Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Prometheus Unbound

by The Evil Cult - Jam Entry

Prometheus Unbound is a planet management game where you start with a single planet, and you must develop your infrastructure to support your quest to colonize new worlds. As you colonize new worlds you will discover that each world will not be sustainable on its own, and you will need to forge trade routes to support your ever growing empire.

The game mechanics and interface are fairly complex and we did not get time to add in tooltips or a tutorial, so if you are struggling we recommend you read some of the tips below!


WASD and Arrow Keys scroll the camera.
Clicking on a colonized world will bring up options for managing that world.

Planets will steadily grow in population as long as they have adequate food, water, and housing.

Resources are gathered by building infrastructure, mines will gather ores, farms will gather crops, etc.
Most buildings will require Manpower to run. You can add and subtract workers to your structures on the right hand-side of the interface.

Raw resources are then refined by building production infrastructure such as a Steelworks or Food Processing.
After you have some steady production set up, you can build a Spaceship Factory, which will allow you to build Scouts, Colony Ships, and Haulers.

Scouts are cheap units used to determine what resources a planet holds. Click on a scout ship and then right click another planet to send it there.

Colony ships are used to settle on new worlds, send it to a planet and that planet will be yours!

Haulers are used to transport goods between your worlds. You will need to manage your trade options for these to start working.

In the resources menu you are able to set resources to be imported and exported from the planet. On the right is a stockpile option where you can increase/decrease the minimum amount of resources to be kept on your planet.

Credits

Luke Baird - Art, Design, Testing
Andrew Beasley - Design, Art
Patrick Beasley - Programming, Design, Art
Brendon Byrnes - Music
Tim Cox - Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Theme(Jam)3.95
#115Fun(Jam)3.56
#121Overall(Jam)3.65
#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#222Mood(Jam)3.38
#229Innovation(Jam)3.32
#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

doos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Sorry for the late rate.. I've been playing for about an hour.. :)

I think that there is a rare bug on building creation where a factory wont take in resources which are just sitting around, like the food processing with the seafood, and the titanium factory and the ore.

It would have been a bit better if there was a hover on the resources on the factory which told you what they were, but the trade window had an easy reference. I found that my uranium outpost on the lava planet kept dying because I was stealing more refined uranium than supplying food.. Then I kept supplying once the outpost died since the contracts were still in place and couldn't be cancelled. And then my third terran planet died because I couldn't process all the lovely fish and I had ran out of steel.

In summary.. You made an RTS I wanted to play.. Well done! :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Hey doos, thanks for playing! I have a feeling that what you encountered was us not giving enough information on how to play (we wanted to make tooltips for everything but ran out of time!) - if you don't have enough free workers when you create a building, the building won't operate. You can use the minus and plus buttons next to the building to adjust worker levels.

Also potentially useful, the food processing plants take either seafood or crops each resource tick, but won't process both at the same time, so if you have a mixture, they'll alternate (the logic at the moment is specifically crops if you have enough, seafood if you don't - not ideal, but we considered it done enough for LD). If we release a post-LD version I'll rewrite it to work on both at the same time.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

YOU MUST BUILD MORE FARMS!

I enjoyed the amount of work that you put in the game. It looks well polished, but a tutorial would be splendid! Great work.

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45am

impressive feat for a 3 day game, wow, great job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really pretty. You've mentioned tooltips - that would be a wonderful addition. I love the style of the game and a post-LD edition would be grand ^.^

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

Really well designed system for such a short period of development time. Took awhile to workout how to get it going but once I did it was a great experience, simple and too the point. A main suggestion is that it would be nice to add an icon to the left of the infrastructure screen that shows what resources you will gain (like the ones on the right showing what it costs), I found I had to somewhat guess and swap to the resources panel to see what I was gaining to workout what things did sometimes.
Regardless it's a great entry, well done :)!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

So addictive, especially for RTS. Nice ... EVERYTHING! Very well polished game, like it been developed for months, not 72 hours. Well done.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very good design, good game

Satyre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Great teamwork. I'm still playing xD. Everything is well polished and fun.

doos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Rather than rate some games, I'm going to play some more of this one.. ^^

doos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I think it might have crashed because I tried to close my shipyard? I was trying to clear space for more farms.. :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

Yeah, there was a bug there when destroying buildings that don't use workers (such as the ship factory). I've uploaded a fixed version since you downloaded it (just bug fixes, no new content).

Sunflower says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Uh, oh, this game is complicated. There are many, many resources, and a variety of options the game doesn't really tell about, leaving me pretty confused. Also, it seems like there's a lot of micromanagement and tracking involved, something I'd rather not engage in. >.<

But I must admit, soundtrack is very nice. ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]