack of animation on the enemies that showed I hit them (combined with the multiple hitpoints they had), I had no way of knowing whether my hits registered or not. Also agree with ninjascript that there has to be a way to restart when you die instead of going through the intro again. Will have to check this one out if it goes anywhere after the jam! :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

Sorry wrong game! Playing too many haha,
Ok let's try again, great design overall, it took a really long time to load though. Agree with the the current bugs (restart / skip etc
Not bad overall

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24am

Very solid game! Great job. Very aesthetically pleasing.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Controls are q little confusing but graphics are great. I couldn't get pass the first evil spirit attack and didn't want to wait for intro for a third time.

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

This one has a lot of potential :D Loved the graphics and the story. For a jam game looks pretty cool!

enderargent says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Loaded pretty slow, the intro should be skippable but the idea is pretty nice.
Liked!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

Seconding a lot of the critiques you've gotten here. Having no way of registering current level of health also made things tough.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

Oh mai gosh, so cute. All the gummies. Graphics were great, including the animations. But the dialog / text sound was really annoying after a bit.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

Good graphics but the combat is a little too simple. It's also hard to tell how much damage is being dealt. A little more work on the combat and it could become a fun game. Overall good job.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Hm, very nice intro and mood. Then, when the actual game starts, I get overrun by a horde of bad guys with no clue of what to do (or better said: No learning curve) and then it's game over after a few seconds. I guess this could be done in a better way, like introducing the player to the game-system and giving him some feel of success first.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

The intro is awesome and funny! I also enjoy the artstyle. But have the same problem mentiones in the past comments, didn't know what to do and died early.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice graphics man. Want a lot to skip this dialogs or make it faster.

donaldducky says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Interesting game, with good music. The intro was a little long, but other than that good job!

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

haha cute, i love the gummy bears and graphics.
the only thing that was strange to me was when there was lots of text it began to shrink down instead of scroll.
anyway gg!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:08pm

those gumis may be evil, but that still doesn't make their dancing animation cute. I enjoyed the intro, I would add a skip option tho. The combat didn't have much depth, but I did enjoy this game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]