Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Horizons

by kebabskal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my contribution to the 48h compo.

It is a puzzle platformer (wow, how original!), rather pretentiously named Parallel Horizons.

Use arrow keys + space to move and jump.
If you get stuck, press Return to restart.
It should be possible to configure other keys and controller in the unity loader.

If you run fullscreen you might have to use Cmd+q/Alt+F4 to quit.

There are 8 levels to figure out. Can you get to the end?

The full source is linked. Please do not judge my coding skills from that mess ;)

Let me know what you think of the game down below!
Thanks in advance!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics5.00
#7Mood4.29
#18Overall4.14
#42Fun3.91
#93Audio3.64
#198Theme3.74
#337Innovation3.44
#389Humor2.61
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Superb visuals!
Never really encountered this kind of art style before, but i love it.

The gameplay is fine as well, im glad you ramped up the difficulty towards the end.

The only critique i would have is that the controls felt a bit sluggish and unresponsive to me.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19am

As Lars said, the visuals are incredible! Loved the environment usage in creating the puzzles. Really, really ,really good job.

hectormorlet says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

YOU CHEATED! (jks) This is waaaay too amazing for a mere mortal to have achieved. Damn it just looks so pretty, along with the cool perspective shift and jumping animation. Neat puzzles as well. Now, everyone go home; this has won, just give up now.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Breathtaking art and feeling!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Really great effects--I especially like the trees.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Solid 5 Stars form me. Go out and rate some games, so you get more attention for this piece of art.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Visuals're gorgeous, and even' the simple character is charmingly wobbly. Excellent thematic mechanic that's simple enough to get and drives decent puzzles as it gets harder.

Only complaint is the platforming collisions - Occasionally a bit sticky on the walls. Other than that this is fantastic!

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17am

I got shocked, as I saw your submission, thus you participated in the compo-challenge and the game was this beautiful, it also is very fun to play.
The sounds you used were great and they fitted nice.

I cant believe that less than 48 can lead to such an amazing game!

cheers ~ keddelzz

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

That's just gorgeous! And fun to boot

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Just came back to say that this is still my favourite game by far :P

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I think it's been mentioned before but the art is just stunning. Honestly this is the quality I expect from games that I pay money for, and have studios to produce them. To see this kind of work done in 48 hours is just incredible. Awesome work!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

YOUR GRAPHICS ARE AMAZING! Seriously great job and good luck!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Really godd graphics. Tough levels! And a pretty nice version of a 2d portal game. very good entry

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really godd graphics. Tough levels! And a pretty nice version of a 2d portal game. very good entry!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29am

Beautiful game! I got stumped a couple of times, and the player sliding up against walls and slowing down made it harder to make over some spots, but overall I enjoyed it a lot. Good use of the theme, this could easily be a full game with just a little bit more work, great job!

waynaul says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20am

Beautiful artwork. The animation for the player is also well done.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29am

Great game, and the graphics is so awesome! *_*

twintrite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25am

Looking fiiine :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Escellent with visuals! You rock =)
Can't beat 5-th level. Don't know how to overcome spikes on right side on top and bottom.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Wow what graphics!!! impressive work for 48 hours

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:23pm

The presentation was incredible! The portal mechanic worked well. The sound was a bit quiet so I had to turn my volume way up, but it was good. I did feel like I got hung up on terrain unfairly sometimes, so a little better collision handling would improve things a bit.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Very nice looking, and you got a bit of milage out of the central mechanic! I do think the controls and collisions are too loose, I had a lot of near-misses or even hits that felt unearned. Otherwise, interesting.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Platforms are a bit slippery, but that doesn't really matter.
Awesome entry, makes me jealous ;)

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Wow, this is a very unique style. You might want to build upon this thing and sell it. Very well done!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

Great job on the breathtaking visuals! They really add a lot of personality to this game. The levels' puzzles were fun for the most part, but the slippery controls detracted from the experience for me. Much of the game requires precision jumps from high places to build up fall speed, but hitting a wall slows you down and ruins your jump. Given how easy it is to keep moving left/right in the air after letting go of a key makes it very difficult to complete a full jump without hitting a wall & slowing down. But overall the concept is sound, and a lot of fun!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:54am

Really pretty game. Nicely done. :)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:01am

While the concept has been done before, the level design, art style, lighting, sound design, the wobbly jello-like main character... this is just a magnificent little game. (that I broke on level four or five by making it to a "non-reachable area" mwaahaha). Top marks.

nesis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Lovely game! Very nice touch to the graphics, and the sounds were very well-produced.

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Awesome visuals! Very good game.

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:30pm

this game is awesome. and I'm very impressed with the gameplay

BroCade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Gorgeous. 2D Portal puzzles. Awesome!

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Very nice and unique graphic style. Gameplay works well and the mechanics are quite entertaining.
A Soundtrack would have made the game even better.

kebabskal says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 5:00am

Thanks for all the kind words and votes! Got me a first place in Graphics and 18th overall. Thanks, and thanks again!

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 18, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Thanks to everyone rating and playing my game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]