Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Fall of Man

by FacticiusVir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gameplay summary:

Click any visible star to get a list of the gates from that system, and options to explore undiscovered systems or search for more gates in that system (if there are any left to be found).
Select View System Info to find out what that system needs before it can help you, and explore the adjacent systems to trigger events that can help you. Once you've explored one set of systems, see what other systems they are connected to and explore those (you made need to scroll round a bit, the jump gates can travel quite far across the map).

----------

In this game, you are the commander of a space fleet from a distant star system, far in the future. For centuries, humans travelled between the stars via series of jumpgates - fixed portals in space that connect the space-lanes of two stars instantly, no matter how far apart; but a little over a hundred years ago, the entire network shut down without warning and left every star system in the galaxy disconnected and alone. Your homeworld has spent the decades since that day rediscovering the technology behind Pathfinder keys - unique devices that allow you to force a pair of gates open for individual jumps, letting your scout ships traverse the gate network once more. You now have one of these keys, and with it you must venture out to distant stars and find what has become of the universe.

There are no guarantees of what you may find, and you may have some hard choices to make as you try to reunify the far-flung worlds of man; but remember, the fate of the galaxy is now in your hands.

You will have a strategic view of all star systems that have been discovered, and control your explorer ships as they search for lost gates and explore the stars beyond them; use WASD to navigate the map, and Q, E and the scrollwheel to change your viewpoint - use Space to toggle fullscreen. Click on any star system you can see to get a report on known gates to and from that system, and select System Info to get a detailed report on the local situation. Some planets will have specific requests to make of you, and if you can help them they will support your efforts to restore the network - but be warned, some will prefer their isolation and work to stop you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Theme3.77
#559Innovation3.15
#776Mood2.74
#827Humor1.93
#844Graphics2.65
#918Fun2.62
#921Audio1.81
#927Overall2.81
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Interesting idea, but I'm not sure what to do after exploring all the planets.

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

I could see really enjoying a full version of this, especially if it was a procedural roguelike style, like FTL or something.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41am

Hi. Like the concept and the map implementation. The popup windows often appeared in awkward places - multiple overlays or with close gadget way off RHS of screen. Diplomacy base is interesting.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

I got a little lost in the beginning but once I got it was good.

mataguiris says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Somewhat confused, I do not quite understand.

Craig Smye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I can't get the game to start. Maybe it's Chrome.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44pm

An interesting beginning! It's a little like a 4x space game with a linear story - I could see myself whiling away an evening playing a larger version of this.

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33am

Please expand on this idea :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50am

I enjoyed the little bit I could play. Seemed to be nothing left to do after exploring 4 planets. Want more! >3

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Man, I felt like playing FTL again, thank you for that. I really enjoyed the game. It has a lot of potential.
However, I would recommend you work on the estetics and the GUI.

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I like the sparkles from the planets when zoomed out after exploring a bit. The concept reminds me of StarGate and would be fun to see the ships up close.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]