Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RIMFALL

by nosfer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: changed links to direct APK and marker in JPG. There's also QR code in screenshotts

This was done only in ~15hrs, not so on on topic (except connected rooms;)

Requirements
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Android device with rear camera (3mpx minimum) compatible with vuforia library
OPTIONAL: Durovis Dive, CMoar or Google Cardboard for STEREO Mode

How to play
~~~~~~~~~~~
Install ld30.apk on you android device with rear camera (3mpx and more recommended).
Print or open "target_stones_A4.pdf" on your PC monitor in fullscreen.

Run RIMFALL on your android device and point device camera to printed marker or to the PC screen.
Select Normal Mode or Stereo Mode if you have Durovis Dive, CMoar or Google Cardboard.
Move your head/device to fall thru RIMS to score points. You fail if you miss three rims.
Tapping anywhere restarts game (it's good for Durovis Dive where you don't have free access to touch screen).

Have fun ;).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#215Innovation3.62
#519Humor2.38
#582Audio2.67
#615Graphics3.00
#689Fun2.89
#751Overall3.00
#899Mood2.57
#1009Theme2.46

Comments

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:44am

Runs smoothly on HTC One. Very interesting input concept, especially with the ability to slow down and speed up the falling.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Suggestion: Add a QR to get people to download this faster on their phones.

nosfer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01pm

mlabarca: thanks for suggestion, I've added qr code in screenshot section and direct link to APK in Android link

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

The game has nice aesthetic.

MonoS says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I had some problem with my THL w200, the camera have a very high iso setting and so all is slooow, this should be a problem of my phone and not of the game, but i suggest to correct this behavior in future project :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

good experiment!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Aww, unable to play :(

jimmymcmillan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:11am

Played it using Google Cardboard. It worked pretty well!

ratking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Didn't work so well on my tablet, but the idea is awesome!

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:17pm

You're right - not totally going with the them but... well honestly most games just throw on an vague explanation as an afterthought anyway!

I love this idea! With a little more polish to keep the controls smooth it could be awesome!

One thing I would consider: use a different image and include the image in the play field. That way I can sort of orient myself and not accidently move my phone out of view of the image. Like the 3DS AR Card games.

rRootagea says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Pretty impressed that you got a 3d android game with motion tracking working in just a weekend.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]