Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Converged

by gnx - Jam Entry

Quick reference:

movement: arrow keys
shoot/advance: spacebar

Things that didn't go well:

* Could only work only about half of the given 72hrs due to real life getting in the way

* My art is still ugly instead of minimalistic

* Game mechanic not as polished as I would have liked, had to cut large chunks of features

* Didn't like the given theme

Things that went well:

* Music turned out awesome

* I feel the intro works really well

* This _could be_ a great game with some more care put into it

Made with:

Impact ( html5 ),
Paint.net,
Audacity,
FL Studio,
Korg Volca Keys,
public domain sample of a shotgun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#169Audio(Jam)3.51
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#332Humor(Jam)2.52
#384Fun(Jam)3.03
#570Theme(Jam)2.68
#657Overall(Jam)2.78
#668Innovation(Jam)2.37
#730Graphics(Jam)2.21

Comments

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47am

Once I got to the main game, It seemed like I was just playing through the same level over and over again... maybe I was missing something. If so, let me know and I'll replay.

It could definitely use some polish.I was really missing vertical animations/firing. Firing felt good... the sound effect definitely worked well. I liked that you had an intro, and an underlying story.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44am

Loved the audio and creepy style. It was very satisfying and I liked how vulnerable the character was. Made it feel like hotline miami. Great job!

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Cool game. The stealth worked pretty well. I can relate to not having enough time and not loving the theme!

In terms of making your art more minimalistic instead of "ugly", definitely leave stickmen in the past, even just block men or wavy tube men are better, try making like a pixel art lego guy. Keeping your colors at the same saturation/value and only changing the hue is a way to unify the overall look as well.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09am

I'm not sure how it tied into connected worlds, and it seemed like one level, but the quick reaction gameplay was nice.

If you've never tried Hotline Miami, try it -- you would probably like it.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

I like the side view of the character rather than it being completely top down. I'm a little torn on how easily you die.

The main problem is that you're often killed by someone who's right infront of you, yet you can't see them..
And if you run out of shells, there's no way to replenish them. Maybe they should be respawning so you can look around and find some? Or make sure every enemy killed drops at least one set.

Otherwise it's not bad. Kind of tense, and the music works to sell it. I like the intro sequence.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

Fun game, great intro and 'darkness' system in the levels; this really added to the mood! Movement could be improved!

hirsch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I really enjoyed the audio, which definetly reminded me of Hotline Miami. I noticed that your key checking/movement is wrong. Make sure to always check every key (if someone presses the right arrow key it doesn't automatically mean that he does not press the left arrow key). Then diagonal walking would be possible, which would create a smoother gameplay experience. Otherwise i am sure that if you had a bit more time this woud have been developed even more maybe even with more levels etc.

Overall thats a nice and fun game to play :)

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Bit of a Time Splitters vibe, I like the way the theme is actually a theme and not just the basis of a mechanic. The shotgun behaviour is very satisfying.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Digging the audio, albeit a bit loud. art style worked. awesome intro. good game!

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I enjoyed the game even though this seems to be just one level. Anyway the sound is cool and it is fun to kill this darn scientist -.-

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Except that it was always the same level over and over again and level's colliders aren't set up well, it is a good idea with limited ammo, darkness and random spawn.

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41am

Interesting concept, catching on to the idea that each level is the same because of parallel universes is a bit clever. It does get a little too repetitive and the inability to see into an open room right next to you is a little frustrating, but the game has a lot of style with the music and colors.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41pm

The Mood/feel of this game is actually really good despite its simple artwork. I only wish the controls felt a little more responsive!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Narrative and audio is awesome!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

The music is just great. Love how gnarly it is. Idea is cool too, the stealth + ammo conservation gameplay is pretty fun. I like how the story is introduced over a sequence of scenes initially.

Amvere says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice music! It was a little confusing what I was supposed to do. I played through the room 5 or 6 times, but I think I missed what you were going for.

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

The convergence idea is pretty good, but imo, badly conveyed especially when the player dies. It doesn't really makes sense why we are stuck in the loop, and starting over with 3 shells and 0 scientist killed. It's lacking a bit of story line/message to tie it up with the rest.

The music is cool, but becomes annoying quite quickly I think.

But it is a nice effort overall, a cool story/idea and congratulations on making a game !

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Pretty cool! This would be a great game with polish and better graphics! I absolutely love the music!

hbocao says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

Ok. I died a lot. Dang! I got stuck in corners sometimes and it got me killed. GRRR. I loved the music and i'm not a fan of "electronic" music. Good job, man.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Love the audio, and this is pretty fun.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:13am

Could use more feedback on what's going on with the scientist count. Have a goal like 2/5 scientists killed? It's already fairly difficult, maybe don't reset the kill count?

I didn't really figure out the ai totally so maybe define it more clearly. I loved how they could kill each other and themselves from ricochet.

The box randomization helped a little but different levels would be great. I loved the fog of war.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

Hi there. Very Spectrum48k looking game. Nice sounds. Found the game itself after intro scenes pretty impossible. Kept shooting self!

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

Really like the music. The gameplay was super-hard to get the hang of - the "snap-and-shoot" AI was pretty challenging. I killed myself with ricochet a lot :P

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:17am

very interesting, I like the stealth type, the ricochet adds challenge, looking forward for updates

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]