Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chaos Theory: The Butterfly Effect

by SuperPokeunicorn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello Guys!
This is my fourth time participating in Ludum Dare!

This game is all about decision making. Any decision you make in one level will effect the next. You play as four characters from 1890 to 1990 and see how their lives (or WORLDS (theme alert)) are connected.

Controls:
WASD: move/climb ladder
E: special action/continue
Space: jump

SPOILER ALERT:
It turns out that a lot of people couldn't find many of the choices and felt that not enough changed in the last level. If you think you may have missed some choices, here is a quick list:

First Level: Save the baby, die in the sewer, invest in the entrepreneur.

Second Level: Fix the pipe, fix the gears, die, make it back to your girlfriend within 30 seconds.

Third Level: Free Brandon (only if he didn't fix the pipe and did not die), arrest the stoner (only if Brandon made it back to his girlfriend on time), arrest the accomplice (only if Balthasar saved the baby), free the prisoner.

Here's what can be different in the last level: The stoner is in the closet if Brandon made it back to is girlfriend in time and Sonya didn't arrest him, the printer is broken if Brandon did not fix the gears, Brandon is there to fix the printer if he did not fix the gears, did not die, and either fixed the pipe or was let out of jail, the stairwell is replaced by ladders if Balthasar invested in the entrepreneur (this is true for levels 2 and 3 as well), your boss is there if Sonya freed him from prison or failed to arrest his accomplice (who is only there if you saved the baby), Sonya is there to investigate missing money only if she failed to arrest the accomplice, and the company is named Intercorp instead of Balthcorp if Balthasar died in the first level.

Known bugs:
Sometime collision messes up and you get teleported at random to the next level. If this happens either continue or restart, your call.
There seems to be an occasional graphical slowdown. Not sure why this happens. I'll try to fix it in a post-compo version. Though it's an eyesore, it really doesn't effect gameplay (you may not even notice it).

Tools:
Eclipse
Paint.Net
http://www.fakemusicgenerator.com/
http://codeminion.com/blogs/maciek/2008/05/cgmusic-computers-create-music/

Libraries:
Personal library: https://www.dropbox.com/s/q9z8si1bs978yrm/Personal%20Libraries.zip?dl=0
jl, mp3sqi, tritonus_share

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#238Humor2.91
#297Audio3.17
#484Graphics3.19
#538Innovation3.18
#609Theme3.19
#638Overall3.13
#707Mood2.81
#840Fun2.71

Comments

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

It was okay. I didn't quite get what changed depending on some of my actions... Will need to play it a few more times.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Amazing chiptune music! Nice art!

polarkac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50am

Nice idea, but its quite boring. Music is better than actual in my opinion.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

The low-res pixel graphics really do it for me and the music is great!
But the game mechanics and the actual result of playing is a bit boring ;)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I like the graphics and the sounds but I don't feel like the gameplay design is that great.. Is not that engaging

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Wow, that's pretty interesting! I actually played through twice to see how things would be different. What's most interesting to me is that not only does the game change based on your decisions, but you as a player also change based on what you know from earlier portions in the game. Very cool! Fun visuals, BTW!

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Interesting concept and beautiful pixel art. The music is nice too.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46pm

A cute and oddly engaging story/platformer about the unintended consequences of our actions. What does it all mean? Also, more games should have this much harpsichord.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Fun concept, with nice pixel art and music :)

The first playthrough felt a bit weird, in that I could go to the end of each level without doing anything with my character, but subsequent playthroughs were quite interesting.

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I love the pixel art and music. BTW, it works on Linux!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46pm

awesome game. played it many times! the office space reference was brilliant :D

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39am

I tried it twice and noticed small changes. However, I hoped for a big change at the end but there wasn't any?

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58am

I played through it 4 times and did things differently each time, but the final level was always the same, except for the mechanic being there or not being there. I thought the concept was really interesting but I expected more of the final part.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

@JaJ if the only thing that changed was the mechanic, then you missed a vast majority of the choices. There are seven things that are different in the final level depending on what choices you make. Here's a list of all the choices you can make: First Level: Save the baby, die in the sewer, invest in the entrepreneur. Second Level: Fix the pipe, fix the gears, die, make it back to your girlfriend within 30 seconds. Third Level: Free Brandon (only if he didn't fix the pipe and did not die), arrest the stoner (only if Brandon made it back to his girlfriend on time), arrest the accomplice (only if Balthasar saved the baby), free the prisoner. Here's what can be different in the last level: The stoner is in the closet if Brandon made it back to is girlfriend in time and Sonya didn't arrest him, the printer is broken if Brandon did not fix the gears, Brandon is there to fix the printer if he did not fix the gears, did not die, and either fixed the pipe or was let out of jail, the stairwell is replaced by ladders if Balthasar invested in the entrepreneur (this is true for levels 2 and 3 as well), your boss is there if Sonya freed him from prison or failed to arrest his accomplice (who is only there if you saved the baby), Sonya is there to investigate missing money only if she failed to arrest the accomplice, and the company is named Intercorp instead of Balthcorp if Balthasar died in the first level. I hope this helped and might make you take a second look at my game. Also, don't forget that you can do your special action with E.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Here's a list of things I actually did before you pointed out what you could do:
1. I saved the baby, I drowned, I invested, I didn't invest
2. I fixed the pipe, I didn't fix the pipe, I fixed the gears, I didn't fix the gears. My mechanic died. He was in time for his girlfriend once and he wasn't in time for his girlfriend the other times.
3. I freed brandon. I never arrested the stoner which is the only choice I truly missed. I arrested the accomplice, I freed the prisoner below, and I also didn't free him.

As you can see I played the game plenty of times and I only missed one choice. I did see the boss, and the ladders, the changed name was there but that's such a minor thing I didn't notice. None of these things are very exciting for a final level.

I actually played through the game 4 times. None of the changes affect the office worker in a signifficant way I'd say, which is what I meant with "the final level is always the same"

I actually gave your game great marks in most categories, which may not show in the previous comment but I did play your game thoroughly, and I did like it enough to give it 4 stars overall.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Thank you for clarifying. I was under the impression that you only made choices that effected the mechanic and missed everything else. Sorry if I over reacted.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:40am

I really like this concept. Some of the effects were a bit subtle. Excellent graphics and music and humor.

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:45am

Wow, very impressed with this game, love the audio and game-play. The art is great too.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Awesome idea! I really liked the movie "Mr. Nobody" you'd probably like it too if you make games like this :)

Patacorow says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The depth of this game is rather impressive :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]