Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sender

by toranoko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**Chrome users** if you're having trouble downloading LD games, turn off anti-phishing and malware, in advance settings.

Instructions
Seal off all portals with fully charged sealing blocks. And kill the remaining gelatins to make progress.

Arrows - movement
Space - jump
R - Restart Level
F - to fire. fight off the invading gelatins
D - Energize blocks. collect energy from fallen gelatins to power sealing blocks
S - to pull Sealing blocks. Move Sealing blocks over the gelatin portals.

*post jam version*
Mostly balance fixes:
-monsters have a jump cooldown, so they are easier to hit
-you can now jump off blocks
-starting enemies have been removed
-portals can only generated a set amount of monsters
-floor 2 level design fix

keo @ idiotson.tumblr.com | vagantegame.com (kickstarter)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Graphics4.42
#411Mood3.16
#555Overall3.21
#668Fun2.91
#891Innovation2.70
#991Theme2.50
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

vicious_br says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

Excellent game, very exciting. I think the screen should not shake when the shot hits it.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Can't play windows games. :-(

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Chrome refuses to allow me to downloading it, stating that it is malicious.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

Turned off the chrome setting and played it. Pretty enjoyable, and I like the graphics.

Nsmurf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26am

Fun :D
There's a bug where you press up at the top of a ladder for a while then press space, you'll jump super high...

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Turned off Chrome's malware detection and checked with two standalone app (Avast, Microsoft Security Essentials). It looks good. The game itself looks absolutely beautiful, and I like the concept (farming the gelatins for energy to seal them away). Physics glitched out on me a couple of times, with the blocks getting stuck/unwilling to move. I also found behavior at the top of a ladder to be a little unintuitive - maybe make the character auto-jump?

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

read the title as Slender at first, was kinda excited to see a 2d version of that :p .
Anyways, looks cool, but Chrome is giving me a warning that it's malicious

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

I definitely underestimated the damn gelatins..
Awesome enemy AI I guess :D
Very challenging, I need to keep trying.

toranoko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

thanks everyone for the feedback.
There's a level design bug in level two, also a mechanical bug, where the player can't scramble upwards.
@theholychicken, :) the enemy ai was pretty simple, if player is above me jump, but because the shooting kicks the player up a little bit, they end up dodging :P
@hyouko, yea I had other things to worry about then fishing for passwords w/e : ) The auto-jump is a good suggestion, I'll see how it plays.
@nsmurf thanks for the find, I was wondering how that happened.

Added a disclaimer for chrome users.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11am

I loved the graphics, specially the main characters. Though enemies were a bit frustrating; not hard but annoying and frustrating.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:14am

I knew the art style was familiar. I've seen Vagante on TiG forums, looking great, good luck with the kickstarter campaign!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

Cool game, nice concept and the pixel art is great. Little rough around the edges, but that's understandable. Controls take some time to get used to and the game is pretty difficult because the enemies are quick and tiny and your bullets are small.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

I like the dark moody graphics :)

Geti says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

Liked the graphics but the controls were super frustrating, I couldn't do "what I wanted to" a lot of the time (jumping off blocks or shooting enemies being the major culprits). Interesting concept.

toranoko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

@Geti forgot to parent the block to an object. Fixed in the Post Jam version

Uploaded some quick fixes I didn't get around to during the jam, in the post-jam version:
-monsters have a jump cooldown, so they are easier to hit
-you can now jump off blocks
-starting enemies have been removed
-portals can only generated a set amount of monsters
-floor 2 level design fix

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

Parts of this were really great, such as the pixel art and the feel of the game while shooting. Especially cool was the feature that when you shoot blocks, they slide away and crush monsters. However the monsters were really annoying at times and often just so difficult to avoid that it got really frustrating. Also I wish it had music, just because it would be even better with that. Still a really great entry!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

The art style here is superb. I think the movement and combat feels a little floaty, but everything seems to work as it should, and this is overall pretty fun.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Found the controls a bit awkward, and the enemies too jumpy, but graphics & animation are excellent.

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24am

Very challenging. I played for ever but couldn't beat the first level. I really enjoyed it though. I liked the world design too!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54am

Awesome graphics and a really nice crunchy feel to the combat. The little jellies are really cute until they start jumping all over you! Good work.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Great art and was quite fun to play and pass the time. Did notice a bug where some of the blobs would jump up from a lower floor and then would just stay floating against the roof.

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Very nice pixelart style!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Great graphics/animation!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Really love the character design. Great Pixels. We did slimes coming out of portals too ^-^

Tom 7 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:56am

I liked the graphics the best. The basic idea is good too, though I think some of the roughness makes it too hard in a way that just feels unfair. For example, sometimes the blue monsters that jump pile up in some hole and you can't go down there without taking damage. Sometimes monsters push blocks off ledges in parts of the level you can't even see, and then you can't ever get them back up. Looks like you addressed some of these in the jam version, though. :) Physics around walls seemed a bit odd, and climbing up into the bottom of a block kills you. But, I did enjoy it and tried my hardest to beat level 2 even though it seemed stacked against me!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]