About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 6 hours, 0 minutes, 7 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 6 hours, 12 minutes, 7 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 7 hours, 0 minutes, 7 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Antbassador - KevinZuhn - Jam Entry

    Today is the day The Antbassador will come, to speak words of peace with Her Majesty Queen Antoinette IV. The Kingdom of Antopia has finally grown accustomed to a life without war, and its people are willing to forge an alliance with their one-time foe. If The Antbassador is good and kind, he might well see their worlds connected.

    Controls:
    Move the mouse to push yourself here and there.
    Click the mouse to curl your finger.

    Thank you for checking out Antbassador! Please leave a comment if you have any questions or comments, or tweet me if you make a video or review!

    Our Team:
    Kevin Zuhn (@KevinZuhn)
    Kevin Geisler (@luthyr)
    Chris Stallman (@ChrisStallman)
    Devon Scott-Tunkin (@devonsoft)

    If you are having problems running the game, you may need to run the DirectX Updater:
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

    Please check the README file for more information!

    View KevinZuhn's journal. | View all entries by KevinZuhn

    Ratings

    Humor(Jam)4.68
    Fun(Jam)4.36
    Overall(Jam)4.52
    Innovation(Jam)4.55
    Coolness70%
    Graphics(Jam)4.78
    #16Mood(Jam)4.17
    #41Audio(Jam)3.97
    #72Theme(Jam)3.84

    Comments

    Fish says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45pm

    The part where the 2 ants are fighting and you have to knock their hats of, if you fail and kill an ant the hand becomes invisible. But i really love the concept of the game!

    ClutchNachos says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57pm

    I don't know how to describe this, other than I love it. Exactly the humor and crazy game play I've loved from you guys before. Great work :D

    PixelFeet says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:51am

    Well done! This is a really great game. Its charming, hilarious, its a good story that pulls you in the minute you open it up. I also really enjoyed the challenge of the game, the mechanics were quite impressive.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

    Fantastic game! You should be happy you made it.
    Just too short and a bit rough on the controls.

    megaelliott says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

    I really enjoyed this as short as it was. This so charming and the use of the theme was truly great. The game plays quite well although the controls area little bit fiddly but that also kind of makes it fun.

    Some of the most fun I've had on a Ludum Dare game, you should be proud of what you have achieved :)

    Lokarunith says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49am

    Ahahaha, great entry, The concept is fantastic, it's short concise, and quite funny, I'll have to show it to my friends

    monsterkillu says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59am

    Is the link working ?? Cannot find webpage ?

    Robotic says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04pm

    That was hilarious, thank you.

    matheod says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

    Ahah this was so funny ! To bad it was to short :p

    lukz says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12pm

    First time I'm running game: Loading, settings, pause - they put a lot of work into that. Next I'm staring, and look and feel of the hand is amazing! That game is so polished!

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:21pm

    ajjjjhhhhhhhhhhh

    StrideWide says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

    This was awesome, I love it!

    DaGamesta says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

    This was just fantastic! Hands down the best game of this jam. Way to go!

    danielbw says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:57pm

    Great game, I wanted to play this ever since I saw the development printscreen you guys posted. Good job!

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

    Forsooth this game is hilarious. Blessings be upon thee!

    Boberro says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

    Wow. Very solid, very clean.
    One problem I had was with my controller (non xbone) - it detects it, and axes are working, but any button crashes the game.

    PAMVllo says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

    The art style of the game reminds me to Octododad, good!

    Greg Klein says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53am

    Excellent work. It's always refreshing when a game makes you laugh.

    mcapraro says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:02am

    i am blown away by this, well done! you and your team really created something unique, witty, and fun. great job!

    i did have an issue where some of the textures were just white (the whole hand was white for me, no colors or textures at all)

    MrSylar59 says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44am

    Same problem as Fish : the hand becomes invisible so it's hard to finish the game. But this game is amazing, so fun x')

    liquidminduk says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

    very unique style of gameplay, frustrating, but in a good way
    Love the visuals, I really wanted to see more and explore more

    Top marks from me!

    Jakub Koziol says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

    You have some kind of soft spot for awkward movement simulators, don't you?
    Anyway great job! The whole thing feels awesome as a whole. And the humor... I'm still laughing. :D

    Njord says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

    I really love the concept. There are a few bugs here and there but playing a finger and try not to smash ants is awesome !!! Congrats

    ponk says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

    *_* !!
    Incredible amount of talented work!
    Super fun awesome great game

    Jishenaz says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

    Lovely game. The arm's gravity was a little hard to control, but I made it to the end. Nice graphics and dialogue.

    NickZangus says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

    Absolutely amazing! This game have to win!

    Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

    Wow wow wow.. AMAZING work, we can clearly see your professionalism.
    Your concept his awesome, the challenges too.
    This got humor, innovation, graphics/audios, everything ! 5/5 overall !

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

    I knew from the moment I saw the screenshots that this was an awesome game, and I wasn't let down.

    2HitMatt says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

    This is exactly what I needed to play today. Thank you :D

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:05am

    Love the premise. :D But damn if it wasn't really hard to control. Graphics were superb and the humor was top notch. Great entry :)

    TeamEagle says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

    Very cool idea, the hand is a bit hard to control but still very fun to mess around.

    A bit short though :)

    Kayelgee says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

    Great game. I just love it :D

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

    I had to replay a dozein time just because I love the noise crushed ants make. :3

    Crefossus says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

    A little bit too frustrating, but extremely hilarious the entire ride. I was blown away by the graphics and menus.

    dunin says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

    I like the atmosphere and the hat function... clever.

    hb3p8 says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

    Fun and unusual gameplay, so I want more levels! I really enjoyed the game. Also very cute ants. Nice work!

    LeafThief says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

    Had a laugh with this. Thank you :D

    chadiik says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

    You made me kill an ant!
    I loved this game, great potential with a bit work on the controls :)

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:44am

    One of the most creative games I've played so far this LD. Loved the concept and the visuals work so well. Did find it at times a bit difficult to control the hand but definitely a game I would play again if the controls were tightened some more. Great entry.

    hadesfury says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:04am

    GReat game

    Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:31pm

    It was fun...until my screen kept witching between the game and my desktop. I guess my computer is too shitty to handle those ants ?

    davisan says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:22pm

    Very well done! Loved the visuals and music.

    Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:32am

    That was really darn good.

    runvs says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:32pm

    It was really hard to knock the hats off! :D

    Great game, I really enjoyed it!

    NicePenguins says ...
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:06am

    OMG, I don't know how you came up with an idea like this but that's genius ! The octodad-like physic was a clever way to put some Gameplay in the game. Congratulations !

    apiotrw says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:58pm

    Awesome. IMO the best Jam entry

    Teejay5 says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:22pm

    cant handle the ant puns hahahaha THIS IS SO LOVELY. also Hi luthyr!!

    LizixofxNod says ...
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 9:21pm

    I can't start the game because it says I'm missing something that's in the folder. Help?

    LizixofxNod says ...
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 9:23pm

    False alarm, I just had to extract the files. :D

    Pancakez says ...
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 1:51am

    I cant find out how to download the game

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]