Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gem Worlds

by Weaver - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: If you're getting a msvcr120.dll not found error please install this
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 You want the vcredist_x86.exe as this is a 32 bit application.

Roll a magic ball around worlds made of crystal with their own gravity fields! Collect all the gems on one planet to activate the jump pad to the next. The pad tells you the number of remaining gems.

Keyboard: WASD to move
360 Controller: Left Stick to move

Windows only, sorry x_x.
Source is large, cause that's how UE4 rolls. Blame Epic, not me.

To get to the juicy executable, after you've extracted the zip go to LD30\Binaries\Win32 and run LD30.exe

If you'd like to learn Unreal Engine 4 I do a tutorial series on my youtube channel! https://www.youtube.com/user/WeaverTube1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Overall3.85
#72Audio3.71
#74Graphics4.10
#77Mood3.74
#151Theme3.80
#328Innovation3.45
#430Fun3.19
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

AtecStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14am

Great Looking :)

AtecStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Love the ice

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Love the music and sound effects. Good rolling physics too. The transfer between balls was spot on.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

I like the visuals.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

This was very relaxing.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

I wish the ball were stickier or something, maybe have some of the planets collide and knock you around between them.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Love this graphics style, just love it :)

AtecStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Reminds me of Fez, calm, beautiful, and relaxing music.

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00am

Nice job. I like the visual. Very nice music:)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:03am

Atmospheric, relaxing and calm.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I couldn't try the game ( I am on OSX ) but I watched your video.

This game look great. Good choice for UE, this really makes a difference :) The idea is simple but the result is perfectly fine. Calm and atmospheric!

PS. I like how you explained in your video how you "programmed" the game using UE - this visual programming is really something :D

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice game, good visuals, very chill. It took a bit to figure out that going slower would help with staying in contact with the surface. It might be helpful to have the ball change color slightly or something as a visual indication that it was currently in contact with the surface. Other than their shapes/colors it was hard to tell if there was anything different between the asteroids. Might have been cool to have gravity change or bounciness or something. Great work!

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:19am

great graphics. how many tris are there in one planet?

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:31am

Ah a dll missing error :(

Weaver says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:29am

Hey everyone, thanks for all the comments! I've been really bad about checking these. Thanks so much for all the support and suggestions :)

I'll try to answer everything:
The ball being a bit too bouncy and fast is definitely a problem in the submitted build. I fixed it after the fact, but obviously re-submitting is against the rules lol.

@tmpxyz The planets had WAY too many polygons on them. Something like 15k each. I've experimented with a much more sensible 3k poly planet that, more or less, looks just as good. I have a lot to learn about modeling and polygon optimization.

I'm a programmer not a 3D modeler but it's something I know is a tremendous weak spot of mine and I want to learn more about it :)

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really good mood, feels like you're in space.

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:27am

It wouldn't be right to judge based on a video but it looks great! Make a mac version!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]