Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Saturation

by locknic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are on a quest to find the fabled potato salad. Use your super power (the ability to warp between the three primary colour worlds) to get through the treacherous obstacles.

Cotrols:
Movement - Arrow keys / WSAD keys
Swap Worlds - 1, 2, 3 keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Overall3.59
#324Fun3.32
#334Theme3.55
#391Humor2.60
#452Audio2.85
#516Innovation3.21
#663Graphics2.94
#690Mood2.83
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

This game shows how much you've improved since your last one (of at least, how much effort you've put into this one). One of my favourites so far!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very interesting concept! You managed to make the solid block graphics look good. Level 3 was too hard for me, one mistake and you have to go all the way back. Is there a level skip feature? The controls are really two-handed, so I suggest moving the color switch keys to the right (for example, J/K/L)

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I've used the cursor keys now, and that works better. I'm glad I tried again. The levels get more interesting after level 3. I got to level 7 this time.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

WOW! That's epic! I love EVERYTHING!!!!! :D

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

Personal (well, personal enough) idea. Graphics are rather simple, but no one plays games only for graphics, right?

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Fun looking game, nice style!

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I like the style. And thank you for your source code share.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Good game, nice shadow!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Cool game, nice concept. Got annoyed when I fell in the stage going from right to left with the staircase on right and multiple blocks going left. If I missed it was quite a long walk back. Other than that was pretty cool to play and had some nice visuals.

Xentira says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:18am

Really nice. I was surprised at just how hard it could be to try to balance the color changing while jumping around.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:44am

Cool game concept, enjoyed playing it :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

very cool platformer! :) it plays really well. quite challenging too!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Interesting concept.
It was a little annoying to start at the beginning each time.
The game itself feels a little bit slow because I had to look at the top right before each puzzle.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:11pm

I really like the puzzles where you have to have just the right timing, with the spikes. This was a really interesting concept, a very fun game, and overall very pretty to look at, well done! :)

holgk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Nice game!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Really good game with its length and challenging mechanic but not very original idea with color change. I enjoyed a lot playing :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:38am

Decent game, but the levels were too lengthy and difficult, making me give up on level 3. >.<

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Pretty humorous.
I like the wavy screen effect, and I definitely like the color mechanic.
The music is alright. Don't forget sound effects next time!

However, the controls aren't very solid. Acceleration is too slow and jumping isn't variable (release jump key to stop the jump). Also, you can glitch through blocks by jumping into them when they're transparent, then switch to the right world and you'll usually get pushed upwards. Maybe it's on purpose?

Some of the puzzles become more difficult than they need to be because of these control issues.

Overall though it's quite cool.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:58am

Great idea and a nice game! Very Thomas was alone-y, I like it! I would have liked some sound effects though, they make actions (like jumping) feel a lot better!

Joona@MooseflyGames

Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nice concept! Some of the jumps in the later levels where real hard. Too bad about that potato salad :P

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:49am

Really great audio, the puzzles were also very fun altough it has an average implementation of the theme. Overall a very solid entry.

(and I really cant stop wondering to which dimension did the potato salad go...)

clayton says ...
Nov 12, 2014 @ 2:28am

shit game, a huge reflection on your personality

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]