Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RymdPlasma

by DalsGames - Jam Entry

Lost in space you have to travel back to Earth.
Avoid black holes and asteriods.
Use left mouse to place planets and right to remove.
A&D to rotate ship while in orbit.

Made by members of Dixum Games.
Programming: David Skeppstedt & Andreas Brommund
Art: Ben Forsrup

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#364Theme(Jam)3.20
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#559Graphics(Jam)2.93
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice game-- I like the idea. It was a little hard to know which direction to go, but the concept of guiding a ship by placing planets is really neat.

suurin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

My brain was blown up with rotation on orbit (inverted), but idea is pretty nice.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really fun game, I also liked the music. DON'T show it to your physics teacher!

local minimum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Interesting idea, but really hard to play. Kept hitting the black holes. I would suggest making the first level be much easier with fewer obstacles and shorter distance to travel.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Well.. that was a game. Really, really, really hard to beat. Cool idea, but I think black holes are too powerful. Additionally, the arrow that supposedly points to home doesn't update. (I'm on linux.) By pure luck I ended up flying into Earth once and discovered that the arrow was not pointing in the direction of home. Glad I figured that out quickly.

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:57am

This is definitely a great idea. It is a bit too difficult though. I think you should give the player more information about the planet constellations in the distance. Maybe allow to zoom?
With a bit more realistic physics, like real orbital flight and stuff, this could be a fun game. Nice work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:08am

The physics are unconventional but the games concept is nice! Cool game.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:41am

Agreed about the ramp-up in difficulty being too high, but in an LD I know how hard it can be to get that kind of thing right! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]