Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Invasion of the Squares from the Fifth Dimension

by Cactose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Because games with plots resembling corny b-movies are cool.

To run, extract all the files from the .zip and run 'Invasion of the Squares From the Fifth Dimension.jar'.

Java required.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#307Fun3.35
#630Mood2.89
#697Overall3.07
#755Audio2.30
#958Theme2.58
#971Graphics2.42
#1054Innovation2.38

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Tacky take on the theme, but a solid arcade game. Some screen shakes and particle effects (as well as music) could go a long way here!

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Enjoyed playing this, it's just a simple fun kind of game.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Wouldn't a 5-dimensional square be a hypertesseract? (10 'sides' each side is a tesseract.) This was a simple, fun shooter. I didn't think that the harder difficulty was actually harder than normal because you got the 5-way shot right from the start, while in normal you had the single shot for the first half, making things harder.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Very fun, I might actually keep it around for boring lectures at university. I love the style too!

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Quite a fun, basic game. Ran pretty good, only some weird graphics on the player. Well done!

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Good game! However, when you restart the game, you keep your modifier. Made the game a whole lot easier for me

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Great gameplay - so simple and so fun :)

Oana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Bonus points in humor for title! Also, congrats, it looks like a fairly complete and nice entry. Could use some sound polish, but overall, it seems pretty good. I found normal to be quite difficult, but fair.

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Very,very fun. :D Good job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

Fun little arcade shooter!

rjhunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Simple. Fun. Feels surprisingly polished considering most of the graphics are just squares!

(very hard on a trackpad, though, but these kinds of games always are)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:26pm

NICE!! Wish this was around when Atari was ud a smoked em!! lol

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Simple game but well done. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

ambi says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:15pm

It's a solid game, even if a bit bare bones.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]