Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starcrossed

by Decept404 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Endless runner/platformer tasking you with passing communication back and forth between two entities trapped on separate, hostile worlds.

Arrow keys left/right control both characters.
Up/down jump each character independently.
Spacebar throws a letter.

Successfully passing the letter bumps the score multiplier.
Enemies appear and must be jumped, or struck with the letter for a 5x multiplier bump. Occasionally, checkpoints appear, which the letter cannot be carried across, but thrown.

Online version uses scoreoid for tracking a global high score. This single line of code is omitted from the Github repo to avoid sharing api keys.

Built with Haxe3 and Flash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Innovation3.67
#223Fun3.48
#248Overall3.54
#255Theme3.67
#284Mood3.32
#385Graphics3.37
#714Audio2.40
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

This is well-made but very difficult to do two things at once while also catching the letter! If you ever update it, adding WASD as a second option in addition to arrow keys would be super helpful. :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25am

Nice job! I love the way this works, and the concept :)

Decept404 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

Thanks guys! I've got several things I'd like to update here but I don't know if adding stuff like WASD breaks the rules.
Also some players have reported poor performance in Chrome :/ Alternative browsers may help, or running the SWF directly (I added a download link to the html).

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

Greatly well-made, there needs to be a curve for difficulty thought, but it was really well done. I liked the overall concept and the theme relation is awesome!

SirJson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

It's a bit too hard at the beginning

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

This is clever! I really like the letter-passing idea.

Decept404 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I really agree on the difficulty curve. I have a development version that goes into solving that with scaling enemy spawns so they allow you easier passage of the checkpoints early on :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I love the idea, and the different color schemes looked great! I'm awful at doing two things at once, but I managed to make it across a few checkpoints!

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45am

There were a lot of games with this general take on the theme, and so far this one is by far my favorite. The multiple things to worry about combined with great tuning for difficulty made it a lot of fun for me. Great all around!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

Addicting, but hard life something else!

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really nice to look at, as others I struggled at first with it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really nice game, but is a bit challenging - I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/_ZcQE6pTBcc

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Loved the concept :)
I found it hard to keep the checkpoint throwing in mind at the same time as I was jumping over enemies on both sides, but found it very rewarding once I started to get the hang of it.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:00am

Love the innovation and a really fun game! One of the best games I've rated so far and I've rated 100. Great job!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:54am

Nice but quite difficult. I think that a fixed level design would have help the player getting better by at least learning good timing.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:02pm

The way characters jump feel a bit 'floaty', so it made the controls feel unresponsive.

The letter-catching mechanism is actually a really neat idea, good find

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Interesting! Quite difficult, however.

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice game, congrats!

sephyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:09am

Very interesting concept and playability.
A bit difficult maybe: I wasn't able to jump over the checkpoint. '^^

Xanjos says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Controls were a bit hard to get used to at first but this was a very fun entry to play and a really cool take on the endless runner genre. I actually like how you can risk literally playing hot potato with the letter to build up your multiplier (and possibly end up getting hit by an obstacle or drop the letter) or decide to play it safe and only throw when you're about to pass a checkpoint.

Decept404 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Thank you so much for all the feedback guys :) I have a dev version that implements a lot of fixes to issues, specifically things like difficulty ramp and so forth.

As for the jump floatiness it's a tough one to balance. I've had really short sharp jumps before but for as long as a character is on the ground, it is at risk. I decided being able to float one character while checking on the other made for less painful play. Of course, it's subjective.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:04pm

The idea sounded fun, too bad it's so hard right from the beginning...

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:22pm

CURSE YOU THIS IS DIFFICULT but fun! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]