Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Worldly Duke

by Pitzik4 - Jam Entry

The story of a purple-headed duke who travels through the multiverse.
Note: If the first anchor doesn't work the first time, try it again! The other ones should work the first time. Also, press F11 for fullscreen!
This game was made by three people: Pitzik4, misson20000, and Jiml. Good job, everyone! And you, too, reader! ;)
A Flash build is coming, and possibly a Mac build, too.

You can use WASD or the Arrow Keys to move, and Escape to skip the splash screen/intro cutscene

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

Pretty fun game, graphics were nice and looked nice and simple. The only issue I had was that some sign text appeared on top of eachother,and on some worlds you could still see signs from the previous world adn the text would be on top of blocks which looked messy. Still a good entry :D

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

Game ran fine on Linux. Graphics were nice, and I was impressed by the amount of content :)
The music and audio was good overall but I really didn't like the music from the first world, I found it to be a bit annoying and it was too repetitive.
One bug I found was I couldn't manage to zoom back in once I had zoomed out, and also the anchor interaction thing as mentioned in the submission.
The text from the signs could overlap when you stood in certain locations making it hard to read.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Zooming out all the way was an unexpected surprise feature. Connected world theme implementation was somewhat heavyweight gameplay-wise, but it works.

mclewis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:18am

Want to let you know that I put up a Linux build of my game as per your request. Your game had some great looking art and animations! I started infinitely falling a few minutes in though.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Music and mood are cool. %)

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:12am

Nice OOTS art style ;). The animation was really smooth, kinda wondering how you did it.

I managed to fall out of the world by going through the first door after the music change, then going back through it.

Jaloko says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice music, cool concepts.

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:04am

(Posting as Pitzik4.)
BMacIntosh: Thanks. Although OotS wasn't a direct influence on the style, I did notice the similarity. The animation was done in Synfig. This game uses an engine I made before the Jam, and I also wrote a Python script that converts .sifz files to my custom animation format. I'm especially glad you like the animations, because this engine is also being used in my first big project, Spanner in the Works.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]