Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Glove Between Worlds

by coldman - Jam Entry

Hi !

It's our first Ludum Dare and we're realy excited by it!
We made a game (demo) about a hero with a magic glove who goes from rooms to rooms by switching dimensions (the real one and the fairy one).

We have learnt many things when working on AGBW and it's fairly simple but we decided to continue the development!

Keyboard :
- Arrow keys to move
- Space to use the glove
- R to reload the level

Have fun, we hope you like it; and feed us back if you want ! ;)

Edit : I added the correct ddls for this issue in the new link: "The program cannot start because MSVCR110.dll is missing from your computer."

Nicolas Barray (coldman/ioa42)
Twitter follow @ioa42
Louis Aumaitre (Darksteelpenguin)
WordPress - http://darksteelpenguin.wordpress.com/
Thomas Chassin (tchassin)
Twitter follow @tchassin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Graphics(Jam)4.16
#175Theme(Jam)3.60
#340Overall(Jam)3.29
#417Audio(Jam)2.98
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#562Innovation(Jam)2.72
#566Humor(Jam)1.81
#642Fun(Jam)2.52
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

flwns says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:49am

nice art and sound, but the gameplay was kind of a boring repitiion of running through levels, press space, next level same thing, bring in boxes game over.

GLStephen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

I like the game overall. It's a good concept. With more time you could evolve this.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

repetitive mechanics and a little poor for a jam entry.

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

I really enjoyed this, and the graphics are impressive! Very well done guys :)

bb_buster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

I liked it, it wasn't really explained that the glove had finite power per level but once I understood that it made more sense. The sound of the glove/fire stopped in the last level or so and then after completing it and starting a new game it didn't return.
But anyway, with more polish and expanding on the gameplay you guys could have an interesting game on your hands.

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

I like the graphical style. Movement felt a bit clunky and the music kind of grated on me after a while. Overall a pretty cool game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Got error "The program cannot start because MSVCR110.dll is missing from your computer."

Tom Liebmann says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08am

I really liked the art and sound. Some more gameplay elements could make it quite a nice title!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:14am

I was confused at first as I thought you killed the monsters when hitting them- It wasn't until the last level with the boxes that I realized how awesome that mechanic was. Really great idea.
The game was a bit too slow for my liking, but I was really amazed by the idea, and the graphics were good.
Good job.

technocf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I really like the graphics and the idea behind the game is awesome.

tchassin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I must admit that the gameplay is not fully exploited and that more level would have been nice.
However, this was our first Ludum Dare and our first time working together. We had trouble choosing a framework at the beginning and didn't get much done on the first day.

Many features were left out because of the time limit, but we are planning to make a more elaborate version later.

If you encounter the dll problem, unzipping the following zip file to the game folder should fix it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/45320055/msvc.zip

Contraspect says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56pm

A little buggy, but nice concept and graphics!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Short, nice world switching mechanic!

lolofinil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Cool concept!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Love the art !
Nicely done, really liked the enemies that fired stuff at you. Made things interesting when I figured out you had to be in a safe place.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34pm

I like it! Artwork here is awesome and the idea is cool. SFX sound great, but music is a bit lacking. Great work, man!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Great art, and I liked the bmg and sfx, but the main mechanic is repetitive and not so fun... Maybe some kind of new challenge or another use for the glove might be good. Anyway, congratulations on finishing your game!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great art and looked super nice and soft. The controls felt a bit clunky though, but it was an interesting idea.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44pm

A few flaws : I should automatically lose if I have empty my power point before reaching the final orb. Level design is not very clear, is there levels? how my glove is restored? And I should be invincible while teleporting. On the good side, it's already a massive work for a jam so you can take this further. The arts are also nice. Good luck!

TeamFaceDesk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I thought this was a okay little game. The game play was a bit repetitive in the context (but hey, it was made quickly right). Nice sounds and awesome art :)

Pinqu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

It's a good start and is has potential, but it needs more devtime.

sthreet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Interesting game, I feel that it would be more interesting if the levels were made more complicated and then the glove limit was taken away to allow for messing around.
The mechanic is great, but I'd say poor level design.

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Uber nice graphics! The gameplay was fun, too. Like many people said, polish it and you have a really entertaining minigame.

CoderMusgrove says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I found the enemies that shot projectiles to be frustrating. I did, however, enjoy the art and sound!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Art is good, but the game definitely needs more gameplay.

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice game guys! A lot of potential in there and we're getting some nice vibes over here in terms of the mood brought about by the cool GFX and SFX.

Frump says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

Really nice art. The music was nice too, but the way it switched every time you teleported was really jarring. The gameplay itself was really slow paced and the collision boxes were all large and cumbersome. With some tweaks this could be quite good.

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:56am

Very nice game, perfect mood, congrats!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:44pm

The concept was good but I really had trouble with the hitbox : once the enemies touch you, it stops the "glove animation", and they can it you some more, leaving you defenseless, even though you have your fire-thingy fully charged X).

dancingmad says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:25am

This game is gorgeous. Unfortunatly, the mechanics are not really fun.

CluelessGames says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:20am

Really good art and sound; lacked content but over all Well polished

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]