Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jeru's Tower

by ncannasse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a lost Selenite that want to return to the Moon. You'll have to climb the Jeru's Tower and solve its puzzles to get to the top.

The Jeru's Tower is at the crossroad of multiple connected worlds.

Controls : WASD / space for action / Esc to retry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#19Overall4.11
#61Fun3.83
#87Mood3.69
#109Audio3.59
#184Graphics3.77
#199Humor3.02
#255Theme3.67
#394Innovation3.37

Comments

ncannasse says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36am

If you manage to finish the game or if you're stuck on a given floor, please post a comment so I can know about it :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Wow, that's a lot of levels for 48 hours, good job man. I didn't beat it yet but I wil

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very well executed, love the game. Congratulations!

nadako says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47am

Huh, I'm stuck in #8 but I guess that's me being stupid, gonna try again :)

nadako says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

NVM i got it :)

nadako says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Very nice game BTW!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

I'm now back safe at home.
Everything was straightforward until the 16th where I felt a difficulty peak.
In the 19th I've finished the level without using the flame in a quite easy way, then the PNJ told me that every powaa isn't needed at the 20th :)
The 21st gives me hard time, it took me time to understand what to scarified.

Great puzzle game. It doesn't feel like a long tutorial.
Difficulty is well balanced, and even if 25 levels are a lot for 48hours the addictiveness reclaims more :D
Graphics are cured (those particles are almost a signature), and the audio is of quality (even if I muted the song for some levels).

YopSolo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Great game, remind me adventure of lolo :)
levels are very well designed and the game perfectly fit the theme.
my favorite entry so far !

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Perfect execution! I wish i could polish my game like that in 48h!

And the game was fun to play althoug igot stuck around level 10

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Everything is great about this game. Can't even imagine you managed to do that in 48 hours

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38pm

This game is a lot of fun. Needs a level restart feature. Take level 5 for instance. Drop the pillar and transporter in random locations, and you're in a loop if they aren't in the right spot. No way to reset so you have to start over. Could be not fun at higher levels.

deepnight says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Excellent puzzle, good job :) I'm still amazed by the quality of the art & sound! What tool did you use to create the music?

ncannasse says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

@YopSolo: yes, Lolo was a good inspiration although I tried to innovate with new mecanisms

@Stan : use the "Esc" key to restart the level when you're stuck

@deepnight : music was a nightmare ! Took me 4 hours. After trying and (again) failing at compo, I tried many different methods and finally combined a customized SoundHelix with a GXSCC pass to turn the MIDI into chiptune (http://www.geocities.co.jp/SiliconValley-SanJose/8700/P/GsorigE.htm) and many many (too much) editing.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Fun game and an interesting idea! It could do with a tutorial or controls spelled out on the web page. :-)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Lovely effects.

Pheonise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Excellent game! A lot of fun, and very good puzzles!

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Wow! The level design is brilliant and fantastic!!! I think it will be better to save the player progress or has a levels selection view. ^_^

Dohan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Very challenging and excellent puzzles. I've felt some of the levels in the middle to be harder than the last ones, but in general it's also very well balanced.

Also, how everything animates once you get all the hearts is really cute!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Hey ! super nice lolo-like, SO much better than my first attempt with jamajama on frutiparc :) I'm currently blocked on lvl 10 but want to come back to it. Fun facts : I never spoke to the old dude until lvl6 where I was stuck. And the guys answered me he could not help :-/.
I also had hard time with fireball because I thought it was fire on contacts ( you can use it like this until very late level ) So maybe adding one level when you force player to use from a distance in the first levels would help for a final version. Nice sprites and anims :D Next step is the death anim instead of this meh splash anim !

Congrats !

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Can't believe I didn't think of that ncannasse probably because sometimes it restarts on its own esp when you die,. (I'm not the brightest crayon. Now that I can go further think of this in a whole new light. +1 for "You're still my friend right?"

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Oh ! and your tower miss a shadow dark green pixel at the base on the left :-P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very nice game again.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20am

Awesome game!
Lots of brillant challenging puzzles, I really liked the tutorial guy too. :p

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Took me (and bloo) some time to finish it, but being in competition with each other helped a lot! Great (and quite hard) puzzle game!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09pm

cute game, good job. Powa? :D

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This game is really solid in all areas, but especially level design. If I have one gripe, it's that I think the movement is too slow for the amount of walking you have to do. But that's a minor complaint, and the game is wonderful.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:24am

Very good game. Great puzzles and style.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:10am

Nice game, congrats!

Oli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

"Click to start" I clicked everywhere but nothing happens. Seems I'm the only one who got this problem :/

(I'm on windows 8.1)

SiMouth says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Game finished :)
I have no idea how long I played it.

Carduus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:12am

Your pixel art is very nice, the puzzle are funs!
As a big casual gamer, i wish i had some more explanations at the begining about the gameplay, maybe if the PNJ comes to you to have a chat with you could be great, i didn' spoke to him for 3 or 4 levels :p
But holy crap, nice entry :)

0x0961h says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:27am

What a great puzzle game! I like how it looks simple, but then you just sit on the level for, like, 5 minutes trying to find a solution that is so obvious (yes, level #8, I'm looking at you) you just feel yourself dumb. :D

Great job on it. :)

lekochen says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Finished! Took me more than an hour to beat. Lots of well-designed puzzles, that's incredible.

Raphy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Great, amazing amount of content, great work!

Silii says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very interesting, good job.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:32am

Its amazing that you have so many levels with good level design from such a short time.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:03am

COOL! I MADE IT TO THE MOON!! -- Only bad thing about the game was the birds in the opening and closing scenes -- they sound like nails on chalkboard -- everything else was spectacular. Good job man!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:05am

Oh yeah, as others have said (and i was thinking it but forgot to type it): Reminds me a *lot* of the Adventures of Lolo series on NES. Still, super fucking cool, yo. :-)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:10am

Here's a fun screenshot I threw together on the boomba level: https://i.imgur.com/S7y6oKU.png

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Fun Puzzler. Well done. Also so many well designed Levels. This is really great

Pierrec says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:29am

a good puzzle and an impressive entry

igoramendola says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:00am

Wow! Really awesome. One of the best entries that I have played on LD30 so far. Good graphics, music, gameplay, challenge, etc... well, an excellent work!
Oh, and I finished it :D

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Huge amount of good content!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Thank you for all the comments so far. I spent most of my time on level design this time and it seems it paid off :) enjoy the game !

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:04am

Awesome graphics and innovation. Great job!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice job. Whith the number of levels, the smooth difficutly curve, and the little effects here and there this entry feels really 'pro'

The music is a bit repetitive though, and I wish the character wouldn't move when I just want it to face another direction

NikB says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:58am

Magical. Finishing the game gives you a very special feeling like you've been to the other dimension. The last time I had such an impression was beating Braid.

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Great little game - love the graphics style!

bob_fish says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:55am

Very well polished for 48 hours, great job! Really liked art style and music. Puzzle design was great, a bit hard though :)

mcapraro says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:14am

nice graphics and animation! really polished feeling

Animefrikis says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:35am

I searched for this game because to see what did the creator of haxe do xP, but after playing, I see that I still have some way to go. Nice game for such a short time! :)

The music was a bit repetitive, but graphics and the game was well balanced: few mechanics, which when combined well made a fun full game. The black monsters which only died to the pink areas were a nemesis!

See you next LD!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Great game, awesome mechanic. I love the graphics and how everyone starts dancing once you collected all the hearts (except poor explanation guy).

Lythom says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Hi, here's some feedbacks.

What I liked :
- almost everything, but in particular
- realization is excellent (no heavy bugs, reactive and intuitive play, dynamic curve for a puzzle game)
- puzzles variety and difficulty, not being boring
- audio, not exceptionnal but good enough
- playing time, there is really stuff to discover !

What Imo could be improved :
- almost everything as well, in particular
- a small lack of innovation (very classic approach of the theme and of the gameplay)
- flashy colors are a little eye agressive
- transition between the levels is a bit long

Overall a smooth and pleasant exprience with no repellent points. Thanks for the game !

jomomomo says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Really good job. Just awesome.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:27pm

The puzzles are fun and engaging, but after a while they get a bit tiring. Nevertheless it feels very complete and its a very solid entry.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:16am

Really enjoying the puzzles so far - haven't clocked the game yet, though :) Amazing how complete the game feels for just 48 hours work.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Wow, that are a lot of levels. Managed to beat it within 40 minutes.
The level design is really great, and I like the animations when you have collected all hearts.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Really nice game for a compo entry (puts mine to shame :P). Not a lot I can criticize about this other than the logic governing the bombs didn't entirely feel consistent.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice game, well polished

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:53am

LOVE IT!!! Awesome job for 48 hours, great story, visuals, audio, gameplay, ... Amazing!

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Wow. That took over an hour to play through (with some small breaks). How did you make this much content in 48 hours? Incredibly impressive.

One of my favorite entries. Gameplay is clever, always fair, and very challenging without being frustrating. Really good mechanics that work well together.

Fantastic entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]