Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aurum

by Ralkarin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aurum is a game about 2 different views of the same world where interaction in 1 player's world impacts the other player's world. Some elements are only visible to the player (houses and flowers), but are still affected by the other player's actions.

Consider Hosting and waiting if there are no available games! Or simply play solo, but you won't experience the "connected worlds" theme in solo mode.

Objective: Plant 3 golden trees
1) Plant flowers
2) Push ground next to flowers to grow trees
3) 6 trees around flower = golden tree

Controls
--------
LMB - Plant, Push, Build
1/2/3 - Change Action
A/D - Rotate Planet


Update! I just enabled the solo mode in case you don't want to wait for a game to join, just so you can get a feel for the mechanics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#50Innovation4.03
#329Graphics3.47
#339Overall3.42
#348Theme3.53
#498Humor2.41
#582Mood2.96
#651Fun2.93
#868Audio2.00

Comments

lonewookie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Awesome idea. Once I figured out what was going on, it was a lot of fun to try and defeat the other player!

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool little game, I haven't play multiplayer yet, but one thing that you could add is ability to move the planet more freerly maybe even zoom on things. Overall a very solid game.

Ralkarin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

Thanks for the feedback!

@lonewookie! Conveying rules in these kind of games can be challenging, especially with the time constraint. Glad you like the idea! :)

@fallingBear! I'm glad I re-enabled local test mode! Multiplayer games in a compo like this are hard to coordinate, but it adds some fun and new mechanics (like popping trees out)! I totally have the script in game to orbit and zoom on the planet, but I disabled it at the last minute because the controls just weren't quite there. Needed more time. :)

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

This is a really fun game! Great idea! Took me a minute to figure it out but once I did it was a lot of fun.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:08pm

WOW, now that's innovation! Incredibly huge in scope for a Ludum Dare game and not bad execution! :D

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00am

Haha all it needs now is little gnomes to walk around and explore the planet!

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02am

sad it isn't working for me :(

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10am

That was really well executed! It would be cool if I could rotate the planet in all directions though. Very innovative and this can definitely be expanded to have many more things to build! Great job!

smizmeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

Hey, I won! I like the incremental nature of the game. Nice idea.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really neat idea! I'm a sucker for anything pertaining to planets, so you've got my vote. :) Was unable to host a game for some reason, and waited around for someone else to host - no luck. Definitely got a sense of the how the gameplay would work from the solo mode though, good idea oputting that in.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

A cool take on the theme! Playing at a place where I can't play online, but it was fun to terraform the planet to look pretty :)

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

YEAH! I arrived on Aurum! (it's a metaphor to Autumn?)
For what matter the house?
And a sound would be great!
The puzzle is really simple :/

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Loved the physics, and mechanics, but I only had to play solo though, at least I could have played solo with a cpu/npc? D:

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:33am

I can't test the multiplayer part, but even the solo part is fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]