Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GuBer Taxi

by mrspeaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's hard work Keepin' worlds connected (what with the times, and all) but you're a hard man and/or woman. Cruise around space (Arrow/WSAD), choosing available fares (keyboard 1-4, or mouse). Follow the Radar Guide, go pick up your fare and connect them with a distant world... people sure live in some weiiirrd places, I tells ya.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#13Audio4.08
#122Fun3.66
#179Humor3.08
#239Theme3.68
#269Overall3.50
#284Mood3.32
#663Innovation3.03
#695Graphics2.89

Comments

gre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49am

Epic music

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Arrgh! I've always been terrible at lander games. Personal shortcomings aside, this was a lot of fun. I love the clean look and the music is awesome. A very stylish and polished entry, just as I knew it would be (I still have fond memories of Time Flies).

jpmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great game, well polished, and with a lot of content considering the time limit. A nice take on the theme as well. Very impressive.

Only criticism is that I had a bit of trouble finding the worlds to land on, it would have been good if the radar pointed me in the direction of the pickup.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I like it very much

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Great game. I really like the gameplay. And, yeah, epic music :D

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

in the theme.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

nice game but i m so bad haha :) the physics give really a good feeling !

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23pm

It is pretty fun, I think i will play a bit more ;D

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05pm

The music is spot on, 5/5. And the fact that it goes silent on a planet and then comes back is a nice dynamic that somehow serves to reinforce its catchiness.

Thruster noise is excellent (so many games have no sound at all, but even the simplest ones can make a huge difference).

Landing at the right velocity is difficult, but I was never any good at that type of game anyway.. Maybe you could make it more lenient, but then score the player based on how gracefully they land (distance from center, velocity?)

It's a really nice twist on the concept.

A simple idea very well executed, overall very impressive.
Not much to complain about actually.

Maybe you could add more random "events" or opportunities, like maybe when you're at a planet, fares could appear by other pads, and you can go pick up multiple passengers with different destinations. Then the player would be thinking "let me just get this one last passenger.." and risk crashing for a better reward. Something like that.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Good game! I found it really funny for some reason and was almost cracking up out loud. It was very fun to play, but got old quick because it's basically the same mechanic over and over. Some graphics work would be nice too. The music was wonderful though.

Overall, good job! :)

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Well crafted take on a classic, style and charm in spades and a cracking tune to boot. noeatinginmycab/5 !

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:08pm

It's a well-polished nice little game, with fitting art good sound and great music.

The down side of a simple idea is that it becomes repetitive after a while.
To add a bit more content you could limit fuel in some way (as traditional lunar landers did) or make it cost money. That will make the choice of which fares to take a more interesting one, you might even need to remember where planets are.

Great job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

it is just a funny game that you can play for hours

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Woo! Another game about taxis! But gameplay wise very different.

Please note that you got left/right emission wrong. In reality, if you emit something bottom-left, then a force turns your bottom to the right and you turn counterclock wise and vice versa...

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

Very fun, and I like the music. Not really sure if I am progressing through the game though, or what my actual goal is. But maybe that doesn't matter, because it is fun :)

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

instant classic!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45am

I love the idea of space taxi! Unfortunately the momentum controls and slow turning made navigating in space a bit less fun than it could have been.

I'm also bad at lander games, and it was way too easy to kill yourself even on the target platform because you were moving slightly too fast or something. I think if there were less focus on the fiddly lander mechanics and more focus on the taxi dispatch missions and so forth, it could be a lot of fun!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice Game

Ps: My Game should be fixed!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

The idea is interesting but the more interesting part is landing and taking off planets.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Tricky. Excellent game. Solid mechanics, well polished, great music. Nice take on the theme.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12pm

nice! i drowned almost 30min in this game haha

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

hahaha epic game! the controls were a bit dogfishy XD neat graphics, catchy audio and great gameplay, the space crazy taxi! great job!!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:32am

great concept, well done

Homletmoo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Very fun and great audio too. I love the lunar lander mechanic - I just wish there could have been more tricky pads!

Manou says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Interesting concept.

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Quite nice lunar landing game. I liked the music, when it played but it felt a little empty at times when it was not playing. It could definitely become something with a little more effects that help give you the feeling of swooshing through space and planets having more individual character. It is a good start though!

rjhelms says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Are all the planets named after beers? Awesome.

Good audio design, and fun idea. My only criticism is the controls while landing and taking off felt a little sluggish.

barryrowe says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:44am

The music is great. I also like that there are two games in one here. Controls are well implemented. Good concept, well executed.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Gotta love the Lunar Lander influences. Great music too :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]