Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Time Detectives

by bb_buster - Jam Entry

First off I'd like to say that I unfortunately didn't get the actual gameplay implemented. This is more of a proof of concept/tech demo for the framework I've been working on so if you're looking for a game to play it won't be here yet. Sorry :(

However I can give you a little background on the game concept.

There are multiple worlds stuck in different time frames converging together. As a time detective you have been hired to figure out the cause and stop them for collapsing space time as we know it.
To do this you can travel between worlds using your tape player by playing music from that era, but you can only remain there for as long as the track is still playing. Once it reaches the end you get pulled back in to the world you where originally in.

In this demo I was testing out moving from present day to a 1940's-50's Noire era.

******************************************
Controls:

W,A,S,D : movement keys

E : play the Noire Music

Mouse : look around

Note: You can change the screen resolution via the config file in the config folder, as well as setting it to full screen by setting fullscreen to 1. It should open with a normal txt editor

All Music heard in this demo is by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)

**********************************************
Minor Update: The game relinquishes mouse control when the window loses focus. Though the cursor is still hidden when over the window

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#287Innovation(Jam)3.20
#364Theme(Jam)3.20
#608Graphics(Jam)2.81
#732Overall(Jam)2.56
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

staarland says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Fell off the world listening to Kevin MacLeod... 10/10!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47pm

WEll, the idea is cool. But I can't call it a game right now. Hope you make somthing interesting out of it, ther is potential

g0wen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Interesting concept, could definitely be something with more development. I would like it if the window would relinquish control of my mouse when I Alt Tab.

bb_buster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:07pm

@naksrifati Thanks, I knew by the time I got to the last day I probably wouldn't have much in terms of gameplay as ong as I could demonstrate an example of the core mechanic. I do like this concept and plan to continue on with it in my free time.

@g0wen Thanks, like I said above I will be working on it in my spare time. Thanks for pointing that out I kinda overlooked that, so I will check when the window is no longer in focus.
Also I forgot to mention that Escape key will exit the application

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I always think its better to submit something, even if its not entirely finished than to miss a game jam. Good choice in music! WE used incompetech too! They have some really good stuff. Anyways, if you continue to build on the game after this LD, I'd like to see where it goes! Good luck to you!

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Uhm... nice music and... That's all.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Can't play windows games... can I get a web ver?

bb_buster says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:19pm

@Druid as mentioned in the description it's just a proof of mechanics rather than a functional game.

@jomomomo as the game is made using my custom framework written in c++ rather than something like unity there won't be a web based version

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:16am

On mac, couldn't play :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]