Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Expansion

by Eniimal - Jam Entry

Orbital Expansion is a space clicker in which you have to conquest every planets of a Planetary System.

You will be able to create probes to send to new planets !

Music : Observing The Star by yd

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#288Mood(Jam)3.28
#349Audio(Jam)3.15
#424Graphics(Jam)3.28
#436Theme(Jam)3.05
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#580Humor(Jam)1.69
#640Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

That's a pretty fun strategy game

lucienpro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

This was a really slick, smooth strategy game. I love minimalist games so this was really good. It was quite fun but got repetitive after a while, good job though!

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28am

It is a bit grindy at the start but when you get into it, it is fun. It would make a great app

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Extremely polished little game, I enjoyed it - great sound and graphics. Quite slow but that works as a contemplative piece. It does get a bit repetitive though, and I messed up my first probe launch like an idiot.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Did not got the point of what to do.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I kept killing my population after adding anyone other than a farmer. But... +1 for Dune. There should be a way to mine spice.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Simple graphics, minimalistic but its fun to play

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The game was fun in the beginning but it quickly became really repetitive. The audio and the graphics were great but again, the game got really repetitive which ruined the fun.

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I sometimes don't get why certain things happen, for example: I have lots of farms producing 2 Food per second, than I buy a Miner and the production suddenly drops... But there is still no production of stone, or do I need a quarry for that? A little bit more explanation would be nice, cause I would love to play this more.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I love clicker games, nice! I would suggest adding some more polish for the feedback of clicking. These games get super addictive when you integrate visual feedback. Overall, nice concept! The idea could probably be translated into some kind of a mobile app too. :)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

First the background music is very good and overall the game looks polished.

However, the goal and interface aren't so clear though. For instance, I was confused since I thought button colours have meaning.
Moreover I still have no clue what scientists are for other than gobbling the food supply.

Skywilly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Really time-consuming game ;) I love that ! And it's simply beautiful.

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

This is a really fun game if a little repetitive. I like the simplistic graphic style and music but I think you could have explained what each thing does at the start, overall a great game

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

Very interesting game, I love the concept. But the implementation needs to improve a bunch.

First, too many ads. I already think That ads in a LD game is in bad taste, but your game had full screen ads ALL the time.

There is also a small bug where you cannot buy something if you have exactly the right number of resources.

Eniimal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Thanks Everyone, I Will try to make a post compo version with more content, and more explanations.

@Caranha You are totaly right, i changed that sorry

jerombd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:56am

So many probes lost in space... I wish there is something to show the time spent by the farmers/quarrymen/etc. to conquer the complete planetary system: centuries?... some years? (a calendar with random names could be cool).
Anyway, I enjoyed this game: great minimalist atmosphere (nice audio), but it becomes a bit repetitive (perhaps adding random accidents could solve this: asteroids? moons crushing the probes?...)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Quite addictive game, nice idea, but.. Ads? It's not suitable on LD, I guess.

Skywilly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

No ads ;) Doritos = Bouritos & Fox news = Xof News ;)

Skywilly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:42pm

(Sorry, wrong game for the last comments, ahah ! My bad !)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]