Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trade Cities: United

by Lashiz121 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As I see it this is the worst game I ever made, but who cares I still had tons of fun making this.

If you want to "WIN" then you must make $10,000, but that is just if you really want to be awesome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#665Audio2.51
#903Humor1.71
#1012Theme2.45
#1049Mood2.22
#1054Innovation2.38
#1124Fun2.14
#1160Graphics1.99
#1166Overall2.33

Comments

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40am

I could not figure out how to get a trade route to go. How do you build a trading post in a specific city? Also music is nice.

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27am

I got a trade route running, but it lost me money :D

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32am

Game controls aren't clear enough... Can't find a way to connect two cities

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:34am

Amazing! It lacks info about already build trading posts, but anyway it's really fun, I like those kind of games (and my entry is a little bit similar :))

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

sorry i build one trating rout by accident and couldnt add another :(

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

I got a negative score increasing, I think a connected a expansive city to a cheaper, don't know

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45am

It's a little simple and I too couldn't get it to work properly.. but I guess it'd be fun if it worked. Also great music

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

Very cool! (took me a while to realise, click button, then each settlement) By the way, input didn't seem to work on Chrome, but worked fine in Firefox, just in case anyone has a similar issue.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

Gahhhh, set up my second trade route the wrong way round and lost a tonne of cash! Nice idea. It would be good if you could see which cities you'd already made trading posts.

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice game ! The start is a bit slow, but the music is nice and the concept is an interesting start. It could use a little more feedback though. Oh, and I finished it successfully !

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:00am

Some visualization would be handy. But interesting concept.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48am

A bit confusing for me but interesting concept.

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

Its pretty cool if you figured out how to get a trade route running

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

I managed to build trade posts (select trade post, double click) and trade route (select route, single click on two cities?), but I can't get positive amount of money.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:17pm

need some context

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

need some context. seems quite fun, but I didn't figure out how to connect the houses

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47pm

A lack of feedback/feedforward to the user makes it difficult to follow what's going on. Although I was able to set up a trade route, it took a lot of fiddling and a restart of the game.

MaesK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Well well, I must be terrible at trading, as I was losing money far beyond my possibilities :D

A little help to connect the cities would be great. But it was fun betting on the wrong caravans!

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

Not clear how the game works

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45pm

need more information about control

pythong says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

i couldn't figure out what to do? but i lost a lot of money, apparently. and the music was kinda silent

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]