Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

United Nanolytics Knowledge Vault

by chas - Jam Entry

A machine from another time has entered into your possession.

It promises unimaginable knowledge and all the possibility that entails.

However, can you access it without having the ability-enhancing hardware for the twenty-second century?

built in Unity, C4D,, and Reason.

[finally built+uploaded the right scene so you can simply click to skip any of the intro sequences]

[also: hold down keys to detonate mines]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#54Mood(Jam)3.91
#57Audio(Jam)3.88
#70Overall(Jam)3.81
#83Graphics(Jam)4.23
#85Fun(Jam)3.62
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#255Humor(Jam)2.73
#634Theme(Jam)2.42

Comments

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

I really liked this, the graphics are just incredible and polished. The varied game mechanics are fun.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24am

This game looked really awesome, but I could never even activate the first mine without dying and watching the whole intro over and over was really tedious. Graphics are great, polish was great. Maybe I'll come back and try again.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

Hi there. Lovely graphics, shame no sound.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49am

The game looked really nice and had a cohesive style. The only issue I had with it was the long waiting time before I could play the game again - it had to go through the opening title every time... which was slightly infuriating as I wanted to get back to the fun gameplay!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice concept & very sci fi :)

chas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I went ahead and addressed the soul-killing tedium of the GUI sequencing :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Nice game, graphics were polished, congrats.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Loved the audio and visuals of the game :)
Interesting risk/reward system where you get more points for close calls, as well as scrambling for the correct key on the wrong side of the keyboard, because my right hand was navigating with the mouse.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:08pm

This was a treat to play! Great work!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14pm

The game is pretty fun, original and with a good idea

Follett says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Very polished and great sound. Its a very professional looking game.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It looks really good and I'm totally comform with snoozbuster. I had a really hard time to use the mines and every time I died there was this long intro. But all in all awesome game.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Superb graphics, nice feel. A really good game.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Looks great, plays well, sounds awesome. Great overall. If I were to nitpick, I wish there was a quicker way to retry.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Fantastic way to connect the theme with a game.

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Nice game. a lot of polish.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I loved game style! Great work!

someone9999 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:39pm

200k points high-score. Couldn't get the 100% test progress.

Very nice job. The game feels very polished and fair, and finding the keys on the keyboard while running away from the antagonists was rather fun (but very hard).

kumoi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:02am

Hot damn, that is one smoothly polished submission! Very nice artwork and concept.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:40am

This is a very fun game. I only wish I didn't have to wait so long to play again after I die. Everything else is great, the graphics and audio are all very well done.

brookman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

A really solid game. It's almost perfect!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Beautiful. I love the look and feel of it. Very, very difficult, at least for me.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The style and presentation is amazing. Great job being consistent with your style and setting an amazing mood. The gameplay reminded me a lot of Sounddodger. I was unable to detonate the mines, and like others have said having to watch the intro again to get back into gameplay is a little tedious.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Looks and plays great! I agree with the other commenters that it takes too long to restart after dying but it pretty much seems perfect aside from that.

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Great job!
I tried to get more points, then you, but it really impossible! Great work with graphic and music. Gameplay is very addictive.
5 out of 5

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Solid, fast-paced and intense gameplay, really cool. Sound, graphics are almost ideal. It's difficult, which is good, but restart sequance is too long, would've done it shorter since you die a lot

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Lots of fun, great entry :)

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Very good graphics. It look polished. Addicting gameplay. Well done.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I loved it! The visual style is absolutely amazing, with all the UI animations it feels very polished. The gameplay was simple, but a lot of fun!

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice effects and pretty unique gameplay

ianh says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Really great game! I got 531,683 points at 1m12.7s… beat that :)

ianh says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

That should say "1m12.7..."

rip unicode

ianh says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

1,054,443 in 1m26s! So close to 100%!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

Man those graphics are the bomb! Followed your tumblr :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

this was super cool to look at.
Die, die and die again haha
Need some sound to match the great visual style you have!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:34am

That was really fun, and there was an incredible amount of polish! I only wish that the difficulty ramped up just a tiny bit slower.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:11am

edit:
I came back and played again, this time there was audio (not sure what was wrong last time)
Really great, I still haven't managed to get to 100% though!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:44pm

So addictive. 580k points!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]