Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A World Apart

by pighead10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please, if you notice any bugs, tell me! Post in the comments, contact me @pighead10, or find me on the #ludumdare irc.

Arcade vertical scrolling shooter with a twist. 'Story' and controls ingame!

PERSONAL NOTES:
Unfortunately I was ill for morning of both days, the first day especially, so I missed out on some time to get some extra polish on the game, but it turned out pretty fun (I hope).

Hopefully linux port is coming soon! (tm)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#164Fun3.57
#339Theme3.54
#394Overall3.36
#397Audio2.97
#615Graphics3.00
#677Innovation3.00
#730Mood2.79
#843Humor1.89

Comments

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

That was fun!
The sound effects need to be a bit weaker :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I knew someone else would make a scrolling shooter :D

I liked the concept ;) and the graphics. Sound was OK as well. It felt like the game moved too fast for me, and the decision to shoot with the mouse was also weird to me. Aside from that, good job and nice effort! Good luck!

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Many games here have approached the theme in a similar way, but this one was surprisingly fun and well made! And also surprisingly hard...

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Difficult.

I've never been good at dealing with the movement with keyboard + mouse. Especially since my mouse messes up just a bit and doesn't like to move while I'm hitting other keys. xD

evilentity says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Really nice!

Zabuza says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Cool game! I like dual shooter idea. :D

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40am

This is really nice. It kind of loses interest after a little bit of it, but I really love the challenge it offers. :D

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52am

VERY interesting mechanics!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Cool little mechanic, and nicely juiced-up game :) I liked the soundtrack as well. Will try it again, once I have a real mouse, and not a touchpad.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Pretty fun! Nice job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

The theme was actually applied very well here, so many other games just shoehorned in the theme into the game "just because". I am terrible at multitasking though, so to no surprise, I did not last long. Graphics are minimal, but fairly polished, audio was fairly lackluster, but overall it felt okay and is a decent entry!

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Fun game. The difficulty might be a tad high but I'm pretty tired so maybe it's just me.

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

challenging mechanics..fun to play!

Chris_E says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Excellent game. Fast paced, hard but not impossible, gives you a feeling of accomplishment when you finish a level. Good use of the theme.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Funny game. Easy to get started :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice use of the theme, it's quite tricky to keep track of both screens at the same time.
I suggest you try to make your music next time, autotracker music sounds like a mess.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:56pm

It is a simple straight forward interpretation of the theme executed well. I enjoyed it. I am not sure what notes I could offer, as it isn't something I see being expanded, but works very well for the jam.

disease says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Interesting game, a bit of a mindfuck. Difficulty seemed to shoot up too much for the third stage.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:00am

I enjoyed the core mechanic, but the purple spheres overloaded my poor brain. :(

Apart from that part (I feel no shame I skipped stage 5; great feature btw!) I had lots of fun. Nice music too, great job!

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

How I felt when I found out there was no end screen.
http://i.imgur.com/3ZFupb2.gif

It was awesome and hard and everything!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Yeah nice game that was well balanced ! I wished there was a highscore and a neverending level :D

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I really like your idea and I think you delivered it well. Unfortunatly the window is too tall for my 768 screen without hiding my taskbar.(which I did) And after that I had a lot of fun with it.
It kept me on my toes and it was surprisingly walking that thin line between difficult and fair. I never did beat the last two levels but I wish I had the time to do so.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Like! This works well. I like it. No complaints or bugs at all. Just nice. Specially that you can aim the shooting with the mouse!

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Way too hartd for me. The high pitched audio was pretty annoying. I think this game would do better without enemies and just dodging rocks.

Jedi says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Great use of the theme! It's a fun game too. I agree with the people who've said that the difficulty ramps up too fast and the sound effects are a little bit loud and annoying, and autotracker music is... well it's better than nothing!

I liked the graphics and the controls were nice and responsive, once you get used to keyboard + mouse. One thing that really irked me was that your game doesn't capture the mouse, so I would often click away from it by accident and die.

Overall, this is a very solid and fun entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]