Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Corponnected Ltd.

by Wan - Jam Entry

----[ THE GAME ]----

Manage your global company and conquer the world, by building and improving factories. Make enough money to launch a space rocket and assert your dominance over the world!

TIPS
- Don't start with a Wheat factory, it's a bit difficult to make benefits with the initial 100 coins.
- Pay attention to building "ranges": if a worker does nothing, maybe its source building is just unreachable (not in the blue tiles).
- Recruiting additional workers for a building is often a good way to optimize your factory!

ISSUES
- The Pebble Truck description is wrong. It should read: "Prevents the Breaker from being blocked by accumulating too much waste. Can gather up to 50 Pebbles."
- Taxes are mostly useless, we simply forgot to balance them :)

----[ ABOUT ]----

THE TEAM
- Guillaume (code, contents)
- Manu (code, contents)
- Wan (code, custom graphics, music)

OUR TAKE ON THE THEME
We chose to mage a strategy game with some subtle focus on how things are connected in businesses: workers and machines depend on other tasks to achieve their work, and markets depend on each other to achieve more complex products. All of these are interlinked "worlds" that lead up to awesome things like getting rockets to space, and less awesome things such as huge, dehumanized companies only led by profit.

HOMEMADE/NOT HOMEMADE
Our team of 3 made all code from this game during the jam (powered by Phaser.JS). A good part of the graphic assets though was taken and adapted from existing sources ; most of them are in the public domain (thanks OpenClipart!), and all are under a permissive license.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#12Fun(Jam)4.17
#14Overall(Jam)4.19
#98Mood(Jam)3.75
#102Humor(Jam)3.33
#109Innovation(Jam)3.61
#236Graphics(Jam)3.74
#236Audio(Jam)3.38
#356Theme(Jam)3.22

Comments

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I really like it so far! Good luck!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Fun game! Very funny too!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28pm

+music
+theme
-radius connection (visual)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

5/5 game, i played for so much time

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Amazing Interface and very fun to play. I spent half an hour playing it.! :D

arhpositive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I would've definitely finished this game if there weren't so many games to spend time with. It's the most content I've seen in a Ludum Dare game so far. Many different factory types, all of them different in some way. I've managed to try five different types of factories and it was a cool feeling to design slightly different for each of them.

That being said, I feel like the game could've been more challenging if there were some kind of a failure condition. This way it just feels a little sandbox-y. (unless there's a time constraint I'm not aware of)

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really awesome entry. 20m just poof like that. Thankfully my empire of potato salad flour and oil was enough to rocket my octopus off into spaceeeeee. +1 for addicting gameplay and badass beats. :D

TowelKing says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I played through the whole game and enjoyed every minute of it. Each factory setup brought a unique strategy and I liked figuring out where bottlenecks were through the fast forward feature which let me tinker and optimize to my hearts content. Great Job!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58pm

So addictive, great job !!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50am

The game is really fun. I miss a little tools for allowing building a lot of the same stuff at the same time. For example populating the whole area with trees when you have money for them is quite annoying. Nonetheless I'm impressed with what you've created. Great job :)

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Wow, this is very impressive. Had to really think about how to make even wheat profitable. More workers! MORE! :D

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Great game, quite addictive and interesting to play

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Great game with in-depth content and nice graphics + music!

snowyowl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

The Pebble Truck in the Iron factories has the wrong description. I'm not sure how it's supposed to be used.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:41pm

@snowyowl: Thanks for pointing this out. The description should be "Prevents the Breaker from being blocked by accumulating too much waste. Can gather up to 50 Pebbles."

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Excellent game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Very compelling and very addictive with quite a bit of polish; once I started playing I couldn't stop until I beat it. There doesn't seem to be any way to fail other than to go bankrupt but that's easy once you get the hang of it; I think a time limit would be cool because it would force you to optimize your factories. On Linux+Firefox I didn't hear any music. Otherwise loved it.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I played this actually for a long time, and probably will again :) It's one of these games with a simple mechanic that just works, I love the row-based production planning mode!

Oana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I find it quite fun to figure out the best pattern for every factory type.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Great fun. Gets a little repetitive, but very enjoyable

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Bookmarked and will definitely be playing again. This is super addicting and really well done. Simple, but enough 'depth' to keep me interested, I can easily see myself paying for a full version, excellent job!

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:50pm

It was so easy with the apples to start, I could not make profit on anything else :D
Nice game, well done!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Cool, very intricate!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Really fun game, spent far longer on it than I intended to lol
The dudes in orange jump suits look like convicts, especially the rock breaking ones lol
I especially liked the ability to retry your factory set ups before committing and trying to eke out the maximum profit, really tickled the min/max optimiser in me. Over worked lazy employees be damned lol

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:23am

a lot of content here, really in depth!
Great gameplay

t4u says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:47am

I didn't find it as addictive as I firstly thought I would. Really nice graphics. The game tries to explain to player what is happening on the screen(some games forget it leaving player clueless).

+1 to innovation for being able to simulate, in most business games you are forced to learn on your mistakes.

I don't like the way the idea is treated. As topic was connected worlds - worlds in plural. Globalization is much more about single world being able to connect as whole.

Much love for the Octopus :3

AccountNo17 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:58pm

This game took more of my time than any other of the games. Very replayable, very long fun.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very complex and intricate, it feels like other business games I have played before. Keep developing it, would love to play a more polished version. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]