Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Power the Planets

by FrozenCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're an electrical engineer who needs to connect planets to the power grid on your home planet.

Controls are explained in-game.

## Post-compo ##

The post-compo version contains a somewhat better background and faster planet movement. This makes the game feel somewhat different and sometimes harder, but I think it's more fun this way.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Theme4.29
#185Innovation3.68
#269Overall3.50
#324Fun3.32
#436Humor2.50
#524Graphics3.14
#534Mood3.00
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

This is a really neat game! I love the use of climbing the line to other planets and the use of rotational movement. Graphics are fun too.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Additionally, are you supposed to be able to go into edit mode? I suppose the only complaint I would have is that a gray cloudy background kinda puts a damper on the mood.

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Hehe, I've left edit mode in... as well as the skip level button. I thought that couldn't hurt.

Yes, the gray cloudy background was unfortunate. I started with something complex and couldn't make things tileable, so I went with clouds. A simple black background with dots would've been much better in hindsight.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

This is a pretty clever idea and the controls work well!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Really cool and well thought! Planet movement is really slow though, or maybe I missed something. Maybe it should accelerate with time (the first level introducing the mechanic was far too long to finish because of that, I didn't even understand the planet was moving at first).

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Good casual game, I would like to have more level and way to connect planets. Good work !

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Nice idea and execution! I guess this would turn into an amazing game with more time and work on some aspects (music, sounds and more levels - maybe an upgrade system).

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Pretty slick! The controls do make the gameplay enjoyable, and I really like the concept.

Sometimes there's a lot of waiting for the planets to slowly pull themselves over. Some music/audio might make the waiting more enjoyable. But I know there's only so much time in 48 hours to implement different components.

You accomplished quite a lot in that time. The physics and controls feel really good. I'd love to see what you could do if you had time to polish and spend time on level design. Great work!

malf says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Good casual game, a bit slow the planet movement

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nailed it with the literal interpretation of this theme! Nice work!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:55pm

That was fine, I really think making two planets to collide is a good way to provide energy to both of them :D
I found the gravity a little slow when I had to play with it, but it's nice to see it implemented

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Nifty little game you got here!

zazery says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Easy to figure out and later levels present some interesting puzzles. Once you figure out what to do it would be nice if there was a button to speed up the planetary movement.

invader says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:03pm

innovative mechanics, good visuals, intuitive controls - it was nice to play.

P.S. on macos+safari it slows considerably when zoomed out

FrozenCow says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Drawing the background with zooming is somewhat annoying on canvas/html5. That's why I'm drawing images in a grid, it's slow, but usually does the job alright. I guess Safari doesn't handle that as efficiently as Chrome.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice little puzzle game. Wish there was a way to make the planets move faster when you connected them.

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:37pm

nice game, would love some sounds

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]