Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Marble Run

by Homletmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The best marble run simulator you'll ever play. It has real panning marble sounds in it. There's not really much else to say about it.
Arrow keys / WASD to tilt board.

Tools used:
- Flex SDK - Actionscript compiler
- Flashpunk - Game framework
- Flashdevelop - Actionscript IDE
- GIMP - Graphics package
- Chronolapse - Timelapse software
- Garageband (iPad) - Recording marble samples
- Ableton Live Lite - Processing marble samples
- iTunes - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#56Fun3.85
#139Overall3.70
#197Audio3.36
#389Graphics3.36
#451Mood3.11
#514Theme3.32
#649Innovation3.04
#807Humor1.96

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Cool idea ! Some levels are evil, that last ones with 4 balls are quite challlenging, but not too much so anyone can finish the game, I appreciate that. Great job !

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Well executed and designed.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56am

Remind me a game on my phone but funier ! You made a good job.

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice game, congrats!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Old idea with a new twist. Pretty hard with multiple balls :)

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Clean, easy to get into and challenging. Great job! :)

BillToWin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18pm

This game felt real due to the marble rolling and hitting wall sounds being so well done as well the shifting of the board graphical effect. I really enjoyed it. A+

foolmoron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really great execution of a simple idea. Controls and visuals and sounds all come together to enhance the mechanic. Really fun overall!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice idea and very good execution. It really feels like playing one of those marble games I has as a kid. The sound effects in particular are very pleasing. Nice work!

kdunee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Fantastic, a really well designed and executed game. Sweet marble sounds ;)

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

This was suprisingly good! Looked a little dull and simple, but it got challenging and the sound and graphical effects were rather good :) Could work pretty well on a phone I guess.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Pretty neat entry, reusing the old ideas in quite fun and challenging way. Liked the board shifting effect.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Exactly what it promises to be. Marble game, plain, simple, fun, challenging!

jmf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

"Real panning marble sounds" - I can attest to that. Great game, well executed.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Great entry, I enjoyed it a lot!

YopSolo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

great entry, just an idea could be cool to use a mobile device as a remote

http://rhuno.com/flashblog/2014/08/19/airgamepad-example/
or
http://www.yopsolo.fr/wp/2014/07/19/adobe-air-wand/

rlangewi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I liked this a lot! The marble sound was perfect!

Glaydur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

God I hate this game. But that is good because it's a rage inducing fun! hahah

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

This is incredibly well polished and a lot fun to play. Loved it a lot, very good work!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very nice! Good levels, very playable, fun to play, and the difficulty gets higher slowly. The sounds are minimal, but fit perfectly.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I was on one of the levels with three balls and switched browser windows and that closed the game window - please make it stay open.

Other than that, great idea and execution, good level design too!

skiddings says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:50pm

good but so hard!

Homletmoo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Oops, sorry about that. My whole website's codebase is a bit of a mess at the moment. I've been a bit discontented with the current system on that page, so I'll probably add a dedicated 'close' button to the popups soon.

Rock48 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Pretty fantastic game, the sound design was pretty good too

Fazz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Genuinely quite a fun little game. Sounds work really well.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I loved playing the real life version of this game, but that only had one ball... X( Nice work with this! It feels and looks really good!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Now this is an entry I have mad mad respect for. I'm not sure how you came up with the physics and mechanics in less than 48 hours but it had my kinda challenge. When I had to handle 3 marbles, I knew I was screwed. This is going to be a killer android game. Superb!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Ha, really good take on this concept - there were a few similar ideas in this LD, but adding the rolling marble aesthetic (with those ever-so-authentic sounds!) makes it my favourite of them. I'd say that the hit boxes on those holes was a hair too picky though - I feel like it would be a bit more "fun" if you could move fast n loose a bit more. Besides that, it had a really good feel to the movement... great job!

twintrite says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Cool simulation and response to the inputs and nice simple style. I like the interpretation of the theme and playing it is fun :)

Homletmoo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:16pm

The collision is probably one of the weaker points, I agree. The problem is trying to simulate round objects with hitboxes and pixel maps - which are, by nature, not round. I didn't really have the time or knowledge to extend Flashpunk's collision engine to support circular bodies, so the marbles are represented by a square, and the holes by a circular pixel map (with jagged edges, because pixels).

One feature I would have liked to add would be a slight acceleration towards the centre of a hole when you get close enough. That way, if you are travelling fast enough, you could skim around the edge of a hole.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Nice and fun entry! I lasted 6 minutes in my first try

dancingmad says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I finished the game in 5:36. It was fun!

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I'm glad the physics are tolerable unlike those real marble labyrinth toys. Those buggers are such a pain to control. I'm glad this game is well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]