Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

IN BETWEEN

by Simon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

============================================================

Hi, World Synchronizer.

Your mission is to synchronize worlds. To achieve that you must first bring the monoliths to the worlds that need to be synchronized by entering the monoliths and applying vertical synchronization. Then, through rotational and vertical synchronization you will be able to bring back the monoliths (now injected of the substance of the worlds to synchronize) together in order to finalize the synchronization. But be careful not to create instability between the worlds.

Good luck.

============================================================

Press F for fullscreen when playing through the web player.
Esc to regain focus when playing through the web player.

ZQSD for moving.
Entering monoliths once prepares them to be lifted up in the top world.
Entering monoliths twice prepares them to be lifted down in the bottom world.
Left/Right click to lift monoliths up and down.
E/Q to rotate worlds for syncing monoliths from different worlds.

============================================================

The game was developed with Unity and the sounds were created with LMMS. Please, tell me if you have any trouble with running the game, I could not test the OSX and Linux builds.

I wanted more worlds to sync through a random generation of worlds but the idea of the game came progressively as I was developing it so it was too late when it occurred to me that I wanted different patterns and different worlds.

Thank you for playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#221Innovation3.61
#444Theme3.40
#515Mood3.04
#636Audio2.56
#663Graphics2.94
#816Overall2.95
#924Humor1.59
#1028Fun2.45

Comments

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Challenging entry. Good work!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Pretty interesting concept. It's quite vague at first, so it took me a while to realize what I was trying to do. But I actually managed to balance a world! If I could move around the space more quickly, I could possibly have understood the game faster and got into it. Either way, nice job doing something abstract and different.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

Doesn't seem to work for me, but I can tell it looks like a good concept.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52am

Nice abstract universe ! It give a lot of fun and the "tutorial" is just great, very good entry !

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55am

Looks and sounds cool. Interesting entry altogether!

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

Thanks for your feedbacks :)

@SelfishGenome Can you tell me what does not work? Is it that you can't execute the program or just that you have a hard time finding what to do in the game?

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00pm

The concept looks nice, but to be honest, the goal left partially a total mystery to me.

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Wow, this was really impressive. Took me a while to figure out what the objective was but once I'd figured it out it felt great!

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Took me a while to figure out what to do. However, once i did, i thought it was quite fun! I was really kinda pleased when i finally synced a world :) One thing to improve would be the sensitivity of the rotational syncing. Good job!

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Even if the objective is a bit hard to apprehend at first sight, it becomes intuitive and fun!
Pretty nice concept!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21am

I have not managed to understand the game well, the idea it seems to be good and original, that if music has broken my ears

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30am

Challenging and fun. nice music.

Simon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42am

Thanks again everyone for playing and leaving feedbacks. I'm a bit sorry about the fact that the objective can seem vague but I believe it's kinda part of the experience I sought. I wanted the player to try and manipulate the world synchronization in every way possible and I find it fun to just watch the worlds turn and going up and down and all but maybe it's just me :) Anyway thank you again!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

really enjoyed your visual style, as others have mentioned, it would be great to get a little onboarding in there so I know what to do at the beginning.

Well made

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

Very challenging. Nice entry.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

That's a really great concept and also challenging. I Liked it a lot!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

A very interesting take on the theme; I liked the minimalistic style and colours. At some others have said, it took quite some time to "get" the gameplay, and even afterwards the game was pretty difficult. Otherwise really neat!

dhargan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

interesting game. good job mate.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Hard to understand it, also for me movement is a little slow and going inside two times seems a bit strange. But the concept itself is interesting. I could only wonder if maybe different mechanics could work with this idea. Nevertheless it's very imaginative and creative entry. Great job :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:01am

Very nice! I really like your color choices. Even if I didn't know what the hell I was doing, I found the experience very interesting :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I had fun messing around with the monoliths, the controls feels just right. Without your explanation in the description however it would be impossible to get what to do. You should have added some tutorial level maybe, if you don't want people to be lost. That's the price to pay when you create an innovative gameplay ^^

Simon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Thank you all for playing. I'm really happy if you actually had (even a little) fun while playing my game :) And I'm even happier if you find it interesting.

@Pierrec Yes you're probably right but at first I wanted only one level but then I wanted a thousand and then I could not make more than one so that a tutorial level for only one level kinda was weird. But yes I agree :)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:04pm

A cool idea, even if it was hard to understand what exactly I was supposed to do. I just put three monoliths up top and three at the bottom and that was pretty much it.

Simon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:53pm

@frogcheese yes and then you can bring them together (make opposite monoliths touch each other) to finalize the sync.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Read the whole description, tried playing it twice and then read the description again until I finally got it. The gameplay (really all about judging the distances of the monoliths) is pretty dull at the moment, but it sure is unique! The presentation is also lovely.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:33pm

It was quite challenging to even understand what to do, but when you put the effort to make it's quite rewarding. You could make the character move faster. Also it was very confusing the way you change the color of the monolith, you could do it with a simple left-click. Anyway nice concept and very innovative ! Good job :D

sputnik says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Love the mood, but hard to understand.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:21am

Well, I finally managed to figure out what to do. It would be nice if there were a little more instruction in-game, I futzed around for a while before looking at the instructions here.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]