Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mansion on the Hill

by BuffaloPhil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mansion on the Hill is a Sci-fi adventure game about slave driving robots that live underground. Used a Korg Ms2000 quite a lot. Had a blast this Ludum.

If you guys have fun, be sure to look up 'Depths of Fear::Knossos' on Steam, a game Dirigo Games released this April.


-Phil




***************************************************

EDIT: A few folks have gotten stuck, and since I want you guys to see the whole game, here are the solutions:

***WALKTHROUGH!*** (Spoilers if you get stuck) ***

Scene 1:
Wake up. Press button near door. Walk East. Press button near door. Speak with coworker. Open cabinet in back of the room marked "!". Take red explosive in cabinet. Put explosive in empty robot instead of battery.
After explosion, look for a metal rod on the floor of the room. Take the rod. Use the rod on the vent to the northeast. Press button on door to close it before you walk by the robot. Continue down hall. Take rock. Use rock on pile of scrap metal behind robot to distract him. Sneak by. Get in elevator.

Scene 2:
Walk East. Open door to Master's house. Run! Speak to Master. Open cabinet. Take hammer. Use hammer on Master. Win game! :)

***************************************************




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#30Mood4.02
#36Overall4.00
#46Audio3.80
#107Graphics3.98
#143Fun3.61
#203Humor3.01
#397Theme3.45
#649Innovation3.04

Comments

LesInk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04am

I got a black screen when I tried to enter the Master's House. Using Chrome.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Really nice graphics/story. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Pretty awesome. I just gave no clue where I have to go after the robot blows up.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Bendix, use the metal rod (on floor from explosion)on the vent in the hallway. Thanks for playing, guys!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Very nicely made and fun to play, too. I love the sounds. However there seems to be a bug? When you enter the masters house, you end up in a black nothing? Is that intended to be so?

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Outstanding game, especially for 48hrs! I really enjoyed it. I would play a longer version anyday!

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Really well done!

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Beautiful game - really well done!

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

That was great. Nice style, ambience and story. The message of this game is sad but true ...

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Take that, Master! #worthit

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Really nice, well done! Graphics are great, audio is fine, story is funny. Great!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

This game was cool, love the story.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Thanks guys! I've checked and double checked the "Master's Door" bug this morning- I can't replicate it. Mention in the comments if you won the game ( used the hammer ). I can always upload a second link if I can figure out the issue.
The best part is the action movie one-liner at the very end ;)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Nice graphics, story and sound. I've enjoyed it.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

A little bit too short but REALLY nice game !

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Really great work, but for some reason the Source link doesn't work :(

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39pm

@Takashy87: Here's a direct link to the .zip:

http://www.dirigogames.com/Ludum30/mansiononthehill/source.zip

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Awesome stuff. So gloomy at the beginning! Loved all the Korg sound too.

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Very entertaining, like the old skool point & click adventures :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Amazing narrative for the time it was made in. All of it fit together really well. I feel that the relevance to the theme was kinda tacked on but its made up for in how well the game was made. Audio was a bit loud in places and felt like it wasn't all normalised but that could just have been me. Rest of it was great.

Praron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Idea is amazing, good game c:

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Great game with a great use of the theme. The escape was surprisingly tense!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I wish there was a way to skip the speech bubbles, they are too slow, ive read it like 3 times before i can move on. Playing thru twice, due to masters door bug

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Just beat it, Loved it! good job!

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very nice game!!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Cool game! Too bad it has such a dramatic bad ending :-(

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

@BuffaloPhil - Thanks, but it's not working for me. Turns out that you have a .rar instead of the .zip .. or at last I managed to download something with the .rar extension via that link :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

@Takashy87, a .rar is a compressed file, just like a zip. Get a free program like Winrar, 7-Zip (or other) and extract. If you continue to have trouble, post your email and I'll send it to you.

chas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Great job. A full-blown adventure game! Impressive style and narrative bandwidth too. There's a lot to learn here.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Fun little point'n'click adventure :)

Loved the artwork and atmosphere in the game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great game! Super happy to see others using Construct 2 for the jam.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Great game. Cool art. But I feel guilty for completing the game =(

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

THAT WAS AMAZING. It was a satisfying story with beautiful art and smooth adventure gameplay. I am blown away that you did this in 48 hours. Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

This... is... amazing! It is so beautiful! I love the old school adventures game style. But I think it could contribute more to "Connected worlds" topic. Anyway, this is a great game. Bravo!

remmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52pm

What a totally awesome game! and all that in 48 hours… humorous, society-critical, fun to play, great audio and art… whoa :D 5/5 at all the criteria :)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Wow... That's the best submission I've tried so far. An absolute favorite. Love the pixel art, love the story and love the gameplay. The theme fits perfectly. You nailed it, good sir! Well done. Bravo!

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Great point'n'click! It was streamed on indiegame.fr by the way.

Great athmosphere and game overall, good job!

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Fantastic! Nice to see a point and click, mechanics are well implemented, story was great, felt very John Carpenter, maybe it was the music? Great Job!

Love your logo too!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

This is truly amazing.
To do this in 48 hours.
The mood is striking and i got real sucked into this.
Real good....

Keep working with it! PLEASE!

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Hi, this is a great game but the link to the source download is just a 404?

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:24pm

@Hexagore: Here's an alternative download: (MotH source) https://www.dropbox.com/s/cq01k1pgqhk4wdg/MotH_source.rar?dl=0

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Great ending, love the music and general art style, nice job :)

samooJAM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Kinda what is happening in real life. Need to be aware about what you are buying and where it's from. Great job with the game!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Overall BRILLIANT! Beautiful story with great narrative. Loved it to the end. I KNOW TO HAMMER!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Graphics and theme were great. Would love to see this expanded on.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10am

Can't figure out how to get past the hallway where the robot shoots you with the laser (it's actually the spot shown in the 2nd screenshot). Otherwise this game looks great, really impressive.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Great atmosphere, story-telling and stage layout. I really appreciated the pathway and arrows guiding you through the first area -- they didn't seem out of place or in your face, just a gentle nudge in the right direction. Good stuff!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

Great work for 48 hours, I really like the story and atmosphere.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

I enjoyed the story, you managed to set up a nice little environment good job :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:30am

I thoroughly enjoyed that! Had a smile on my face the entire time. Featured everything great about 70s sci-fi :) Loved the art and especially the music. Nice plot beats as you run through the game. Bonus points for being a cool point and clicky adventure story :)

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Absolutely amazing!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I DO know how to hammer :)
Nice story. I Didn't find the "puzzles" hard at all (I'm saying this because you wrote a walkthrough), maybe even too easy. But I guess the game is more about the story than about the puzzles and I liked it that way.
My main complaint would be the dialogue boxes which make the camera acting weird. This is quite annoying, but it's still a detail.
Oh and I like the social interpretation of the theme. Haven't seen it anywhere else for the moment.

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Loved it!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Aaaalright, so here we've got an adventure game, surprisingly long for that time-frame and amount of detail; somewhat simplistic, but still, that has got to be one of the best entries I've played so far, and completed, at that. Also, I must say the main character nailed it with his famous last words.
(sure the ending isn't as happy as it could be, but I expected things to happen that way, and was actually glad the main character managed to accomplish *something*, though the consequences are left unknown...; that is in contrast to Shoot the Shaggy Dog stories)

If I were to complain about something, it definitely would be inability to skip the dialogue lines (I had to wait once I've read everything, rather than proceeding early). Also, I'd prefer if inventory would have some sort of frame or something, to distinguish it from the environment. But these are details, the game is still amazing overall!

I'm finding some real gems today...

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:20pm

What I liked:
-It's an adventure game.
-Nice little short story.
-Good length.
-Controls felt good.
-Cool graphics.
-Implementation of the theme.

What I thought could be improved:
-Camera was a bit odd, and was sometimes not focused on the main character... normally during cut scenes.
-Sound effects felt out of place.
-Some of the graphics were different styles.
-It would have been nice to be able to press a button to progress the text.

Overall, a very nice entry.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Really nice game, too bad it's so short ! And thanks for the walkthrough, I wouldn't have known what to do without it X).

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:56pm

An interesting story and some cool music, I like it !

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

"I know how to hammer." Such badass, wow!
This is a really great game, I enjoyed playing through it a lot. The "action" sequences, coupled with the music, really got my blood pumping. I also liked the graphics and the story (I was thinking about doing something similar, but decided against it). Overall, this game is just awesome.

jjhaggar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:43pm

"I know to hammer" XD Awesome story, humor, graphics, sound... everything! :D I loved every second I played the game :D Full 5 stars!! :D (except for innovation, which I left as n/a ^_^) Great work!! :D

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:20am

I know how to hammer!

Really really strong story, and actually good mechanics, gameplay, even art style. For example, despite the blocky art, you have a modern art thing going in the mansion in the hill.

Could have come straight out of a book, the story is that good!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Metropolis with a hammer. :) I had fun playing it

TowelKing says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Great game, I like the story. Amazing that you got it done in 48 hours.

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Pretty neat! I liked the music. Cool little story, but would have been nice to have a little more actions to affect the story.

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:13am

Good game , a bit short :D

Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

nice and short.

lightsoda says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Beat it first try, didn't get stuck on anything. Pretty good overall. The only things I'd nitpick on is scrolling the view for the dialog, and perspective was all over the place ;)

LeafThief says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:46am

Great job. I thought it was well written and I always knew what to do. Sometimes the perspective of the rooms/corridors looked a bit... creative, but that didn't diminish the overall experience/mood of the piece. Really nice work for 48h!

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Clever, even if you did lean heavily on the connected worlds metaphor in the ending. Nice puzzle/adventure reminding me slightly of Monkey Island.
The camera felt a bit sluggish, it could definitely do with moving faster.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Y.E.S!!! This was superb! Easily the best story I've encountered this LD, totally gripping until the bitter end was hammered out ;) Shades of HG Wells the Time Machine, Logan's Run, ... classic sci fi beautifully presented and very poignant. Great work 5/5

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:14am

This is really good. You did a great job setting the mood for the game: good graphics, good music, and a good story. Definitely one of my favorites so far.

Nagval333 says ...
Mar 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

Short, but very beautiful and atmospheric story.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]