Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tangled Chalkboard Planets

by Fernando - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle game that requires you to untangle the planets (Total of 5 puzzles).

Just drag the planets around and try to untangle them. Use as little movements as possible to get more stars.

Developed with: Unity, Krita, Gimp, Lmms and Bfxr

I thought that the "tangled" concept fit well with the "Connected Worlds" theme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Mood3.44
#256Audio3.25
#260Fun3.42
#301Graphics3.50
#379Overall3.38
#546Theme3.27
#734Innovation2.92
#843Humor1.89
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice puzzle

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

Oh my gosh I LOVE your artwork! Super fun and awesome game. Can't wait to see you add more levels and put it up on smartphone (Please!) I will totally download this on my iphone and play it all the time. Fun casual game.

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

Thanks!! Totally will :D

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

Really nice artwork, which there were more levels :)

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

You should totally make this into a mobile game! There are similar games, but nothing exactly like this (that I've found anyway). A win condition would be nice, because there was no real indication that things were looping again. Overall, awesome entry! I hope you pursue this more.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Nice puzzle. Great work!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

Wow, what a well-polished game! The gameplay is flawless and effortlessly fun. The style is great too-- reminds me a little of Yoshi's Island but with a spiffy chalkboard feel. This could be a really fun mobile game if you continue to work on it!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

The music did a nice job of setting the atmosphere for your game. The gameplay mechanics were interesting and I could definitely see it doing well as a mobile game.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

Great job!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

Really fun puzzle, you should definitely develop this game further with more levels. Graphics are good as well. Overall, a very nice game you have there.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

Nice concept for a mobile game, the art reminds me of Yoshi's Island too. It was a bit hard to understand the goal of the game at first, as I didn't realize that intersecting edges were slightly darker than the others. But when I got it I enjoyed the game. :)

Degondar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35pm

A bit short.
But i love the game

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Nice game! Wanted to play more!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Puzzle is nice, but idea is old a dinosaur

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

good packaged game for mobil.
I also often seen this mecanic, but innovation is only one category of LD, so it doesn't matter.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

One of the best puzzle games in this Ludum Dare. Please make a post-jam version with more levels!

miwuc says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice presentation, very polished game. Would have liked more levels!

Win detection is pretty buggy. You can cheat by putting planets on a line, which makes the game think some of the lines of that planet start on one side, and others start on the other side of the line. In truth, they should all be seen as starting from the center of the planet.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Miaaaaaaaaa...
Such cute sound =^_^=
Nice game.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:34pm

It was fun to play, but very short

Fernando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Hi! Thank you all for the feedback folks! I struggled a little with the time constraint. I couldn't create more levels. I'll create some more in a post compo version.

@miwuc: yes... the line collision detection is ignoring the center of the planets :( I'll fix that. Thanks!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:32pm

funny idea. i liked the concept very much. more levels pls! :)

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:29am

lovely game.. great art and music as well
needs more levels...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]