Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flip Flop

by kyyrma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pound on the ground with your hammer to make ground rise on the other screen! Help Bib and Bub save all the stars!

Flip Flop is at its best when played with two players, but the game is just as enjoyable when played alone.

Controls:

Left Screen - A,D,S
Right Screen - Arrow Keys

Press 'R' to reset a level if you get stuck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#56Fun3.85
#109Theme3.87
#120Overall3.74
#122Audio3.56
#215Innovation3.62
#237Graphics3.64
#340Mood3.25
#561Humor2.32

Comments

Orange says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Super old school! I love it.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really fun game, bit odd with score put in for a puzzle game but I guess that adds to the old-school style :P

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

@Xgor

I hear ya! The game originally had enemies, but I made the last minute decision of cutting them as the difficulty was rather punishing. That and the old school style were the reason for the scoring system.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36pm

That was fun gameplay with cute graphics :)
Felt just like an 8-bit NES game, sounds and all.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great game I love it! Awesome concept, really fun, fits with the theme, retro graphics + audio. I think we have a winner here!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

This is actually very entertaining. Love the retro graphics and feel. Very well done :)

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Great idea, well done!

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This is really good. Feels like an old 8 bit game, as was probably intended. Plays really well with some nice little puzzles, cute graphics and sound.

Well done!

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Really cool idea. Love the nes feel as well it was pretty authentic

Pirate Hearts says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Wasn't able to play. :( "flipflop.exe is not a valid Win32 application."

MentaL13 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Really loved the style and the retro feel. I played it alone but it just gives this imaginary picture of two people playing it on a NES with controllers. Great job.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nicely done. Well-rounded mechanics accompanied by nice retro graphics and challenging level design.

PS:
I've noticed a bug when both players are pushing down and try to move to the other's lane.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Awesome entry! Really liked this :D Reminded me of a bygone era. Everything about it is great from gameplay to graphics+sound. The theme is perfectly displayed here.

Good Luck (not that you'll need it :P)

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I really enjoy the game, I think playing it with someone else must be 100% better. Beware that Norton is deleting the file =(

kyyrma says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

Thanks for all the posivite comments guys, glad to hear you enjoyed it! I'm looking into some of the issues posted here and I'll try to figure them out asap.

@juakob:

Thanks for bringing that to my attention! It must be a false positive. Here is a full scan report for the file: http://goo.gl/LYzK12

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30am

Really good old-school style!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I love the ambiance in this game. congratz

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice old skool game widht good sounds :) Could be arcade if you add a bad guy throwing things :p

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

+mood (old scool)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48pm

That was really fun. Those puzzles are trickier than I thought it'd be. You did an amazing job capturing a retro arcadey feel.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:32am

Great game! :D I like the mechanics, t totally looks and feels like a NES game, amazing job! :D

KuGrou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Really cool and fun idea. Plus I feel you did a great job with the difficulty curve to smoothly get the player used to the mechanics.

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

wow. the completeness of the game is impressive. a big thumbs up for the bunch of levels provided, and the fact of increasing the difficulty and progressively adding new elements such as stones and bridges for each level. I played it with my partner and it works really good as a multiplayer game (as promised ;). we raged quite a lot at each other, in a good way, lol :D

great game, I hope you win with this one! :)

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Really nice NES feeling to it, and a neat and well executed idea.

EMAK says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:47am

very good entry. nice system

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

wow nice one :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]