Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ex-Fraktion

by Robotic - Jam Entry

Made by Flex Roman (Art), Lucas Maupin (Music) and me, Tom Victor (Prog)

Play with Mouse + WASD

Follow us on twitter !

@RoboticMachine
@FlexRoman
@LucasMaupin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Fun(Jam)4.23
#13Audio(Jam)4.28
#14Overall(Jam)4.19
#27Graphics(Jam)4.49
#36Mood(Jam)4.02
#42Innovation(Jam)3.95
#46Theme(Jam)3.95
#70Humor(Jam)3.54

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really cool game. I especially loved the art. Great work you guys!

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10am

Really stylish artwork and music!

clementcent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

This is so cool ! Great work !

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35am

Wowowo, awesome graphics and audio. Your game is very dynamic!!

Managore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39am

This game is absolutely nutso! I love the style so much.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49am

pretty awesome

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

Amazing work! Original style and great artwork.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Awesome sounds and visuals! Really dig the graphical style and gameplay, even if it gets pretty difficult when the screens start splitting up.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Astonishing. Really cool game guys, Love the art music and gameplay.

My only critique is that the fov seems a little close when the screen is split in two. When you get to three/four it zooms out a bit and you have a little more breathing room.

Would love to see more!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45pm

FUN! STYLISH! AMUSING! Really great work for three people in three days!

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Wow!
The art, music and sound effect are all great!
Hard once it gets to the split screen.
I love the way characters move.

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Awesome music and really fun!

MoArtis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05am

GOTY! :D Great job guys!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26am

Very impressive game! The groups of characters is working incredibly well, and is nice to watch. The shooting mechanics feels very solid. Great work!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:36am

Amazing entry! The sound, the visuals, the self-coop idea - loved every bit of it.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04pm

WoooooOooooOoooooww..!
Really good and smart concept and fun to play.
And I like the moving edges of frames

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Brilliant. Top-notch mood and feel. Shooting was satisfying. Dying even had a great animation... really, really juicy game with great feedback and gameplay. It got a bit tedious to have to do the whole thing in one run--I played maybe 5 times, got to the second-to-the last room, and then ended up giving up because I didn't want to do the first two levels again. I'm not sure if you could have really implemented a functional checkpointing system with this gameplay style, though. If I had more time to review games I definitely would have struggled it through to the very end. Thank you!

Robotic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

Glad you liked it ! :) Yeah we realized it can be boring to have to pick up all those keys (especially the three first) when you start again. Also the FOV in the second split can be annoying.

I know the game is a bit hard, but I hope at least you had the "Ah-Ha" effect when the screen splitted :)

Here's a video of me finishing the game in 1:50
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHzcpUS67lY

Raphy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Very well done, music is cool and game is fun!

Also I like the "Thank you for trying this demo" coming from I don't know which music software being remixed :D

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27pm

An impressive entry! Too bad I cannot really play on my laptop : click doesn't work when I'm pressing a key :( I should try to play it somewhere else.
I didn't really saw the theme here...but since I couldn't play to the end, I might be wrong

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Five stars all around (although I feel a bit guilty about giving it that, because things got WAY too hectic and hard to control/manage after the screen split). The graphics and audio are professional level :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

Wow, beautiful art

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Great work! I really like the art!

barleyarley says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Very interesting. Can't fault any particular area of the game and found it extremely enjoyable. My only issue was getting to grips fully with what my objective was, but overall great work!

puppymythril says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:05am

Probably the only game I gave 5 stars on all categories, truly amazing stuff you guys did there.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:25am

Awesome game! Gameplay very smooth and enjoyable. Nicely done!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:25am

Amazing entry! Great art and audio, awesome concept,
extremely original and inspiring.
Well done all of you, probably my favorite entry so far.

LeafThief says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:49am

This is soo good and works really well! Great great job!

dunin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:47pm

cool and stressful game! nice graphics.
Too hard for me but it was still fun. Bien reçu ordinateur...
(just one thing: at my first try I don't understand that the focus was made with the mouse, I pressed space each time I wanted to go on other screen...)

Artamus says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:46am

Fantastic!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Wow, I really like the art and the music, so cool. A bit of story would be welcome though, I didn't really understand what was going on X).
(BTW, did you follow the theme? I don't see anything related to connected worlds )

Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Its like Inception but a game xD amazing
Everything is so ridiculously great, how is this a jam game?
5/all

jwin says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:04am

Looks great, sounds great, fun to play!

01101101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:42am

Very cohesive game. And fun to play!

slumber says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Overall Really Enjoyed this game! Great music, good sound, nice controls. The connected worlds is a cool. Swap between both is impressive.

Please continue with polishing this game, I would like to see a game of this style on steam one day!

Great work, keep it up.

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Awesome game! 5 stars. Especially i like use of theme. Reminds me of old game cannon fodder.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:38am

This was a great game. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]