Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

NetConnect

by teoacosta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I did the art, coding, and music for this game as a one-man team. This is the first time I have ever done any coding! I slept like maybe 9 hours over the whole weekend. THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN!

I ran out of time, so there is no ending. The last level is unfinished, and loops forever.

Known Bugs:
* The last level is unfinished.
* Bounding box issues with collision detection (can't always jump through platforms)

UPDATE:
I saw in the rules that within 48 hours of submission there was time to fix small bugs. There was a collision detection bug that was making it impossible to get through the first level. I fixed it, and re-uploaded it. I thought it would be unfair to overwrite the original game. So instead I added a second link above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#22Audio4.03
#47Mood3.90
#99Graphics4.00
#273Humor2.83
#297Overall3.47
#475Theme3.36
#514Fun3.09
#790Innovation2.84

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Really nice job on this. The bounding boxes seemed a little off on the 2nd terminal. Couldn't seem to jump high enough, was constantly falling down.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:19pm

A skip button would be nice at the start of the game because I read it faster than it fades out. The game is really well made, art and music is great! The scanners made me feel a bit cheated, I'd like a crouch or something to get around them instead of following them. Jumping on the second level was a bit iffy, am I supposed to climb on top of the rooftops? Because it only let me do that occasionally. I liked the animations and the story. I lol'd at some of the graffiti and I think that's the first game that I can actually rank for Humour. Overall really solid. I wish there was a story rank because that was great, I guess it counts as Mood?

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Amazing art dude ! I like the idea too, it reminds me like "Deux Ex : Machinima". The negative thing i would say it's that the game is very slow (not optimized but it's usual in 48 hours). In comparison, narrative seems great :).

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Awesome music! Best I've heard so far. The world this is set in is bad ass. Reminds me of those 80's post apoc movies. Love the nice art style :D

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

The game ran pretty slowly on my Surface Pro unfortunately.
The music is my favourite of any LD game so far. It really contributes to a great mood.
All the art is fantastic too.
I had some troubles with the bounding boxes too, bumping into them when trying to jump over the enemies, sometimes they would go missing seemingly.
Anyway, amazing work for 48 hours!

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I managed to speed it up quite a bit by using Chrome, and making the window smaller. I think it was just rendering too large =)

frogchildren says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice, I really dug the art audio. The straightforward Ducktales-esq game-play with a cyberpunk theme really works. broke it toward the end, but enjoyed it until then.

AndyGusto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

GREAT art, and great mood.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Cool graphics. I like it!

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Good job, some minor problems with the collision as you said but apart from that it's a really good entry. Don't forget to attach your source code.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19am

Looks great, solid animation, great music, great atmosphere! Platform collision is erratic, so couldn't play far into it. Perhaps the work done on speeding up the game also messed up some of the gameplay? Still, great work for 48 hours! (Intro, dialogue, art, gameplay in 48 hours - awesome!)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Dude this is awesome!!! I love how busy all the street ads are!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Awesome game! first time programming? holy fudge! that is sick! :D

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30am

the intro was way to long, and then after the explanation with the RFID chip terminals, the game started lagging on my computer :/ good art though!

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I'm very impressed with the gameplay, well done.

rantt says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:23am

I like the art style, and the music is really well done. Amazing job, I liked it a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]