Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ink Motes

by aeveis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple puzzle game involving these ink motes. You, the player, are connecting them together. They seem to be very happy together.

Tools used:
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Haxeflixel
Art: Gimp
Sound/Music: OpenMPT

Controls: Mouse
"Secret" Controls: R-Reset []-skip levels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Overall3.87
#61Fun3.83
#110Innovation3.87
#118Mood3.62
#131Humor3.25
#213Audio3.32
#273Graphics3.57
#687Theme3.07
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

One of my favorites so far - simple, challenging, and I love the art style!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Interesting vision: connect and rule!

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Great puzzle game!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04am

Really cute - love the animation and art style. Nice entry!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:09am

AWESOME GAME, excellent job, loved it!
Put 100 levels on this and it could easily be a commercial mobile game.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:45am

Nice game! Loved the lines showing the past moves. The level 18 almost defeated me, but I beat the game.:)

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Adorable, great concept, simple and fun. Good work!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Nice little puzzle game. Would work very well as a mobile game too. Quite addictive as well.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

nice puzzle game :)

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

My favorite so far. I'm stuck on level 18 and have to sleep. Darn sleep. The background track gets very annoying after playing for a long time; consider swapping for something zen-like. The chirpy motes are cute.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Sleep is over-rated. I came back and finished the game. :)

mklee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Very cute game! Mechanic is simple, but nice and there's some nice challenge with the puzzles. Great job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

Very nice puzzle game. Easy to learn, but hard to master. I don't even know how you could have come up with those levels without a ton of trial an error. Nice job.

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

i beat the game! :) good job, solid entry.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Love the wee faces on the ink motes, and this is actually a pretty clever puzzler. Well done!

jonask says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

A solid entry!

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Really fantastic game! I got stuck on lvl18... couldn't figure out how to include one of the mites in the lower right. Feels much Totoro-inspired in the mites in a good way. I'd don't have much I critique other than getting stuck on that level :) A favorite so far!

psychonull says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Awesome. I had a lot of fun, and also enjoyed the art style and every little detail such as the motes' smiles. Good job on the difficulty progression as well.

OadT says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Cute graphics and nice concept. I just got a small bug when two moving balls collide another, standing ball. Apart from that nice game :)

AccountNo17 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Hah, this is kind of cute!

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:01am

This worked surprisingly well, and had lovely visuals. Glad i found this on my last-minute rating-tour.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]