Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DINO BOLT

by GeorgeBroussard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a dinosaur running from time-traveling zookeepers as worlds connect. Dodge obstacles or be captured. Run as long and far as you can.

CONTROLS: Left/Right keys to move.

POSTMORTEM: http://pastebin.com/VAKVWmTj

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#45Fun3.90
#79Humor3.44
#102Overall3.77
#126Graphics3.93
#170Audio3.42
#264Mood3.34
#934Theme2.63
#953Innovation2.58

Comments

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

Clean, polished and fun! My best is 57 so far, love that you still have another shot if you hit something, in the form of the dinosaur left behind. It just plays so smooth.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28am

So much fun! I was playing this instead of working on my own game today. :)

ireeenuey says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

Really nice, and the dinosaurs are adorable. Good sound, too.

mrwillowb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

where is the source?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:15am

I love the retro feel of this game with the graphics and sound. The tension in the game is perfect :)

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

Feels great to play. I love the sound track and the sprites are nice.

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

Loads of fun with a Flappy Bird style addiction factor. I loved the music and the little comments after you get caught. I played it for a long time but won't say my top score because it's embarrassing! :D

An excellent, polished entry.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

@mrwillowb - source is up. sorry about that. i uploaded game and went to bed after a 24 session :) I took the time to comment the source pretty well for those that care.

@MerlijnVH. @RegularSlinky, @mike_71Squared - thanks for hanging out in the Steam guys. Got me through the dark times :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Cute little graphics.
Jurassic Park vibes...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39pm

This was a great game. Added to my favorites. Great Job.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31am

Well done George, your game is really good. I like that the background and the music change, its a nice touch. You came up with a simple idea and then took it that extra mile. Well done sir, well done!

saampahlavan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice simple fun and well polished.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

This is lovely! the snap-back-to-middle-movement is fun, as are the double-dinos. I get a "survive together" vibe from this, but sometimes it feels like a extra-life ;P

Alos nice tough to have several level-backgrounds, makes this much less repetitive

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

Pretty simple, but quite polished for what it is.
Graphics are excellent, sounds are nice.

I like how the dinos move smoothly back and forth, and the fact that you have 2 of them is a nice touch.

I usually try to come up with some (constructive) criticism in my comments, but this game has quite a narrow scope and is very polished as I said, so I'm finding it difficult.

Having to move my hand back to the mouse to restart and then to the arrows again is kind of a drag I guess? But it's not really a huge thing.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

@Steve You can press space to restart, too. Just didn't want to clutter the screen with tips. In the end, it also should have been a 1 press to restart, vs 2, but my menu code is a mess and ran out of time. Thanks for playing.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Very polished and fun. Great job! :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Really cute entry, and the gameplay is *super* smooth. Makes up for how deceivingly difficult it is ;)

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43pm

So fun! Great job George, loved it :) Really cool mechanic with multiple dinosaurs

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I would have really liked it if when you have to triceratops they couldn't fit on the same side of some obstacles so you had to push both left and right to split them up.

A solid game. Great job

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A really fun and well polished little game! I really like the dino animations and that you get two points while you have two dinos. And the helicopter flyby was a nice touch. :)

I guess that "Your days or playing with..." probably should be "...of playing...". :)

My best score so far is 38.

Well done! :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

This game is giving me anxiety! Haha I was so jumpy while playing because the obstacles came so fast.

I appreciate all the work that went into the polish that people don't always realize - bouncy graphics, tweens, etc. It was a simple concept but executed in a really clean way. I also liked the dino sprites!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice game- Very polished and played very smoothly. I liked the graphics as werll.
The idea of loosing a dinosaur if you hit something, and that it affects the score is awesome. It was slightly addictive, and I might play it again :P

Good job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:15am

That was fun!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34am

Thanks for the Linux build! Game was fun, I liked the changing music.
~funkeh

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

@Chikun: Cool. Glad the Linux build worked. Will do it from now on. Literally takes 2 mins start to finish. Everyone in Unity should do it.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:02am

Really well executed - great control feel and super addictive. The double dinos and auto-centering are very nice touches. Great work George!

steve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nicely polished, loved the graphics, frustrating in a very flappy bird way! Surprised to read that you stayed up another 10 hours after you stopped streaming, you sounded well tired when you logged off, that's dedication!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Excellent game ! Very challenging. Do you plan to release a mobile version ?

whilefun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Really great, polished entry. I presume this will be landing on mobile at some point. My best score is 32 so far, but I reckon I'll be returning to this later.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Really nice game, snappy movement and good sound. My top was 31. I liked the randomised elements!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Took me a while to realise why you had two 'till I clipped an edge - interesting take :p Best was only 40 though. Surprisingly difficult little runner!

radmars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nice, I like the random level variety and how losing one of them makes the difficulty kind of self-balancing. & +1 for "life finds a way" :D

Raphy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice execution, overall a nice and clean game with good polish. I found the controls a bit weird at first though, but with time it's get better.

Nice job!

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Wow, you clearly gained a few levels in pixel art, well done! I liked a lot the scoring system with 1-2 dinos, very good idea :)

I think would have prefered a control scheme without the "auto-center" thing.

My best score is 18, I totally suck at reflex games!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

FlappyBird-esque mood, used in a good way!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Excellent job! Everything here felt quite polished. I expect to see this on the app store soon! Also, reading your postmortem was a nice experience, thanks for writing all that up!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

The 2-dino mechanic really makes this stick out over other games this type. Works very well.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Really great game. I enjoy the triceratops hitting the wall animation very much

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Cracking good pixel art and a fun game. Definitely has the one more go factor, and as I'm typing this my wife is asking, no DEMANDING even, another go. As I value my life, I....

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Very nicely done. I like how the dinos return to center. The connection to the theme is clever :)

Really great presentation overall.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:35am

Simple and addictive :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:46am

Excellent job overall although the theme felt a little forced. Extremely fun although not too innovative.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:05am

Nice game, fun universe, loved it!

pythong says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:39am

soooo....swi...err...dino copters? :D

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

Classic gameplay , fun and well polished, controls are really pleasent. Not so innovating at all.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

Very nice game ! I'm very impressed by the finition detail and the polishing, they are impeccable.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Fun solid game, loved it!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Fun and simple. Great art & animation. Fun concept. Would be perfect for mobile (which I think you already know :) ) I like how there are two dinos, so you have a second chance! Solid entry!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I want this on my phone! :D such an addictive game, keeps me playing for longer than I anticipated. Great work!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I like it, and I kept playing again to try and beat my highscore. You should make this available for android, I would install it!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Simple to understand, easy to play, difficult to master. I like it. :)

Charlie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice game, George. I need this on my phone haha. BTW, it works on Linux!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Short, fun and a little addictive. The polish does a whole lot for it - even though I should feel bad I can't help but smile each time I accidentally bump into an obstacle pretty much right at the start and my companion goes flying.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Fun little game, love the dino hit reactions and addictive difficult gameplay. Maybe it makes more sense if you get further but I don't quite get the connection to the theme.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Nice game! Very polished. More fun than a barrel of monkeys. Got 50 points.

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

Tough, but found it to be very enjoyable!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:08am

Good fun and well polished! The only gripe I have, is the sound of passing a wall. It got really annoying. Otherwise it was good, simple fun that might work well on mobile! Well done!
Joona @MooseflyGames

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

That's a really clever take on the infinite runner genre. The fact that you score double with both dinosaurs makes it really interesting. If it'd hit the Playstore/AppStore I'm sure it'd reach its audience!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07am

I am not sure there is a link to the theme (unless there is a victory screen? I totally suck at those games and couldn't get more than 20)

The way you allow the player to have one "extra life" with the second dino is really clever.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Very polished, I could see this being a success on a mobile platform. (confirmed working on linux mint, 64 bit)

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice, got me hooked haha! At first I thought it moved a bit fast, but I actually think you got the difficulty perfect. Oh and the sound effects drive my dog crazy xD

hadesfury says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:39am

My best is 32 ... Quite addictive :D and well polished

SoulGame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Very well made, clean, polished and handy. Impressive 48h entry. Love the simple idea that if both dino are alive you gain double points.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Dinosaurs are awesome !

...that's all I have to say

YopSolo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:25pm

cool music/sfx !

samooJAM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Clever idea to use double rhinos. Gfx feels good. Controls feel good (I like how it resets to center). I don't feel the theme. Too easy game for this genre.
Good enough to further develop it. Good job!

samooJAM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:11pm

and I meant dinos, not rhinos :D

tbam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really solid gameplay, difficulty is just about perfect.

ehtd says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:50am

Good game but felt too flappy bird for my taste

sephyka says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:23pm

My best score is 40. Very stressfull scrolling speed at the end. Good polished game.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:45am

Very clean graphics! Like the game Dextris, very fun! Good job!

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:20am

It may not be very innovative, but really fun to play!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Yet another flappy bird...Good execution though

bob_fish says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:07am

This was really addictive and fun! Great audio and sounds/music as well. Really good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Fun little game. Simple and challenging but I feel the theme was not very present in the core of the game,

AlexDJones says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

A great entry, really simple and addictive gameplay with well made sound and graphics. It's also probably the most polished entry I've played so far - it doesn't look like it was made in two days! Well done! :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

@AlexDJones: Thanks! The simplicity is what led to it being able to be done in 2 days with polish :)

McFunkypants says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Such a lovely POLISHED entry. So slick and smooth and playable. Fantastic job. Really impressive.

recursor says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:14am

The auto-generated music is not so good, but the game itself is great. I really like the idea of having the 2 dinos scoring 2x points. It reminds me of flappy bird, but on the ground and with some cool gameplay additions. Well done.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Cool graphics, it has a style that hangs together really well. I think it was an inspired decision to use the 2 dinosaurs to allow for essentially a second life. Very nice polished little game

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Cute game. seems to be made with mobile in mind :)

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Super cute game, well done. I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Pretty little game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]