Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crystalbots: T-94 wants colors

by rynti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello there! My name is Robert and I'd really appreciate any feedback I can get about my game. Be sure to give it a try and tell me what you think, thanks in advance - have a nice day ;)


STORY
=====
A lone robot, who lives alone on his planet, is obsessed with retrieving paint buckets after he saw colors for the first time in the form of a red portal.

GAMEPLAY
========
Platformer with focus on movement and avoiding sawblades, heavily influenced by other games in the genre such as Super Meat Boy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#118Fun3.67
#204Overall3.58
#215Humor2.98
#233Audio3.29
#237Graphics3.64
#296Mood3.30
#885Theme2.72
#983Innovation2.52

Comments

Clyde says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33am

Robust platforming and a robot that wants colors. With the saws and walljumps I can definitely see the Super Meat Boy influence. Love it!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

well done on your LD entry! the movement feels really smooth. that first level was too hard to pass though :)

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31am

Cute platformer! Plays well, looks good! Also, is that the program cgMusic behind your music? I've used it before myself, but after a while the tracks start to develop a pattern! :D

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

Love how this is presented, felt the music was a bit tedious, but definitely feel the meat boy vibe in there. The controls felt great. Personally i'd tighten them just a touch (less momentum so you come to a stop quicker) but other than that it was awesome. Best game I've played so far.

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nicely done, reminded me of super meat boy.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

Not bad. I would like to see the controls tweaked, somewhat. Either that, or I just need to get use to them.

Shmackson says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

Can help but love a fast-paced platformer put together this well. Well Done!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39am

Probably the hardest LD game I've ever played, haha. I gave up on the blue level, since I couldn't quite get the hang of the wall jumping. I like the music and art, as well as the speed of the player character.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

The movement was very fluid and responsive, but sometimes the robot moved so quickly (and jumped automatically) in such a way that there was very little time to react to things. Also, the camera followed the robot too little to see hazards above or below him sometimes. Other than that, it was executed really well.

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47am

Okay, I am not a fan of a platformer that requires memorization. I almost stopped with that green world. Weirdly enough, the rest of them were not nearly as nasty in that regard. I preferred those levels so much more, and for the most part, the controls were solid enough to handle it. One of the better games I've played, and I thought you did a good job with the story/mood/graphics.

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48am

Really nice. I like the difficulty level which is just nice (for me). Overall the control (jump, speed, etc.) feels just nice. And you even managed to implement the tutorials, great man!

Good job!

p/s: bug - I passed the first level (red paint) even after I failed because the game keeps going.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54am

Stellar platformer :D love it!

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

good job on trying to reproduce some Super Meat Boy gameplay. :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

This one is SO hardcore :D Great platformer. Robot is ultra-cute!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

T94 needs to degrease his feet - a little less slide would have been good, but it was a great game. Couldn't make it past blue though. Great work!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Impressive work! Lots of inspiration from Super Meat Boy by the looks of it, but excellent work managing to fit in a full tutorial & story along with frantically hard platforming. Good job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Cool i like the game. Cool artworks... it's a cool adaption of the game meatboy... nice... runs good on my old computer. The levels are well designed and the speed of the game is very good. nice entry!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

Totally not like meat boy(saw blades pls). But great and well-done game, impressive graphics and mechanics.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:32pm

the collission is not the best but the twitchy controlls were super nice :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Solid platformer, great work with the tutorial,!

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Solved all level. Thank you for your game. It was really fun. But the last level was really hard because I always jump to high where the saws were at the top.

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Nice, lots of fun. Solid controls, nice simple graphics. Feels like a complete game.

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Cute story and love how parts of the story were presented between the levels.

The only thing I didn't like was that T-94 let got of walls immediately when not pushing against the wall anymore. That way performing well timed jumps was a bit hard. Would definitely be even more fun if you would stick to the wall a short while after stopping to push against it.

Otherwise, a great game. Oh and the blue bucket was invisible.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I fell that tutorial didn't prepare me for that amount of punishment hahaha. Amazing game.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:40pm

One of the few entry that I played to the end. Jumping, climbing, running mechanism are very enjoyable. That was a pleasure to play your game!

Retl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:05pm

It was a solid action platformer. I felt the levels were a bit too large and that each 'sector' of those levels probably should have had a checkpoint, or been individual levels in their own right. Also, I found the first non-tutorial level to be far more difficult than any of the other levels that followed it because of the initial sawblade dive-move maneuver.
Also, I'm not sure if it's just something about my particular system's timing, but it seemed like from time to time, my character would jump higher even if I were careful about minimizing the length of my tap (I used the W key, never touched the arrow keys while playing this game) which lead to some irritating deaths in the yellow level's sector with the roof blades.
Overall, worth playing.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:05am

Having trouble getting your game page to load :( Shame - sounds pretty cool!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Except the story and character, the game is almost like super meat boy as you stated above. I couldn't jump left when I was sliding on the right side, I had to jump first and then go left. This was really annoying to be honest. However length of the game is impressive for a compo game. Wish it would be more innovative. Oh also the music has a gap between loops.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:36am

good game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]