Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Puzzle Connection

by dem0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control two cubes in two different, connected worlds. Other one is in the top half and other one is in the bottom half and they have inverted gravities so you have to pay attentiOn to both! It's quite challenging! You have to watch out spikes and get the cubes into end portals (the cubic ones, round are teleports).

5 levels so far, more coming in (possible) post-compo version!

EDIT 1.9.2014
Uploaded the post-compo version!
Features:
- Level editor
- Music (not by me)
- More levels!
- Cannons, enemies
- Some other improvements

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I had much fun, Cool little game! Second level is too hard :) Great Job! Some performance problems, program starts very slowly - but it works after loading.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Pretty clever how you had teleporters and doors that lead to the other size of the world.

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Pretty alright. This was a really neat idea and the levels were really fun to play. Sounds and looks were adorable; more music would have been awesome too, but limited time I know (cant get everything in). However My only complaint is the use of lives. This game uses a lot of trial and error to figure out what works and what doesn't in levels. I'm not sure if you maybe added lives just to give the look of a longer game or if you just thought it'd work. Either way, the game is really fun and you should keep working on it!

dem0 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:46pm

TY for the feedback! :)

The compo version was made in about 5 hours so that explains the skeletonish feel :P

I've worked on a post-compo version some time now and it's done but lacks levels, still. It includes for example level packs, level editor, music, enemies, cannons, better gameplay(you can affect the jump height) and more stuff! Uploading when the levels are done, timelapse also coming up :)

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Fun game and hard. The right kind of graphics for what the game was. I've seen the theme used in this manner for other games, but your use was still solid.

moi93101 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:08pm

A little too difficult for me, poor player ... :(
But good mechanics !

jonask says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice game! Quite hard but still manageable :)

Rehacked says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Good game with pretty cool sound effects that take me back to sega genesis and NES. By the way Why player has life in a puzzle game??

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:04pm

This is really cool! Brutal, but I like it :) Perhaps the lives were a bit much, after playing it a few times I gave up at the third level I think. Starting over god too tedious quickly

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Good concept, works well.. a bit frustrating but that is a good thing whehehe nice one

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]